SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2745 (Wedding Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 5111 times 
Reviewed by:Asa Hagstrom
photo

 
 
About Asa Hagstromstarstar
NA SWEDEN
Member since: 9/19/02
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/05 2:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
68 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Asa, I never read this review until it showed up as a featured review in the side bar. It is a lovely dress and a wonderfully detailed review.
12/9/07 11:09 AM
Huldra said...
What a beautiful wedding dress! You put so much work into that, and it looks like it was worth it!
8/20/07 6:11 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
How in the world did I miss this review the first time 'round? I followed every step of your progress much less calmly than you experienced it and am so happy for your gorgeous results. The swish of the skirt and red sandals in the action shot are my favorite. Although I've cyber-known you for years, this is the first time I've noticed your striking resemblance to Scarlett Johansson.
7/14/07 4:56 PM
Annika said...
I don't know how I missed this review, but it is sooo gorgeous! I love that champagne colored charmeuse. Simply elegant.
4/27/07 3:59 PM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
what a lovely wedding dress, Asa! congrs to your wedding. BTW, this shop is my favourite, centre of Amsterdam, near Prinsengracht in a small street direction Dam square. My lined drapes, dupion silk are from this shop. 3 scarves, one of them made with inspiration of Sandra Betzina book No Time to Sew. When will you come in Amsterdam with your DH again I will show you 3 other silk shops in the city.
4/29/06 6:23 PM
Deepika said...
breathtaking is the right word. Its absolutely out of this world and you look gorgeous! Thanks for sharing this with us.
3/30/06 1:17 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Oh, I think I follow! The problem would be that the empire seams are not identical on the slip and the dress - the seams below the bust on the slip and the dress don't align (neither in the front nor in the back). How about redrafting the slip bodice, basing it on the dress bodice?
3/30/06 11:39 AM
Petallica said...
Hi Åsa, thanks for replying. I can't see a PM option anywhere, may have something to do with this being my free trial month?? Feel free to PM me though. The idea with the bodice is that I sew the slip bodice (double sided) in the satin of the dress body including with ribbon straps (I've had a test run of this, and will repeat it to check my SBR). I am also cutting it a bit lower across the bust (small breasts don't need that much covering!). Then I would make the dress bodice in the chiffon (probably gathering instead of sewing a dart) and attach both bodices to the dress body. In effect I get a different coloured bodice with the overlay of thin chiffon and a bit more modesty beacuse the dress bodice is much bigger than the slip bodice (and has the sweet gathering at the shoulder). The big question is if the dress will sit properly with the two bodices attached to the skirt. then I'll line the skirt with the slip body. Yeah, well I had a few Vera Wang dresses in my head, and optimism... as always...
3/28/06 10:03 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Hi Petallica, how exciting for you to make your wedding dress!

Hopefully the bunching in the back can be avoided by adding a CB seam, like I did. The darts can be sewn smaller, and the rest eased in, or maybe you can add a new armhole dart to take up half of the dart control? If you're lucky, your small bust alteration will make the dart small enough...

I'm trying to visualize what you want to do when sewing the slip and dress together. This would be like lining the dress, right? If you use the separate patterns as they are, the edges won't align at the neck. I was thinking that you might use the dress pattern for both layers, and be careful which way you turn the seam allowances, so that they are not seen through the transparent layer. If your underlayer is too thick, there might be a problem with the shoulder gathering.

