SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8141 (Toxic Possum Hat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1551 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 11:49 PM
Last Updated:9/26/05 11:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kbrock said...
I always enjoy your reviews so much Nikki! Thanks for writing it!
9/30/05 7:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
I sure hope you don't have a cat. Mine would dispatch the possum on sight.
9/30/05 5:49 PM
SewTabby said...
I have this pattern and have ben itching to make it up. Love the Toxic Possum look!
9/29/05 9:51 PM
candyo said...
I just love your sense of humor!
9/29/05 8:03 PM
Motorposus said...
That hat is genius. I wouldn't dream of hassling the girl in that project photo!
9/29/05 4:57 PM
xela said...
Well, I'll be you get some second looks wearing you "Toxic Possum" hat...an excellent name for it.
9/28/05 9:20 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the guffaws. I was going to say "grins", but that didn't cover it. Wear it proudly.
9/27/05 10:34 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
OMZ - that is TOO funny. I think you need a monster purse to go with it though *lol* I agree with Elona - you must NEVER smile while wearing the Toxic Possum Hat...
9/27/05 8:19 PM
Nikki said...
Thanks for the new word, Vibek....I'll use it if anyone asks me where I got the hat. Thinking of coats, I don't know that the color will go well with my brown winter coat, maybe the navy puff parka? Although, trying to match the hat with an outfit is rather silly.... I will also work on my Glare of Doom, which is what people tend to interpret my blank stare as.
9/27/05 7:45 PM
PhyllisC said...
That is one bjønnefitte of a het!
9/27/05 4:21 PM
Annika said...
sorry, duplicate entry!
9/27/05 1:45 PM
Annika said...
Stunning! Another example of the odd things people wear on their heads. It has a vaguely Cold War aura about it. This is worthy of a museum collection and exhibition!
9/27/05 1:43 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
The hat's a winner, Nikki! Love it!
9/27/05 1:39 PM
Vibek said...
What a hat! In Norway, this kind of hat is fondly referred to as "bjønnefitte" a fairly crude word meaning the place where little baby bears come from. Evidently the previous owner of the bjønnefitte was exposed to some serious toxics.
9/27/05 1:30 PM
Stitchology said...
Sounds like a perfume name. Will you be marketing a fragrance to match?
9/27/05 12:32 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Nikki, that's an amazing hat! What kind of coat will you wear with it? This is really a hat where the coat is just an accessory, not the other way around :)
9/27/05 11:46 AM
bunz said...
Love, love, love it! Where did you get the "fur"?
9/27/05 10:31 AM
layla said...
Fantastic hat .... looks so cool on you and specially accents your cat eyes !!
9/27/05 10:18 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Yes, yes, I agree with Elona! You must never smile when wearing the Toxic Possum (punk possum?) hat! The most you may do is give a sultry come-hither look a la the Vogue model...because no one can resist the hat's power! Great job and great reveiw!
9/27/05 10:12 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You are way too funny and that hat is out of sight. What a great review.
9/27/05 10:09 AM
Elona said...
This hat is indeed rather breathtaking, in a Chernobyl kind of way. I think wearing it requires the kind of gravitas you display in your photo. Promise that you'll never smile when wearing it in public!
9/27/05 9:43 AM
drsue said...
I started sining the Daniel Boone song when I saw your pic. Very funny review.
9/27/05 9:43 AM
CatherineN said...
You'll be easy to spot in a crowd. Thorough, instructive review.
9/27/05 9:17 AM
MarilynB said...
Wild hat. Do you plan to make a coat to match?
9/27/05 9:07 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
You'll have fun wearing that hat!
9/27/05 9:07 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wha??? Nikki this is genius!
9/27/05 8:45 AM
Georgene said...
Thanks for a good laugh thi morning. A lot of reviews may bring a smile, but this is a ROTFLOL review. I knew it would be good when I saw the title. Thanks for all the inside info.
9/27/05 8:37 AM
Linda E. said...
wow that is a fun hat.
9/27/05 8:30 AM
kethry said...
I had to read this one after seeing it was a review for a 'toxic possum hat'. I love a review with humor. Is this a show piece or do you plan on wearing it? thanks for the review!
9/27/05 8:06 AM
Meguiar said...
Great review and, uh, interesting hat - very eye catching!
9/27/05 7:35 AM
Meguiar said...
Great review and, uh, interesting hat - very eye catching! Actually, I think I have some of this same fabric. Nice job.
9/27/05 7:33 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, what a cool, fun hat!
9/27/05 7:32 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I really like people who make possum hats and monster bags. It's great Nikki!
9/27/05 7:17 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
"Sort of like a possum native to a Superfund site with a mixed ancestry which includes some kind of spotted cat." OMG, I laughed out loud at that one! Nikki, your hat looks great - much better than the pattern envelope! -Ann
9/27/05 6:16 AM
MickeyFan said...
Awesome!
9/27/05 5:26 AM
AnneM said...
Love it, in some kind of weird way. And I bet it's warm. Your hat matches the shirt you are wearing in your picture, even. Very fashionable. ;) I saw a faux fur at Jo-Anns recently that looks like the one they used in the pattern picture. Great review, Nikki, with lots of good information.
9/27/05 4:21 AM
gabrielle said...
Yahooo!!! You made that hat! That fabric is amazing, too.
9/27/05 1:06 AM
Tailypo said...
right on! I remember you saying you would make this over on the Patterns Board. It came out great. And thanks for the tip about the buckram being overkill.
9/27/05 0:53 AM
Vivienne said...
Wow. That fabric is the wildest thing I have ever seen. Bring on winter!
9/27/05 0:44 AM
twistedangel said...
Wow! Wild hat!
9/27/05 0:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 1283

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2012-25

photo
by: Steph huck

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now