SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2865 

7 more reviews
Viewed 1888 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 9:00 PM
Last Updated:9/25/05 1:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
duplicate
6/1/09 11:43 AM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket. I'm thinking about ordering this OOP pattern from ebay, and your review is extremely helpful.
6/1/09 11:42 AM
firsthays said...
Nice! I'm getting this in the mail in two days, thought I'd see if I made good choice, thanks for the review!
8/8/08 11:35 PM
inkstain said...
Your taste is Grade A, and I love all your choices of fabric and cut. Nothing home-made about your wardrobe and this is another excellent item.
1/21/08 10:29 AM
ellen55 said...
It's gorgeous! I ran out and bought the same pattern and am till looking for the right fabric, but alas, I think I may be too busty for this style. Well nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? Thanks for the great tips.
9/20/07 11:34 PM
ceejen said...
I have not made this pattern yet, but will keep in mind all the fitting problems you discussed.
8/26/07 9:11 PM
ceejen said...
I have not made this pattern yet, but will keep in mind all the fitting problems you discussed.
8/26/07 9:11 PM
Nerys said...
I am worried about easing the sleeve into the armscye. There is over 3" of difference between them and that usually spells trouble. I was going to cut and slash some the ease out of the sleeve cap. I am now rethinking my plan based on your comment that the sleeves went in without a hitch. Gorgeous work, btw!
9/18/06 4:22 PM
regine said...
What a magnificent jacket, material, workmanship, style. You obviously put in a great deal of effort and it shows.
4/30/06 1:00 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely jacket. And what a great fabric you found.
9/28/05 3:42 PM
KarmenG said...
That is one gorgeous jacket. Beautiful job. You do such impressive work. I also bought the pattern and will refer to your review when it's time to begin it.
9/27/05 11:49 PM
jlg said...
This is a fabulous jacket. You did a wonderful job.
9/26/05 5:23 AM
PVA said...
Beautiful result! Thanks for the review -- I love the fabrics & the loop closure. It's all-over effect is *very* "High-End"!
9/25/05 10:59 PM
lmg said...
Wow, wow, wow! This pattern grabbed my attention too. How was the fit? Thanks for the instructive review.
9/25/05 7:27 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Fabulous jacket! I have to admit that every time I look at that envelope I think "Stepford Wives" and just can't appreciate the jacket on it...yours is much more appealing! :D
9/25/05 7:20 PM
LBJ said...
the jacket and the top look so good together. I love the bias effect of the top. Very classy and very expensive looking!
9/25/05 5:16 PM
Georgene said...
The 747 lapels are rather extreme on this pattern. Your version turned out nice in spite of that. I'd love to see a photo you in the ensemble when its done.
9/21/05 8:56 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review! I was wondering about the one piece sleeve when I looked at the pattern. Good idea to substitute.
9/21/05 0:43 AM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thanks for the great review!
9/20/05 8:33 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh good! I'm really happy to see a review of this pattern - it's on my wish list.
9/20/05 8:10 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Lovely job, Kay. This pattern is very timely for me, as I just purchased this pattern yesterday. You're right, the fabric on the envelope is very appealing, but you've managed to do an excellent job with yours too!
9/20/05 7:25 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Lovely job, Kay. This review is very timely for me, as I just purchased this pattern yesterday. You're right, the fabric on the envelope is very appealing, but you've managed to do an excellent job with yours too!
9/20/05 6:34 PM
SueV said...
very nice; I have this pattern and love the style; yours is beautiful, nicely constructed and great review.
9/20/05 10:50 AM
cindyann said...
Just wonderful! Thank you for the great review too.
9/20/05 9:50 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great, thorough review with a beautiful jacket!
9/20/05 7:52 AM
MaryBeth said...
I bought this pattern right away also being drawn to the jacket and stopped short to find the right fabric as well. Thanks for your review and all the ins and outs of producing such a lovely jacket.
9/20/05 7:50 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely job, as always! -Ann
9/20/05 6:31 AM
MarilynB said...
What a lovely jacket. I also bought this pattern when it first came out because I had a fabric in my stash which was similar to the one used on the envelope. Thanks for all the warnings on this pattern. Also, thanks for the reminder about the sleeve tip from Karmeng.
9/20/05 5:44 AM
CarolynKEll said...
Kay This is a stunningly gorgeous jacket, thanks so much for your detailed constrction techniques. I have added this one to my list.
9/20/05 4:53 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful jacket and very good review.
9/20/05 4:28 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your description of buying a pattern and realizing you liked the look in the catalogue but otherwise disappointed is rather true for a lot of patterns I buy. Your jacket is lovely and would display very well in a magazine. Excellent job, looks great.
9/20/05 4:13 AM
touran said...
Beautiful work and great review as always. What a lovely fabric for the style.
9/19/05 10:23 PM
Cambric Tea said...
That was a very instructive review, Kay Y, thank you so much! I know that when the time comes for me to make a jacket I will remember your tip about the bias organza in the sleeves. Your jacket is wonderful!
9/19/05 10:20 PM
Patti B said...
That IS fabulous fabric for your fabulous jacket. Beautiful job and excellent review.
9/19/05 9:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a gorgeous jacket. The color is great and the detailing is fantastic.
9/19/05 9:36 PM
melgosews said...
Very nice jacket! I have this pattern and find your review quite helpful. Thanks!
9/19/05 9:07 PM
Kim Winson said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for the thorough review!
9/19/05 9:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-4

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review