If you want to discuss this more, feel free to PM me!
3/27/06 2:27 PM

Petallica said...
Hi Åsa, Great review! Inspiring photos! I had bought this pattern with the intention of making a wedding dress but got a bit worried after making a trial run of the slip because of the bunching above my derrière and the 1980's Madonna style pointy darts. Your review is going to be a great help in getting the pattern to fit before I cut into the satin I bought. What I would really like to do is make the dress with the slip bodice (in satin) and the overdress bodice (tissue thin chiffon) together. Do you have any idea whether this would work out? I need to do a small bust reduction as well, so I guess there's a second muslin in the works, I think its going to be a race till the wedding!
3/26/06 9:06 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress, and lovely bride! Very good review of the entire process which helped me because I had never seen the method of doing a hand rolled hem! Very very nice.
2/15/06 12:17 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I am considering sewing my daughter a prom dress after a hiatus from sewing and read this review in hopes of finding a possible candidate. I am so glad I did! Just seeing your beautiful dress and the process you went through to get it to where it was made it very worth the read. Thank you!
2/7/06 7:17 PM
Liana said...
I can't believe I missed this review either! I faithfully followed the thread on your progress, and this is just so lovely. Thanks for all the details, and all the great photos! You look beautiful!
1/22/06 9:59 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I cannot believe I missed this review earlier! This is just beautiful -- so suited to you. I love love the color and style. Hand rolled hems what a feat!
12/16/05 12:57 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely beautiful, you and the dress. Congratulations!
10/16/05 9:12 PM
SandraB said...
Wow Asa! First of all congratulations again, on your marriage. I wish for you a lifetime of happiness with your DH. Your dress is beautiful and you did a really good job on it. I am very impressed with all the hard work that you put into it. Thanks for sharing those lovely wedding pictures.
10/11/05 9:42 AM
Mary Ann Morton said...
Congratulations and the very best wishes for a happy life ahead! And thank you so much for sharing your wonderful photos....!
10/10/05 7:49 PM
Soph said...
Congratulations! Best wishes always! I bought this Vogue pattern yesterday! :-) You've certainly inspired me! I'll follow your steps. THANK YOU! Sophie
10/10/05 6:24 PM
cindyann said...
Beautiful, Asa! Your wedding portraits are lovely and showcase your amazing dress very well. Thank you for the details on it's construction. The contrast of the red flowers and shoes is a wonderful addition to the bridal ensemble. You look radiant!
10/10/05 4:19 PM
SueV said...
BEAUTIFUL, thanks for sharing. Love the red shoes and flowers!
10/10/05 1:05 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Åsa, your dress is gorgeous! I love the the cut, the color - everything about it. You look so beautiful - love your hair too. Thanks for sharing your wedding photos. They are always fun to look at.
10/10/05 6:33 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thank you for all your sweet comments and well-wishes! I showed them to DH, and he says "thank you" too :)

I never could have pulled this off without PR, at least not in such a relaxed and confident way. There was always someone here to help and to give an opinion when I had a problem or question. You all are the best!
10/10/05 2:16 AM

Jules/Vancouver BC said...
gorgeous dress, gorgeous shoes, gorgeous hair, gorgeous bride, gorgeous husband! that fabric was perfect for that dress - especially when dancing!
10/10/05 2:01 AM
Judy Williment said...
What a gorgeous dress for a stunning bride. (And I LOVE your red shoes! )
10/9/05 7:37 PM
sewkal said...
Asa- the dress is stunning, and you look beautiful. I also love the colors you chose for the flowers, accessories, etc. I wish you and DH a lifetime of happiness!
10/9/05 12:24 PM
Queendom said...
What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to do this.
10/9/05 11:30 AM
Jali said...
Thank you for the review of the elegant dress and a glimpse into your lovely wedding. You look and must feel really happy indeed. Congratulations!
10/9/05 10:16 AM
ryan's mom said...
So beautiful! Thanks for sharing all your lovely pictures, and I loved reading your review.
10/9/05 9:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You look gorgeous, your dress is fantastic. You did an excellent job.
10/9/05 8:59 AM
Anne Frances said...
Thank you for this very full and helpful review and for sharing your lovely photos. You look stunning and so happy and the dress is a triumph. Congratulations
10/9/05 8:47 AM
SewingSusan said...
You are a radiant bride and that dress is just amazing.
10/9/05 7:56 AM
candyo said...
Congratulations on your wedding! It looked very pretty! And what a beautiful dress! You did such a good job on it!
10/9/05 7:54 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely! It's nice to see the "formal" pictures (finally ;). I agree with you on the gathered shoulder - it adds a really nice touch.
10/9/05 7:35 AM
Rustybobn said...
Oh! I love it. All of it. Thanks for letting us have a peek. The dress, the slip, and especially the bride were just beautiful.
10/9/05 6:22 AM
Oziroo said...
I so enjoyed reading this and looking at all the pictures. Thankyou. You looked really beautiful.
10/9/05 5:37 AM
MaryBeth said...
Congrats again! I've appreciated having a window into your wedding dress designing and your wedding day through your posts here at PR. This review fills in the gaps on the dress process. You look so beautiful. I wouldn't have picked that fabric by myself but it was just the perfect choice, wasn't it? Oh la la!
10/9/05 5:37 AM
valerie sews said...
How beautiful you look..and thank you for an excellent review.
10/9/05 4:59 AM
PixieCat said...
What a special review and absolutely gorgeous dress! It's so stunning on you and I've enjoyed reading about your journey making it.
10/9/05 4:19 AM
Maychi said...
Åsa, you and the dress both look so beautiful. Congratulations on your wedding and on making a gorgeous dress.
10/9/05 2:51 AM
Ann Smith said...
What a wonderful dress, wedding and review! Thanks so much for sharing all the photos. You look just fabulous. I especially love your hairdo with the red flowers.
10/8/05 11:59 PM
DD'Onfro said...
Åsa, you made a beautiful dress and wrote a great review. You have an amazing eye for detail. Thank you for sharing. -Danielle
10/8/05 11:52 PM
Lori V said...
Simply stunning. Your review is wonderful, thanks for all the tips and pictures.
10/8/05 10:58 PM
shard said...
lovely! thank you so much for the review. i wish you both a long and magical life together!
10/8/05 10:40 PM
pharmercoon said...
You look gorgeous! I really enjoyed all the photos-thanks for sharing! Congrats! Kay
10/8/05 9:13 PM
els said...
Åsa thanks for the review of your gorgeous wedding dress, it was nice to read it all again in a thorough review. You accomplished a lot of sewing techniques while you were so busy making that beautiful dress.
10/8/05 9:04 PM
PhyllisC said...

