Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8141 (Toxic Possum Hat) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1549 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 11:49 PM
Last Updated:9/26/05 11:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
twistedangel said...
Wow! Wild hat!
9/27/05 0:18 AM
Vivienne said...
Wow. That fabric is the wildest thing I have ever seen. Bring on winter!
9/27/05 0:44 AM
Tailypo said...
right on! I remember you saying you would make this over on the Patterns Board. It came out great. And thanks for the tip about the buckram being overkill.
9/27/05 0:53 AM
gabrielle said...
Yahooo!!! You made that hat! That fabric is amazing, too.
9/27/05 1:06 AM
AnneM said...
Love it, in some kind of weird way. And I bet it's warm. Your hat matches the shirt you are wearing in your picture, even. Very fashionable. ;) I saw a faux fur at Jo-Anns recently that looks like the one they used in the pattern picture. Great review, Nikki, with lots of good information.
9/27/05 4:21 AM
MickeyFan said...
Awesome!
9/27/05 5:26 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
"Sort of like a possum native to a Superfund site with a mixed ancestry which includes some kind of spotted cat." OMG, I laughed out loud at that one! Nikki, your hat looks great - much better than the pattern envelope! -Ann
9/27/05 6:16 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I really like people who make possum hats and monster bags. It's great Nikki!
9/27/05 7:17 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, what a cool, fun hat!
9/27/05 7:32 AM
Meguiar said...
Great review and, uh, interesting hat - very eye catching! Actually, I think I have some of this same fabric. Nice job.
9/27/05 7:33 AM
Meguiar said...
Great review and, uh, interesting hat - very eye catching!
9/27/05 7:35 AM
kethry said...
I had to read this one after seeing it was a review for a 'toxic possum hat'. I love a review with humor. Is this a show piece or do you plan on wearing it? thanks for the review!
9/27/05 8:06 AM
Linda E. said...
wow that is a fun hat.
9/27/05 8:30 AM
Georgene said...
Thanks for a good laugh thi morning. A lot of reviews may bring a smile, but this is a ROTFLOL review. I knew it would be good when I saw the title. Thanks for all the inside info.
9/27/05 8:37 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wha??? Nikki this is genius!
9/27/05 8:45 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
You'll have fun wearing that hat!
9/27/05 9:07 AM
MarilynB said...
Wild hat. Do you plan to make a coat to match?
9/27/05 9:07 AM
CatherineN said...
You'll be easy to spot in a crowd. Thorough, instructive review.
9/27/05 9:17 AM
drsue said...
I started sining the Daniel Boone song when I saw your pic. Very funny review.
9/27/05 9:43 AM
Elona said...
This hat is indeed rather breathtaking, in a Chernobyl kind of way. I think wearing it requires the kind of gravitas you display in your photo. Promise that you'll never smile when wearing it in public!
9/27/05 9:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You are way too funny and that hat is out of sight. What a great review.
9/27/05 10:09 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Yes, yes, I agree with Elona! You must never smile when wearing the Toxic Possum (punk possum?) hat! The most you may do is give a sultry come-hither look a la the Vogue model...because no one can resist the hat's power! Great job and great reveiw!
9/27/05 10:12 AM
layla said...
Fantastic hat .... looks so cool on you and specially accents your cat eyes !!
9/27/05 10:18 AM
bunz said...
Love, love, love it! Where did you get the "fur"?
9/27/05 10:31 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Nikki, that's an amazing hat! What kind of coat will you wear with it? This is really a hat where the coat is just an accessory, not the other way around :)
9/27/05 11:46 AM
Stitchology said...
Sounds like a perfume name. Will you be marketing a fragrance to match?
9/27/05 12:32 PM
Vibek said...
What a hat! In Norway, this kind of hat is fondly referred to as "bjønnefitte" a fairly crude word meaning the place where little baby bears come from. Evidently the previous owner of the bjønnefitte was exposed to some serious toxics.
9/27/05 1:30 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
The hat's a winner, Nikki! Love it!
9/27/05 1:39 PM
Annika said...
Stunning! Another example of the odd things people wear on their heads. It has a vaguely Cold War aura about it. This is worthy of a museum collection and exhibition!
9/27/05 1:43 PM
Annika said...
sorry, duplicate entry!
9/27/05 1:45 PM
PhyllisC said...
That is one bjønnefitte of a het!
9/27/05 4:21 PM
Nikki said...
Thanks for the new word, Vibek....I'll use it if anyone asks me where I got the hat. Thinking of coats, I don't know that the color will go well with my brown winter coat, maybe the navy puff parka? Although, trying to match the hat with an outfit is rather silly.... I will also work on my Glare of Doom, which is what people tend to interpret my blank stare as.
9/27/05 7:45 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
OMZ - that is TOO funny. I think you need a monster purse to go with it though *lol* I agree with Elona - you must NEVER smile while wearing the Toxic Possum Hat...
9/27/05 8:19 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the guffaws. I was going to say "grins", but that didn't cover it. Wear it proudly.
9/27/05 10:34 PM
xela said...
Well, I'll be you get some second looks wearing you "Toxic Possum" hat...an excellent name for it.
9/28/05 9:20 AM
Motorposus said...
That hat is genius. I wouldn't dream of hassling the girl in that project photo!
9/29/05 4:57 PM
candyo said...
I just love your sense of humor!
9/29/05 8:03 PM
SewTabby said...
I have this pattern and have ben itching to make it up. Love the Toxic Possum look!
9/29/05 9:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
I sure hope you don't have a cat. Mine would dispatch the possum on sight.
9/30/05 5:49 PM
kbrock said...
I always enjoy your reviews so much Nikki! Thanks for writing it!
9/30/05 7:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Grainline Studio 31002
photo
Review by ShanniLove... on 6/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6361
photo
Review by wingamajig on 3/15/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6194 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6194 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6813 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6813 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us