SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8292 (Coat)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1412 times 
Reviewed by:smallbod
photo

 
 
About smallbodstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/30/05
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/05 12:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 $11.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 $11.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
licarritc said... (11/8/05 8:29 AM) Reply
Do you have any of the fabric left? I suggest sandwiching the coat, the collar, then the facing on top -all right sides together. You want the wrong side of the facing up. Sew everything together. Flip the facing into its correct position and under stitch to the SA. Then sew the back facing to the front facing. If this is the directions that you have I'm stuck but I find putting in a collar this way almost painless. I didn't make this up it is straight from a Burda WOF pattern that I did and I loved how easy it was!
kellyt said... (11/7/05 2:44 PM) Reply
It is too bad about the collar. The coat looks nice so far. I would not trash it. I would take the collar off and finish the neckline without it. Just use the facing for the neckline to clean finish the neck. Hope that makes sense. Thanks for the review. I thought this coat looked very cute.
sewcrazy52 said... (11/7/05 2:41 PM) Reply
Does anyone have sewing classes - or special interest courses; like after-hours classes? I find that helps when I am stuck.
smallbod said... (11/7/05 1:18 PM) Reply
redhead - i don't know anyone but I can ask around - thanks for the idea.
redhead said... (11/7/05 12:41 PM) Reply
Do you have someone, like an experienced sewist at a fabric store, who could consult with you on the neck? It seems a shame to not give it one more try as you really like the coat.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 4698

photo
by: princessju...

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 2497

photo
by: bennomusik

Review