Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3928 (heirloom nightgowns) - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 1660 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/05 10:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
casken said...
Very pretty gown. Thank you for your review.
10/9/05 10:57 AM
Elona said...
Very pretty and feminine, Dr. Sue. Often, it seems that earlier nightie patterns are kind of utilitarian and boxy, but this one is a charmer.
10/9/05 12:13 PM
bunz said...
Practice making buttonholes! LOL! Anyway, it turned out very pretty -- hope it's comfy, too.
10/9/05 12:34 PM
BorderCollieMom said...
So pretty! I'm a big fan of cotton lawn and I'm sure your gown is very comfy, too!
10/9/05 1:08 PM
Tiner W said...
It's so pretty!
10/9/05 1:35 PM
SewingSusan said...
Beautiful nightgown.
10/9/05 2:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
So vintage. It will be beautiful on you.
10/9/05 3:12 PM
PhyllisC said...
Lovely - I usually don't see much that I like in Butterick but this is a *really* great style; I have to add this to my wish list. Good point on the buttonholes - I would have done it that way as well.
10/9/05 4:40 PM
tigger said...
This is a definite WOW pattern - what I first said when I saw the picture - and very pretty. I'd love to make something like this just to have it in my sewing room!
10/10/05 2:49 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Just beautiful! Love your choice of ribbon color. Complements your fabric.
10/10/05 8:43 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your nightie is beautiful, Sue. Making button holes is up at the top of my list of things I don't like to do, so I admire you wanting to make this nightie again.
10/10/05 9:08 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful nightgown! I love the unusual styling.
10/10/05 9:25 AM
cindyann said...
Sooo sweet! Your fabric choice is perfect.
10/10/05 4:05 PM
ryan's mom said...
Such a pretty nightgown!
10/10/05 4:53 PM
Modiste Madness said...
When the picture opened up my first thought was similar to so many others, "So pretty." You did a wonderful job.
10/10/05 7:52 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Lovely! Could grace a boutique window. And thanks for mentioning Farmhouse Fabrics, a new source to me(uh oh!)
10/11/05 7:34 PM
Hilary said...
What a lovely gown!! Thanks for the details about how you did the buttonholes. I have never used cotton lawn, it looks wonderful! Great review!
10/31/05 9:57 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Wow! What an enchanting gown.I long to sew heirloom garments, just don't hv the time. You've inspired me to give it a try.
11/1/05 1:42 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is lovely, drsue. Very clever technique for marking the buttonholes too. I've seen the cotton lawns on the Farmhouse website, but I've never ordered any. Glad to hear that they are so nice.
11/1/05 7:36 PM
KathleenS said...
This is very pretty, and as you say a great exercise in buttonholes!
11/4/05 6:06 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Okay, what's the verdict on sleeping comfort? Are you sure you *want* to sleep in it? It's much too pretty to mess up. I think I'd just leave it on the dressform and admire it. Lovely!
11/4/05 9:36 PM
drsue said...
It is very, very comfortable!
11/5/05 9:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful garment, as usual. I have this pattern and haven't sewn it. I wondered how it would sew up and if it would be comfortable You've answered all my questions, so I'll be sewing it soon. Thanks for the detailed instructions on the buttonholes.
8/11/06 9:25 AM
Athene said...
Thank you very much for the review. I have had this pattern for quite some time but have not made it yet. Your review will be very helpful when I finally do make it. The nightgown looks lovely.
7/28/07 3:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2951
photo
Review by amiaow on 2/26/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by dorothyn on 2/1/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 201 Pattern
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us