Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1945 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2182 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:joan
photo
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/11/05 10:39 PM
Last Updated:5/21/06 8:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
The correct pattern link is the one that says provided by joan, not the one that says provided by Fashion Sewing Group
12/11/05 11:16 PM
Lori Sews said...
Joan, this is beautiful! You look great.
12/12/05 0:10 AM
carolynD43 said...
Looks really nice. I have this pattern but was hesitant about trying it, given some of the reviews. Maybe I will now. 71? You don't look it at all.
12/12/05 3:08 AM
stripquilter said...
I might have to break down and buy some of those FSG patterns and the workbook. Great style for you, great review for the rest of us. Julia in Houston
12/12/05 4:17 AM
jlg said...
Fabulous outfit. Your jacket looks wonderful on you.
12/12/05 4:52 AM
VtMartha said...
What a wonderful coincidence! I am working on this jacket (the original version) in Shannon Gifford's muslin class. My measurements, except for height, are very similar to yours. I'm trying a size 16 with lots of adjustments. I really like the concept of having a pattern that fits that I can modify in the many ways Nancy suggests. I hope my jacket looks as wonderful as yours does.
12/12/05 6:18 AM
Peggy L said...
Joan-this looks wonderful on you!! I have just finished my muslin for this and am going to get started after the holidays. Can't wait to see yourr next creation.
12/12/05 7:06 AM
Liane M said...
Oh my! Joan your jacket is great, and it looks great on you. I enjoy reading your reviews.
12/12/05 7:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Verrry sharp looking, Joan! I'm sure you'll wear it more than you think. The fabric is wonderful. Thanks for a great review of this pattern and your recommendation that it works for the less than advanced sewist.
12/12/05 8:14 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a lovely jacket. Your fabric is to die for! -Ann
12/12/05 8:22 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Holy Moley - did you say 71 year old body - NO WAY. You look fantastic and the outfit you made shows off all your attributes. What a great looking suit and you are right - that shade of blue is perfect for you.
12/12/05 8:25 AM
CSY said...
Joan very inspiring review and photo.
12/12/05 10:52 AM
Nickle said...
The outfit is gorgeous and looks fantastic on your young 71 year old bod!!
12/12/05 11:18 AM
Queendom said...
Joan, you did a terrific job. Would you consider reviewing Nancy's new book? I've been thinking about purchasing it, but I really hate buying "sight unseen".
12/12/05 11:28 AM
bes said...
This is wonderful and fits beautifully. I like the looks and fit of your skirt, too. What pattern did you use for it?
12/12/05 2:34 PM
joan said...
Thanks, all of you for your encouraging and flattering comments. Responding to Martha and Peggy L. I will watch for your garments after your test muslins.....Curlypurl, I do hope you will make the pattern that is in your stash. Just take your time.........Queendom, that is a good idea, I will review the workbook soon..........bes, the skirt pattern in the photo is Simplicity 4787. I did not use any of the flounces or pleats. Since it is so basic, didn't bother to review it. I think the reason that you are attracted to it is, ithe pattern is very slightly pegged.
12/12/05 3:59 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you joan for sharing this gorgeous jacket from FSG! Thanks for more inspiration to try this very pretty pattern, that has made me wonder if I could pull it off.
12/12/05 8:10 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket
12/12/05 9:29 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. I made this pattern once with fairly good results. Seeing yours reminded me that I still have this pattern and perhaps should try it again. Your jacket fits well and the color is good on you,
12/13/05 4:26 AM
Peggy L said...
Another winner. Looks really nice.
5/21/06 8:59 PM
Lori V said...
Another great looking jacket.
5/21/06 9:02 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful fitting jacket - had been looking at this pattern and wondering. Will now keep it in mind for future use - the results look so good!!
5/21/06 9:12 PM
Rhoda K said...
I'm so glad to see one of Nancy's patterns reviewed here. It looks so good on you and you look good in it! I saw her at a sewing expo in '98 and was immediately hooked by her common sense approach to sewing and style, for any age.
5/21/06 10:00 PM
regine said...
Very professional, it looks great.
5/22/06 1:42 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great review! I've never tried these patterns, but am going to be checking them out now. And I love seeing hip, stylish, and beautiful 60+ year old bodies! Gives us something to look forward to. You sure you got your age right? :)
5/22/06 8:55 AM
Patti B said...
I love both of your jackets. The black one looks very handy for California summers.
5/22/06 10:09 AM
wvsher said...
Both jackets look great. I like your version better than the one on the package.
5/22/06 10:31 AM
MadeByMeg said...
Hi! Some of us thought it would be fun to get all Bay Area sewists together and plan something fun. I created a meet-up for us to put some events together. If you're interested, join here: http://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-Sewists/
1/11/12 8:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8094
photo
Review by Fran G on 8/28/05
Read Review

McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by momsurfing on 5/19/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us