Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4403 (Threads Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1016 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/05 1:09 PM
Last Updated:12/16/07 9:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Connie this is wonderful - I am sure you stand out in a crowd but for all the good and right reasons!
12/16/07 9:33 AM
said...
That's so gorgeous! What a fabulous style! Great, great work! You're an inspiration. :)
12/16/07 9:37 AM
Linda G said...
Your coat is beautiful. You did a great job on the bound buttonholes...the fabric looks a little loose weave which makes bound buttonholes even more of a challenge.
12/16/07 9:39 AM
Ronda Rae said...
This coat is gorgeous!! I'll bet you do get lots of comments.
12/16/07 10:01 AM
ryan's mom said...
Terrific coat! I can just picture you wearing it around town too :) .
12/16/07 10:34 AM
solosmocker said...
Your coat is fabulous and I love the vintage-ness of it all!
12/16/07 10:41 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Oh so adorably cute. Where most people are bundled up in dark deary colors that match some winter days, you must look like a ray of sunshine in your vintagey-fabulous coat.
12/16/07 11:09 AM
Dei said...
Love the fabric! It just goes to show how fabric selection is so important. Your coat is fab. Nice work.
12/16/07 11:29 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! What a terrific idea to dye fabric for a contrast. I love this coat. It is elegant and well made.
12/16/07 11:31 AM
So So said...
Couture Coat! I love it love it love it! your butonholes, your dying th efabric your care and attention to detail. So glad you stand out and why shouldn't you! i wil be coming back to this review agin I am sure.
12/16/07 11:52 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You should be proud. This is a wonderful work of art.
12/16/07 12:16 PM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty fabric and since the coat is what people will see more than what's underneath, you want it to shout out and not be boring. Great choice. Also, I'm so jealous of your button holes. What method did you use?
12/16/07 1:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
This is really gorgeous - although I have to admit that the idea of a turquoise fur collar really spoke to me when you mentioned it :-). And you should tell your mom that everyone will be looking at you because you'll be cheering them up so much! But did you do a Hong-Kong finish -inside- a lining?? Setting aside for a moment the sheer masochism of it, it'd also add bulk to the seams that'd be going against the idea. A Hong-Kong finish is a lovely thing to do to unlined garments indeed, but not otherwise. Even if your fabric ravels, if it's wool your seams are perfectly safe inside a lining. And they should stay that way, without sharp defined edges, without extra layers of even very fine fabric, without extra stitching..
12/16/07 1:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Oooo, love it! Your fabric is just perfect. :o)
12/16/07 1:43 PM
EveS said...
Faaaabulous coat!!! That fabric is to die for. Just awesome!! It's winterwear that gives hope for spring, IMO.
12/16/07 1:45 PM
LindsayT said...
What a stylish alternative to all the puffer coats I see everywhere. I love that all your hard work payed off so beautifully.
12/16/07 2:38 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Oma Connie!! (Wish I was...) Your coat is WONDERful for Canadian winters. It's cheerful & young sure beats the zillions of black, dark colours we usually see (including mine!). Beautiful work!! BOUND buttonholes... And I'm "afraid" of one-step regulars... ;)
12/16/07 4:06 PM
Karen6790 said...
This coat definitely stands out in a good way - it makes me smile just to see it. Woman, I can't believe you did bound buttonholes on that fabric - they would have taken me a lot longer than an afternoon. I guess the nicest thing I can say is that all your hard work isn't visible, I just look at this and think, "What a fabulous coat!"
12/16/07 4:11 PM
bluenines said...
great coat , love the colors, just the thing to take away the winter grays
12/16/07 4:20 PM
marjenann said...
Totally chic!!! Yummy fabric!
12/16/07 5:37 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
This is lovely - a true one of a kind garment!
12/16/07 6:46 PM
swing like a girl said...
I love your coat. What great colors.
12/16/07 7:42 PM
MissCelie said...
Bound buttonholes too??? If your mom doesn't like that coat, I am more than willing to take it off your hands. I'll even pay for postage!
12/16/07 10:30 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is amazing. did you bag the lining or hand sew?
12/16/07 10:31 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Gorgeous! I love everything about it: the color, vintage style. Great craftsmanship.
12/16/07 11:54 PM
xtreme1 said...
It's gorgeous.
12/17/07 5:41 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Lovely coat!
12/17/07 8:19 AM
Mahler said...
Connie, this coat should be worn with a tab hanging from the collar that says " I am the artist who created that beautiful coat ". You have all reasons to be proud of it. This is a fabulous garment. I realy love your coat.
12/17/07 12:37 PM
ChristineX said...
That is a beautiful combination of fabric and style! =)
12/17/07 7:36 PM
Anabolina said...
Wow, I love it...
12/17/07 7:39 PM
fabricrazed said...
You have a lovely coat that is purely timeless. The time you took was well worth the wait. The colors make me think of the clear blue sea very calming and appealing. I am surprised you have not had any one stop you to want to touch. You did an excellent job. I too like to have beauty on the inside as much as what is seen on the outside. Simply beautiful it take my breath.
12/17/07 11:30 PM
Marji said...
Lovely coat. Great fabric. glad you were able to get it out of the yardage you had.
12/18/07 3:21 AM
LuceLu said...
you used my favorite colors, I totally heart this coat. bring on the fur collar!
12/18/07 4:43 AM
Dmd4106 said...
What a gorgeous coat! Great color.
2/9/08 3:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Butterick 5297 Fast & Easy
photo
Review by CreativeDi... on 2/24/10
Read Review

Margo Handbag
Margo Handbag

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by Yippy4Skip... on 4/14/10
Read Review

Burda 7136 Pattern
Burda 7136 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0173 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0173 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us