SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2500 (Swimsuit with skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2010 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara R
photo

 
 
About Barbara Rstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/05 0:37 AM
Last Updated:1/2/06 10:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jr said...
ooh- pretty fabric! Looks like you got a good fit too.
12/31/05 1:03 AM
valerie sews said...
What a pretty suit. I'll definitely have to take another look at this pattern.
12/31/05 1:16 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! The style and colours are lovely. Can you please post a pic of your purple swimsuit when finished :)
12/31/05 2:38 AM
Patzee said...
Looks great! What did you use for a lining?
12/31/05 3:53 AM
rhoda bicycle said...
The suit looks great! Instead of doing the next one with size xl in the bottom at the back, try slashing the size large from the back seam to the seam allowance at the sides (on top of the leg opening) and rotating downward 1/2" to 3/4". It will give you extra fabric over the butt without making the leg opening too big. If you need a little more width, you could add it at the back seam.
12/31/05 4:57 AM
Nickle said...
Pretty swimsuit- looks good on you. Looking forward to your purple one.
12/31/05 7:38 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great suit!
12/31/05 7:42 AM
Motorposus said...
I love the tie-dyed look of that fabric, and the way you chose to orient the stripes. I can't see the CB seam at all!
12/31/05 7:50 AM
slanden99 said...
This pattern is on my wish list now. What a great, flattering style
12/31/05 9:46 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Nice job. This suit is very flattering on you.
12/31/05 9:53 AM
QuickFade said...
You did a really nice job, and the print looks very nice made up in this pattern, very nicely placed in the back to create an interesting look.
12/31/05 11:00 AM
Annika said...
Gorgeous job - you've inspired me to try to make one.
12/31/05 12:03 PM
Barbara R said...
Thanks for the comments! For lining I just used a very lightweight knit that I also got from Spandex House. Click here. rhoda bicycle - I'm not sure I understand your suggestion. You mean pivot at the side to make the CB longer? Or...? BTW, I couldn't make the purple suit today because our power was out for several hours. Maybe tomorrow!
12/31/05 9:06 PM
kremmer said...
Looks great on you! Very impressed!
1/1/06 2:45 AM
AnneM said...
Nice job! I love the way you used the fabric, with the horizontal run over the bust & the vertical for most of the torso.
1/1/06 8:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very flattering swimsuit. You did a great job and your review was very helpful.
1/1/06 8:46 AM
rhoda bicycle said...
Barbara: yes, this alteration makes the center back longer, which puts more fabric over the curve of the body - sort of like the full bust adjustment does. I have a large "caboose" and this alteration gives me a good fit - finally - in the tush area. When I tried to go large all over, the leg elastic was a sloppy fit, because the leg opening was too big. Of course, you have to make sure that you are only stretching the elastic on the back of the leg when you sew it - not the fabric itself.
1/1/06 1:58 PM
Lou05 said...
Thank you for the thorough review and the photo. You did a great job and what beautiful fabric and fit. Seeing it made up makes me think I can try it and I'm opposite you - big bust, smaller bottom. I think it can work because I can picture it. Thanks.
1/1/06 5:32 PM
Vonnevo said...
The purple swimsuit is equally beautiful. No wonder you made two. They are fabulous !
1/2/06 11:29 PM
Nickle said...
Love the purple suit too. Boy you sewed that up fast.
1/3/06 6:51 AM
Dixielynn said...
Great suits...the purple is my choice ...very classy and striking!
1/3/06 2:54 PM
Lori Sews said...
Impressive. Great looking suits!
1/3/06 6:14 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great review - I plan to make my own suit this year so this definitely helps. Looks good on you.
1/3/06 7:01 PM
jemgirlca said...
Both are really nice, pretty suits! I'm impressed.
1/3/06 10:10 PM
Rebecca H said...
Wow, terrific results! I was just looking in the Lands' End catalog, and their suits are so expensive, I thought "how hard can it be to make one of these?" I love your photos, too. It really helps to see what this looks like on a real woman's body. Great job on the suits & the review!
2/12/06 1:35 PM
CSY said...
Great looking swimsuits.
2/21/06 10:54 AM
lornakismet said...
Ah, very sweet and pastel and it reminds me of Esther Williams in those extravaganzas. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/11/06 3:16 AM
Coastal Connie said...
Thanks for explaining all the alterations, it helps.
9/13/09 11:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 2573

photo
by: julliams

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104B

photo
by: redsilvia

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now