SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4531 (Laura Ashley office totes)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1299 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 11:28 PM
Last Updated:9/26/05 11:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
Thanks very much for the helpful review, and I like the bag very much. I've been looking for a totebag pattern, but not having made a bag before I had no idea which one to try. this one goes on my wishlist.:)
9/27/05 1:10 AM
els said...
This bag is so elegant, due to the fabric you choose and of course your expertise.Thanks for the review.
9/27/05 2:09 AM
Patti B said...
What a gorgeous bag. Thanks for reviewing their lining method ... I think I 'need' this pattern.
9/27/05 8:44 AM
licarritc said...
I have this pattern but had always put off trying it because the photos are so "cutesy" yours is sleek and professional. Now I have another pattern on the to do list.
9/27/05 9:09 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you so much for your review! The tote bag is gorgeous. I am planning to make a bag with ultrasuede straps. Did you fill the straps with "raw" piping or are the straps flat? Thank you again!
9/27/05 11:59 AM
KarmenG said...
Jennifer - I did not follow the pattern instructions for the straps. Mine are flat but I have a filler inside. I bought cotton belting at JoAnn's. It's about 1" wide, sort of looks like macrame - made from cotton string, braided together. I cut it in half to use 1/2" for each strap. Encased it with the ultrasuede using Steam-A-Seam2 to fuse it flat. Then I edgestitched both edges. As I fed it through the machine I tried to curve it towards the ceiling, behind and in front of the needle to sew a slight curve into the strap. It worked quite well.
9/27/05 12:18 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Impressive.
9/27/05 2:16 PM
2BSewing said...
The fabric you chose for the bag is beautiful. I have this pattern in my stash. Thanks for the review. Nice work.
9/27/05 7:54 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! I am impressed with this bag. Your summary or outline of the process is interesting. I attempted bag with zipper and it came out terrible. So have shyed away but maybe this has potential. Truly appreciate your review of this pattern.
9/28/05 7:22 AM
apple annie said...
Looks like a winner, thanks for sharing all your construction tips. Very helpful and a most attractive tote.
9/28/05 4:35 PM
Hilary said...
I am definitely going to have to get this out and try it-it sounds like a cool way to line the bag too. Thanks for the detailed review!
9/29/05 12:36 PM
gloria said...
me gusta mucho el contenido de esta pagina existe mucha creacion me gusta mucho las bolsas y carteras, gracias por existir pagina asi gloria
10/8/06 11:33 PM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
You used flannel-backed satin?! Impressive. I've never been able to use that without it unraveling all over the place on me! My Sewing Store Lady says I ought zigzag rather than straight stitch, but I haven't tried that yet. Your bag looks great by the way.
5/29/08 3:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now