SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4531 (Laura Ashley office totes)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1303 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews: 62 (patterns: 47)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 11:28 PM
Last Updated:9/26/05 11:28 PM
Review Rating:
Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by KarmenG using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
hat-and-bag-lady said... (5/29/08 3:21 PM) Reply
You used flannel-backed satin?! Impressive. I've never been able to use that without it unraveling all over the place on me! My Sewing Store Lady says I ought zigzag rather than straight stitch, but I haven't tried that yet. Your bag looks great by the way.
gloria said... (10/8/06 11:33 PM) Reply
me gusta mucho el contenido de esta pagina existe mucha creacion me gusta mucho las bolsas y carteras, gracias por existir pagina asi gloria
Hilary said... (9/29/05 12:36 PM) Reply
I am definitely going to have to get this out and try it-it sounds like a cool way to line the bag too. Thanks for the detailed review!
apple annie said... (9/28/05 4:35 PM) Reply
Looks like a winner, thanks for sharing all your construction tips. Very helpful and a most attractive tote.
Danvillegirl said... (9/28/05 7:22 AM) Reply
Wow! I am impressed with this bag. Your summary or outline of the process is interesting. I attempted bag with zipper and it came out terrible. So have shyed away but maybe this has potential. Truly appreciate your review of this pattern.
2BSewing said... (9/27/05 7:54 PM) Reply
The fabric you chose for the bag is beautiful. I have this pattern in my stash. Thanks for the review. Nice work.
Elemenopeo said... (9/27/05 2:16 PM) Reply
Impressive.
KarmenG said... (9/27/05 12:18 PM) Reply
Jennifer - I did not follow the pattern instructions for the straps. Mine are flat but I have a filler inside. I bought cotton belting at JoAnn's. It's about 1" wide, sort of looks like macrame - made from cotton string, braided together. I cut it in half to use 1/2" for each strap. Encased it with the ultrasuede using Steam-A-Seam2 to fuse it flat. Then I edgestitched both edges. As I fed it through the machine I tried to curve it towards the ceiling, behind and in front of the needle to sew a slight curve into the strap. It worked quite well.
Jennifer shaw said... (9/27/05 11:59 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for your review! The tote bag is gorgeous. I am planning to make a bag with ultrasuede straps. Did you fill the straps with "raw" piping or are the straps flat? Thank you again!
licarritc said... (9/27/05 9:09 AM) Reply
I have this pattern but had always put off trying it because the photos are so "cutesy" yours is sleek and professional. Now I have another pattern on the to do list.
Patti B said... (9/27/05 8:44 AM) Reply
What a gorgeous bag. Thanks for reviewing their lining method ... I think I 'need' this pattern.
els said... (9/27/05 2:09 AM) Reply
This bag is so elegant, due to the fabric you choose and of course your expertise.Thanks for the review.
gabrielle said... (9/27/05 1:10 AM) Reply
Thanks very much for the helpful review, and I like the bag very much. I've been looking for a totebag pattern, but not having made a bag before I had no idea which one to try. this one goes on my wishlist.:)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Contest Sewing Bee Round 1

photo
by: JessB

Review
Vogue Patterns 8945

photo
by: Dellia45

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Pattern Details