Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7829 (Tunic-length blouses) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1371 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/05 4:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Moxie said...
Your blouse is beautiful. You performed some excellent problem solving.
11/11/05 4:41 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I would tell Vogue about this pattern and all of it's problems - I trust your experience to stay away from this one. But your garment does have huge hangar appeal.
11/11/05 5:02 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
We all appreciate the many warnings about this pattern and your talent for modifying and making it look wonderful.
11/11/05 5:10 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
This is a stunning garment, in spite of the pattern issues. You rock!
11/11/05 5:14 PM
sew obsessed said...
Your blouse is georgeous. Too bad you had to redo so much. Your problem solving is inspiring. I might have chucked the idea of rayon in the muslin stage. What stick-to-it-tivness you have. Glenda said it best, You Rock....... Michelle
11/11/05 5:50 PM
carnelian said...
This pattern resembles a luscious and graceful blouse by Anna Sui. Your review has saved me from the belief that my version is not wonderful because I am not wonderful. It is shabby and demoralizing that they market badly designed patterns for beautiful garments. Abandon all hope, ye who enter here. And yet they are my brand of choice, because they don't oversimplify fit. When they aren't blowing it altogether!
11/11/05 5:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save, Debra. I would have given up after the muslin. Your tunic is lovely.
11/11/05 6:09 PM
Elona said...
Debra, you made a lovely blouse, even though it was PITA. I agree with Stefanie that you should contact Vogue about this one. I wonder if it was actually designed to be cut on the straight grain, and the bias layout was a mistake! BTW, Annika's review--http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=6854--noted a lot of the same problems.
11/11/05 6:10 PM
CarrieA said...
Oh, thank you Debra as this pattern very nearly came home with me the other day. I love the line drawings but wouldn't want to face what you did. Great job in the end!
11/11/05 6:45 PM
beangirl said...
It is a very good-looking blouse... I agree with Elona: my first thought was that the bias layout was a mistake, rather than the other way around. I would definitely inform Vogue. You did an amazing reclamation job, but then everything of yours I've seen so far has been lovely!
11/11/05 7:33 PM
jemgirlca said...
Your top is beautiful. My first thought was "I need to have this pattern". Too bad it's not a good choice. Good for you, for making it work!!
11/11/05 7:50 PM
bunz said...
Thank you for your thorough review. The blouse is beautiful! It's a real shame -- from Vogue no less. Send your review to them!
11/11/05 8:16 PM
QuickFade said...
The blouse is gorgeous. Too bad it worked so poorly. Now, is anyone brave enough to make this without using a bias layout to see how it works? I would think that the bias layout would make a difference in the drape, but if it looks nice without bias, then maybe it would be worth making, with some adjustments to the collar. That does seem strange that there was no collar facing.
11/11/05 8:47 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Your blouse looks so lovely Debra. Shame on Vogue for making you go thru all that work. Brilliant save. It has that wonderful Bohemian look to it.
11/11/05 9:01 PM
Modiste Madness said...
You blouse is lovely; too bad it didn't work aout as planned for you. Thank you for all your reviews. I am starting to recognize your photo style and colors on site. They are always a treat.
11/11/05 11:16 PM
Geri Lynn said...
Sorry this turned into such a nightmare, but I agree with the others that it ended up being a beautiful blouse! I too wonder if it would turn out ok cut on the grain? I love the style and have a wonderful fabric for it in my stash. You definitely should contact Vogue about the problems.
11/12/05 5:56 AM
Steffie said...
Such beautiful fabric! How frustrating that the pattern was such a pain. Thank you for all the warnings.
11/12/05 6:14 AM
xela said...
Thank you. I have this pattern in my stash and wanted to make it out of some beautiful beaded silk chiffon. I'm absolutely positive now that the plan for the communion of that pattern and that fabric will never happen. Thank you for saving my sanity--I'm on a very thin string as it is:-) Happy Sewing.
11/12/05 9:53 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous blouse, despite pattern flaws. Thanks for the review
11/12/05 1:58 PM
GwenV said...
The results look great in spite of the pattern problems. A very helpful review.
11/12/05 3:41 PM
hongkongshopper said...
It looks beautiful. Hopefully you can still enjoy wearing it.
11/12/05 5:50 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks very nice. Sorry you had such issues. As always a very thorough and helpful review.
11/13/05 6:47 AM
candyo said...
I JUST bought this and saw your review when I added it to my pattern catalog. It's getting returned next time I go to joann's!! Thank you!!!!
11/19/05 3:55 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I've had this pattern for a while, and just bought the fabric that is perfect for it, convinced that with the help of your review, I could make it work. I've re-read every word you wrote, and want to thank you for not letting me try to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. I'll find another pattern....though I bought this one for the soft neckline - exactly the detail that seems to be the worst. Your version is lovely, but I'm going to force myself to learn from your experience. Off to find another pattern option....Thank you!
12/2/05 11:59 AM
ajax said...
I have just made view A for my niece who had chosen the pattern. Your review was very helpful as I looked it up after seeing that the collar was unfaced and it was cut on the bias. I decided to cut it on the straight grain and didn't have as many problems, although the collar wasn't great it didn't stretch and tended to turn under rather than flop out. The back gathers also worked out fine. I think the bias cut instructions may be a mistake! I made it in a very sheer fabric that I think was polyester georgette. So if anyone else loves the design it may be worth trying on the straight grain.
11/17/06 5:31 AM
Debra H said...
Believe it or not, the collar is supposed to turn under, not out
11/18/06 8:37 AM
TessaP said...
I have just found this site and was about to buy this pattern! Don't think I'll bother now!!
12/3/07 6:11 PM
mestake said...
I had some of the same problems w this pattern. I agree that the sleeves were way too long and the collar is weird, the back didn't hang right, and there wasn't enough ease at the hip area. Vogue goofed on this one for sure. Too bad because it looked so beautiful on the envelope photo.
1/15/08 2:29 PM
NK Designs said...
I made this pattern some years ago and encountered similar problems.
4/17/09 4:00 PM
Phillis2 said...
I'm so sorry that I cannot see your finished project. Some say it's beautiful, stunning and georgeous. I purchased this pattern a number of years ago put it in my box of patterns and would stop on it as I'd go through patterns for my next project. I'm soooooooo glad I read your review which in fact was the only one for V7829. I also love this bohemian style blouse and had a beautiful piece of sueaded (sp?) silk to make it up. Well I'm not going to waste my fabric. I noticed that the pattern placement is as a bias cut. I dodged a bullet on this one. Thanks!
10/26/12 8:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

StyleArc Peta Peta pants
photo
Review by newsewer20... on 3/9/12
Read Review

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1015 Violet
photo
Review by spankachut... on 9/11/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us