SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7086 (Shirt)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1441 times 
Reviewed by:joan
photo

 
 
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/05 6:03 PM
Last Updated:9/6/05 7:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
I notice the front centers in the photo look like they are not even, but they really are in real life. I shoulda' checked the photo more carefully before downloading it.
9/6/05 6:08 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks great. And I, too, like the sleeve detail. I'll have to pick this up when Simplicity patterns are on sale.
9/6/05 6:43 PM
Mini said...
This is really flattering style. Orange seems to be in a lot of the fall catalogs, so you will be ahead of the trend. I think that the lycra content may have affected the easability of the sleeve cap. lycra is a form of rubber, and it doesn't respond to steam shrinking. I would reduce the cap a teeny bit for a lycra blend, but an all natural fiber might be okay as is.
9/6/05 7:59 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, you are on a roll! Seriously this is a wonderful shirt style and super color on you! Thank you for your review.
9/6/05 8:55 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Nice shirt! Looks terrific! And I want to "me too" your observation about fusible and stretch fabrics. I have ruined things some nice things.
9/6/05 9:18 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Your shirt came out so good. It looks very rtw and the fabric is very trendy too. I have this pattern and have started working on a muslin.
9/6/05 11:46 PM
joan said...
Jennifer, I didn't sew all of these in the last few days. They were UFO's and were in various stages of completion.
9/7/05 3:49 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top, great style on you.
9/7/05 4:51 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty on you. I like this color.
9/7/05 5:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like orange and it made up nice for this blouse. Nice pattern. Like the sleeves as well.
9/7/05 5:35 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely top in a lovely color!
9/7/05 8:53 AM
PVA said...
Joan, the others have said almost all but I want to say it looks like you've gotten the fit just right -- thans for the review.
9/7/05 5:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now