SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 1703-1015 (Meltingly Beautiful Dress)

Viewed 1987 times 
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/05 11:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
racehorse said...
I have never seen this dress before but it came up on the sidebar. Simply gorgeous! I'll have to get some velvet to play around after seeing what you have done with this dress.
9/20/11 4:07 PM
Nancy K said...
This seems to be one of those rare garments that get better with age. The fabric is gorgeous and it is such a timeless dress. It appeared on the side line, I had never seen the review before, and it drew me in so that I just had to click on it. It is really lovely.
10/27/08 7:50 PM
valerie sews said...
I'm also glad this review came up on the side bar. This dress/ensemble is an inspiration and I feel jealous of the adventurous life she's had!
3/15/08 5:47 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Like Karla, when this came up on the sidebar I just had to go admire it all over again. I have dubbed crushed panne velvet the Evil Fabric to Be Avoided, but, hm, y'know, this looks so good.... ;)
10/23/07 2:37 PM
Bobinator said...
I made a dress for a recital for my dance instructor using the same fabric purchased at Wal-Mart for $1.00 a yard! I swore that I would never, ever again sew with this stuff even though the dress came out very well! Your outfit is absolutely beautiful so say the least!
9/16/07 10:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
Karla -- Thanks for bringing this to the top. Somehow I missed it when Georgene initially reviewed it. A gorgeous dress with remarkable history!
3/9/07 9:38 AM
Karla Kizer said...
This came up on the rotisserie and I couldn't resist commenting, just to pull it back from the "archives". There are probably thousands of PR people who didn't get a chance to see it a few years ago.
3/8/07 8:35 PM
AnneM said...
Just wear it around the house! Lovely, timeless. The trim really adds a nice touch - thanks for sharing that.
9/28/05 5:04 AM
Elona said...
What a remarkable ensemble--not just the execution (mind-blowing though that is)--but the whole shimmery, Lady-of-the Lake concept. I agree: It really does belong on the back cover of Threads!
9/24/05 10:59 AM
SewTabby said...
Such a stunning ensemble that looks like a perfect design for almost ANY occasion. Truly outstanding.
9/24/05 10:03 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous, timeless design. I appreciate your sharing your thoughts regarding your fabric and trim, what you did, how it behaved as a result. Very instructive. Thanks!
9/23/05 8:37 PM
madcap85 said...
It is a beautiful dress, thank you for the review. It makes me want to make one myself, after I finish about 200 lbs of existing fabric off.
9/23/05 7:15 PM
Annika said...
Holy God, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. It is gorgeous!
9/23/05 6:42 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful is the first word that comes to my mind when looking at your dress! What a stunner!
9/23/05 4:43 PM
MickeyFan said...
What a treasure. The classic styling makes this dress timeless. I love the story of this ensemble's travels. I think you should document it and keep the tradition going!
9/23/05 9:23 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous! I love the cuffs! So beautiful!
9/23/05 9:00 AM
Anne Frances said...
I love the combination of dress and cardigan - they look stunning together and it makes the dress so versatile. This is the kind of quality of design and making that turns heads anywhere but actually no money can buy! Fabulous- what an heirloom!
9/23/05 8:09 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow!
9/23/05 5:45 AM
PVA said...
I think Karla hit the nail on the head! This creation is just what one would find on the back of Threads. It is truly awesome. My dear, you have a tremendous gift & thank heaven you nuture it & grow with it. Thank you for sharing your work with us!
9/23/05 0:49 AM
kathi s said...
Georgine, the story of your beautiful dress could be made into a movie (sort of like "The Yellow Cadillac" -if you remember that one)! I love your dress!
9/23/05 0:03 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a lovely story (and outfit to match). Does it bring good luck like the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants?
9/22/05 11:49 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Speechless, just speechless here in SF. It evokes the most wonderful gowns from the golden days of Hollywood of the thirties. Thank you for sharing this luscious gem.
9/22/05 11:30 PM
els said...
Your dress is still gorgeous while it travelled all over the world. The secret is of course, high quality fabric and trims and your craftsmanship which is the result why this timeless elegant dress is still wearable today. Hope you can find an occasion to wear that dress by yourself soon. BTW did you received a wedding picture from your friends wedding in St.Petersburg ?
9/22/05 5:07 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful dress; beautiful story. Thanks for sharing!
9/22/05 4:52 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Georgene, it reminds me of something that would be featured on the back cover of Threads. I hope to see it there someday; it's beautiful!
9/22/05 4:28 PM
MaryBeth said...
How beautiful. If only it could talk, the tales it could tell.... I love the neckline shape of the cardigan and the way it meets the dress's vee. I have to agree with the person who first christened this outfit.
9/22/05 4:18 PM
cindyann said...
Just lovely! I'm quite suprised that it made it's way back to you. I can see why someone might want to keep it for themselves. ;)
9/22/05 4:03 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for sharing this...I love the trim ideas!
9/22/05 3:13 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
What else can be said?? Just stunning! LOVE it!!
9/22/05 2:48 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh.My.Gosh...that is so stunning. The trim - the fabric - everything. It's magic Georgene.
9/22/05 2:03 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful dress Georgene! I can see why it got this name. How nice that it's come home!
9/22/05 1:44 PM
Patti B said...
How gorgeous and what wonderful tales it could tell of its glamorous life.
9/22/05 1:41 PM
LBJ said...
Beautiful! I can tell it's the kind of dress that you put on and instantly feel gorgeous.
9/22/05 1:33 PM
Georgene said...
Ann, this fabric was originally a sample cut from Lee Fashion Fabrics, a wholesaler in NYC. Have you tried Spandex House? It seems like it would be right up their alley.
9/22/05 1:30 PM
nheh said...
What a beautiful dress, and an equally wonderful story to go with it.
9/22/05 1:01 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is so beautiful Georgene! What a wonderful life that dress has seen. Do you have a source for stretch panne velvet? I'm looking for about 12 yards of it right now. -Ann
9/22/05 1:00 PM
Modiste Madness said...
A simple design combined with gorgeous and fabric to create a stunning dress. It is beautiful.
9/22/05 12:45 PM
Jali said...
It's beautiful! It must be such happiness to own a well travelled dress:) with memories aplenty.
9/22/05 12:02 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a fabulous dress. This looks like something you would see on the "red carpet". Stunning.
9/22/05 12:01 PM
Cambric Tea said...
That is a beautiful dress, Georgene. Very soft and sensuous design, and lovely fabric. Thank you so much for the review! (:
9/22/05 11:59 AM
Princess Jenny said...
It definitely lives up to its name. Just gorgeous! Stunningly elegant. :)
9/22/05 11:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3341

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

More Info