SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3928 (heirloom nightgowns)

Viewed 1663 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/05 10:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Thank you very much for the review. I have had this pattern for quite some time but have not made it yet. Your review will be very helpful when I finally do make it. The nightgown looks lovely.
7/28/07 3:56 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful garment, as usual. I have this pattern and haven't sewn it. I wondered how it would sew up and if it would be comfortable You've answered all my questions, so I'll be sewing it soon. Thanks for the detailed instructions on the buttonholes.
8/11/06 9:25 AM
drsue said...
It is very, very comfortable!
11/5/05 9:36 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Okay, what's the verdict on sleeping comfort? Are you sure you *want* to sleep in it? It's much too pretty to mess up. I think I'd just leave it on the dressform and admire it. Lovely!
11/4/05 9:36 PM
KathleenS said...
This is very pretty, and as you say a great exercise in buttonholes!
11/4/05 6:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is lovely, drsue. Very clever technique for marking the buttonholes too. I've seen the cotton lawns on the Farmhouse website, but I've never ordered any. Glad to hear that they are so nice.
11/1/05 7:36 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Wow! What an enchanting gown.I long to sew heirloom garments, just don't hv the time. You've inspired me to give it a try.
11/1/05 1:42 AM
Hilary said...
What a lovely gown!! Thanks for the details about how you did the buttonholes. I have never used cotton lawn, it looks wonderful! Great review!
10/31/05 9:57 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Lovely! Could grace a boutique window. And thanks for mentioning Farmhouse Fabrics, a new source to me(uh oh!)
10/11/05 7:34 PM
Modiste Madness said...
When the picture opened up my first thought was similar to so many others, "So pretty." You did a wonderful job.
10/10/05 7:52 PM
ryan's mom said...
Such a pretty nightgown!
10/10/05 4:53 PM
cindyann said...
Sooo sweet! Your fabric choice is perfect.
10/10/05 4:05 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful nightgown! I love the unusual styling.
10/10/05 9:25 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your nightie is beautiful, Sue. Making button holes is up at the top of my list of things I don't like to do, so I admire you wanting to make this nightie again.
10/10/05 9:08 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Just beautiful! Love your choice of ribbon color. Complements your fabric.
10/10/05 8:43 AM
tigger said...
This is a definite WOW pattern - what I first said when I saw the picture - and very pretty. I'd love to make something like this just to have it in my sewing room!
10/10/05 2:49 AM
PhyllisC said...
Lovely - I usually don't see much that I like in Butterick but this is a *really* great style; I have to add this to my wish list. Good point on the buttonholes - I would have done it that way as well.
10/9/05 4:40 PM
Elemenopeo said...
So vintage. It will be beautiful on you.
10/9/05 3:12 PM
SewingSusan said...
Beautiful nightgown.
10/9/05 2:48 PM
Tiner W said...
It's so pretty!
10/9/05 1:35 PM
BorderCollieMom said...
So pretty! I'm a big fan of cotton lawn and I'm sure your gown is very comfy, too!
10/9/05 1:08 PM
bunz said...
Practice making buttonholes! LOL! Anyway, it turned out very pretty -- hope it's comfy, too.
10/9/05 12:34 PM
Elona said...
Very pretty and feminine, Dr. Sue. Often, it seems that earlier nightie patterns are kind of utilitarian and boxy, but this one is a charmer.
10/9/05 12:13 PM
casken said...
Very pretty gown. Thank you for your review.
10/9/05 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3101

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

More Info
BurdaStyle Downloadable 08/2012 120

photo
by: Westy85

Review