SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1048 (Coco Twinset)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2414 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/05 2:40 PM
Last Updated:12/24/05 11:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 44 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
65 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jemgirlca said...
Very cute MaryBeth! I love all of the extra details you added, like the knitted trim and chinese ball buttons. Thanks for all of the detailed steps you added, too. That will help if I ever get around to making this one up. Oh yea, I like the cami with the added sleeves, too. I think I would do the same.
12/23/05 2:54 PM
Teri said...
MaryBeth your set is great! Very nicely done.
12/23/05 3:01 PM
Trinity. said...
Oh, it turned out sooooo beautiful. I love the keyhole back and the chinese ball buttons are perfect!
12/23/05 3:03 PM
TarheelSewer said...
MaryBeth, tres magnifique!!!!!! Since we're about the same size, would you FedEx it too me for my dinner tommorrow night, so I can forget the red one! When you scooped out the armholes did you also add to the sleeve? I tried scooping the armhole on the Fitted T, but ended up with diagonal lines on the sleeves. Nice idea to add sleeves to the tank; did you cut the cardigan sleeves larger to allow for this? Great twinset and review. Congratulations!
12/23/05 3:12 PM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful sweater set. YOU really have a eye for the details. love them all
12/23/05 3:22 PM
jlg said...
What a fun, yet elegant, twin set. Great embellishing. You look wonderful in it Mary Beth.
12/23/05 3:23 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a fabulous twinset MaryBeth, all your hard work sure paid off. Just love the chinese ball buttons and embellishments/trim. Great detail!
12/23/05 3:36 PM
els said...
Mary Beth you look lovely, your creativity on the trims and adding the self made Chinese buttons results in a very nice elegant looking twinset. The added short sleeves are a plus too.
12/23/05 3:49 PM
Queendom said...
Great job! Like that you used this as an opportunity to try out different techniques (loved the idea of using pulled threads for the button loop).
12/23/05 3:59 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful details!
12/23/05 4:04 PM
Annie- oh said...
Yes, you look soooo sophisticated and stylish in this, Mary Beth. We've been following some of these details on the HP thread, so it's especially nice that you finished it, and took photos for us - thanks - and where and when will you wear it first? Annie
12/23/05 4:17 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This color is fabulous on your and the style is wonderful. Your additional embellishmens only make it more attractive.
12/23/05 4:20 PM
shard said...
really nice! inspiring, too!
12/23/05 4:22 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Lovely, MB! The color is really pretty on you and the chinese ball buttons are exceptionally cool.
12/23/05 4:33 PM
Nickle said...
Very beautiful. The color looks so nice on you. Love the buttons.
12/23/05 4:38 PM
AliceB said...
Love the buttons and pulled thread loop... I need to store these ideas away for future projects here. Thanks for the very thorough review.
12/23/05 4:48 PM
AnneM said...
You look all dolled up! Congrats on your outfit.
12/23/05 4:49 PM
Patti B said...
My goodness, Mary Beth, you've written a sewing lesson -- thanks! Your details make this very special and it looks super on you. Enjoy wearing it!
12/23/05 4:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
MaryBeth, this is truly a work of art. I enjoyed reading and viewing every detail about its creation.
12/23/05 5:20 PM
Tailypo said...
Really smashing. I think Hot Patterns is bringing a new level of stylishness and sophistication to many of our sewing rooms! Great looking twinset, and you look wonderful in it.
12/23/05 5:30 PM
joan said...
Hi Mary Beth...love it, love it. Love all your very creative additions to the pattern.
12/23/05 6:30 PM
Leora said...
MaryBeth, your twinset is gorgeous. Your knitted trim and chinese balls are the perfect touch to this style. Very nicely done!
12/23/05 6:40 PM
Melody said...
MaryBeth, I love, love, love it. I really enjoy those magnificent details that you've added. You look beautiful in your stylish new twinset.
12/23/05 6:45 PM
bunz said...
MB - you look absolutely lovely in this! Taking the time and all your details really paid off. It's definitely one-of-a-kind.
12/23/05 6:54 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
MB, I love this twinset! You did such a fabulous job, and the details are simply scrumptious! -Ann
12/23/05 7:01 PM
Chanel said...
That's really lovely. Thank you.
12/23/05 7:05 PM
PhyllisC said...
Mary Beth - this is awesomne! L-O-V-E the custom trim made from the fashion fabric. Great review.
12/23/05 7:21 PM
PVA said...
Oh my, Mary Beth, this twin set is really lovely! I echo & endorse every good word that has been said here! Thanks so much for the truly informative review & all the great photos.
12/23/05 7:27 PM
drsue said...
My goodness! What a wonderful job you did! Fab review also.
12/23/05 7:53 PM
Lilibet said...
What a brilliant job you've done to produce such a wonderful looking twinset.
12/23/05 8:29 PM
Debbie Cook said...
MB, this looks great! I don't think I'd shorten the cardigan -- I really like this length on you.
12/23/05 9:03 PM
Peggy L said...
Mary Beth - great reveiw and this looks so pretty on you. Thanks for all the details.
12/23/05 9:50 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic job, thanks for the great review. Your trim and details really make the outfit.
12/23/05 10:56 PM
ClaireC said...
I have been anxiously awaiting the unveiling of the finished product. Oh my..it is a fantastic twinset. I love the trim, the bows, the fabric, the color...well everything. Thank you for the very detailed review and for including the details from the HP Thread that I know I would not be able to find again. Wow!!