10/8/05 8:55 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Asa, grattis!! What a beautiful bride! your dress is amazing, wonderful work, and i enjoyed reading about the whole process. thanks for sharing this with us!!!
10/8/05 8:52 PM
PhyllisC said...
Åsa - thank you so much for a wonderful review and a great story. You really persevered and the results are spectacular. Lovely wedding - elegant bride - gratulerar!
10/8/05 8:51 PM
Jblaze said...
I love pattern review for giving us a place to share one another's joys and triumphs! Your dress is stunning and you look beautiful. Thank you for sharing your pictures.
10/8/05 7:55 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Just stunning!
10/8/05 7:53 PM
luvzdogz said...
Your dress is breathless! Everything you did is absolutely perfect! Have you ever thought about being a wedding planner? You have a talent for this - really! After looking at the photographs I even feel like I've been to your wedding, except one thing, I'd like a piece of that delicious dessert! Congratulations!
10/8/05 7:42 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Your dress just *glows*. What an amazing color. You must have been a nervous wreck - wedding dress, silk, - and bias, no less! You look fantastic in it. Thanks for sharing the pictures.
10/8/05 7:38 PM
RobynB said...
Asa, thanks for a fabulous review. Your dress is gorgeous and I admire all the thought and dedication that went into the making. the little bolero that you made is lovely too - I hope you get a chance to wear it too!
10/8/05 7:28 PM
Levone said...
You and your dress are beautiful. Great job on it and great review!
10/8/05 7:25 PM
bunz said...
Great review, great dress (love that "swish" while dancing). Thanks for sharing so much w us.
10/8/05 6:59 PM
AliceB said...
I thoroughly enjoyed reading of your adventure making your very beautiful wedding dress. It suits you wonderfully. Alice
10/8/05 6:34 PM
drsue said...
You hard work really paid off! the dress is just perfect in every way.
10/8/05 6:33 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Åsa, you look so beautiful! Wonderful dress, great review, and many happy returns! -Ann
10/8/05 6:08 PM
Cambric Tea said...
What a GREAT review! Thank you for all the details and muslin pics and storyline. YOU look soo beautiful.
10/8/05 5:41 PM
Lisette said...
Everything looks beautiful, specially the bride. Congratulations and thanks for sharing
10/8/05 5:30 PM
Mandolin82 said...
What a perfect dress! And a helpful review too.
10/8/05 5:17 PM
MarilynB said...
Thank you for sharing your wedding dress adventure. The pattern and fabric are perfect together. Your wedding pictures are lovely. I also like the slip. You should try making it again as a nightie.
10/8/05 5:02 PM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress, Thanks for sharing it all with us. The tips are great in your review.
10/8/05 4:14 PM
zinnia said...
Beautiful! Congratulations! I adore you hair, with the swirls/ringlets and flowers! Thank you for sharing your special day!
10/8/05 4:09 PM
Mlle Laura said...
You looked simply beautiful on your very special day, a true reflection of all your hard work. Thank you for such a detailed review.
10/8/05 3:35 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for sharing the details of how your beautiful gown came to be. Thank you for all of your fine tips, they are all so inspirational!!
10/8/05 3:34 PM
mamafitz said...
lovely lovely dress! congratulations!
10/8/05 3:15 PM
Georgene said...
How beautiful! And how individual and well suited to you....I am impressed that you came thru all the steps needed in such a cool and calm manner - at least you gave the apperance of that! PR is the best resource for information and hand-holding for a project of such magnitude. Your portrait photo is just wonderful.
10/8/05 3:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: usbeckers

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now