12/24/05 6:14 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Mary Beth, your sweater set turned out great! I love all the details you added. They make for a very special garment.
12/24/05 7:00 AM
pharmercoon said...
Mary Beth-it looks awesome! I'm really envious...I haven't even laid eyes on my sewing machine in over a month! Kay
12/24/05 7:30 AM
Demming said...
Wow! I just joined and this is the first review I really not only enjoyed, but learned something. I would like to know more details on the the triple-zz facing and where it is placed...great pics but I need a closer view. Many thanks....you are my hero!!
12/24/05 8:12 AM
Lori Sews said...
This is gorgeous!
12/24/05 8:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
MaryBeth, this is so helpful! I purchased this pattern and have had some difficulty decided the right fabric to use. Your review helped with that. My first attempt at the Plain &Simple T has prepared me to make numerous adjustments. You have made a very lovely cardiagan and top. Thank you for all the detailed information.
12/24/05 9:36 AM
Georgene said...
Lovingly detailed, beautifully executed - your twinset is so flattering on you! Thanks for revealing your process. I do think you can still take out a bit of width on the cardigan body at the crosschest 5" down from the high point shoulder. Especially if you cut this in a slightly stretchier knit. All in all another great ensemble from the deft hands of Mary Beth.
12/24/05 9:41 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful, Mary Beth! What a delicious bit of sewing you've done here...thanks for sharing it and all the details!
12/24/05 10:31 AM
moushka said...
Mary Beth, Your projects all look good but this is the greatest! Lovely style, beautiful colour, and very snazzy trim and buttons. Definitely 5 stars. Thanks for the detailed review.
12/24/05 10:47 AM
SansSouci572 said...
Mary Beth, I am so glad you were two steps ahead of me as I was sewing this too! Your trim, each puzzle, it worked!!! I love the chinese balls on your sleeves too. And how the understitching looks like the fabric. I never thought of zigzagging understitching! I better finish mine today! Sort of stuck on the hem now...weird thing happened I am trying to figure out!! (yeah, the hem, the most simple element of all!) Alot of "intuitive" sewing on this one, eh?
12/24/05 11:25 AM
MaryBeth said...
Christianne: I knew I forgot something!!! I added an edit above w/photo to address the hem...tried to send you a PM but you're private :)
12/24/05 11:58 AM
Vonnevo said...
Just gorgeous MaryBeth! Colour, fabric, extra detail and style suit beautifully.Thank you for a very comprehensive review :)
12/24/05 1:12 PM
CatherineN said...
Choosing self fabric buttons was a wise choice. Your sewing skill sure helped you to make an unusually interesting outfit. PS, I always admire your pretty complexion.
12/24/05 1:55 PM
SewingSkater said...
Oh how beautiful! I love this! Very very chic... wow. :)
12/24/05 3:32 PM
Pam Z said...
Gorgeous sweater set, MB. Your details make this set look expensive.
12/24/05 4:28 PM
Cambric Tea said...
You really did Hot Patterns proud! Your care and thought really shines through the end result. Great job!
12/24/05 7:57 PM
artist1lisa said...
You look great.I love seeing us "curvy girls"in stylish clothing.You did a wonderful job.Thanks for such a helpful review.
12/24/05 8:33 PM
Deepika said...
Marybeth I was just browsing the reviews today and saw your photo. I havent even read the whole review yet, but I just want to say that you look gorgeous!!!
12/25/05 9:42 AM
sewlily said...
You did a masterful job with the fit and the fabric. The hand finished detail is wonderful. Thanks for your review.
12/25/05 9:57 AM
Sherril Miller said...
MB, this is fabulous. I want one. I love the details. I was afraid of these patterns since I was taking a patternmaking class I didn't want to go in another direction. But now, I just HAVE to get this pattern. Thank you for this review! This is such a georgous set and you look wonderful!
12/25/05 11:57 AM
SansSouci572 said...
I am on "private?" Now how did that happen? Yep. That is what I did to the hem too.
12/25/05 12:44 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job on you twin set, especially on the design details.
12/25/05 8:55 PM
Liana said...
MaryBeth, This is so darling, and your details really make it very special. Great job!
12/26/05 0:26 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fantastic outfit on you. Thanks for all the details: your work really paid off. This looks truly beautiful.
12/26/05 10:57 AM
melgosews said...
Very lovely! Trim is so creative and stylish.
12/26/05 12:52 PM
SouthernStitch said...
You look glowing in this - just perfect. What fun you had! You are just so creative and I'm glad you enjoyed this process!
12/27/05 8:37 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a flattering outfit! You look great in this color. Thank you for the detailed and helpful review!
12/28/05 10:49 AM
TJSEWS said...
It looks great! You have inspired me to purchase the pattern and give it a try. Thanks for your detailed review.
1/7/06 8:08 PM
Agnes Bohl said...
I did think this review was very helpful. I am thinking of trying this pattern & am glad I read it, I don't like surprises either !
2/11/06 10:02 AM
Nancy K said...
I really enjoyed your review, seeing your process was educational and inspiring. The set looks wonderful on you, enjoy your complements
5/16/06 7:56 AM
Chersews said...
Thanks for your review. Just wish I had read it before I got the pattern. I was expecting an easy knit sewing experience. Thanks for your honesty in saying this is an advanced pattern. I'll put it in my "when my sewing skills grow up" bin. (LOL)
12/11/08 7:21 PM
bluesgirrl said...
awesome review with great pics!
1/19/09 0:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Stylish Dress Book

photo
by: ajhewing

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now