Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2005-111 (Cowl neck top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1437 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Nata
photo
About Natastar
USA
Member since: 8/20/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/06 9:34 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful top! Great job!
1/7/06 4:30 PM
redhead said...
I just traced this. I really appreciate your comments about the construction and edge finishing.
1/7/06 4:38 PM
BillieJean said...
I would love to see your picture, but I get a msg that it could not be found.
1/8/06 5:35 AM
Nata said...
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I fixed the photo
1/8/06 9:37 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, that is such a cute top!
1/8/06 10:06 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely design. Thanks for all the tips Nata. Its on my ever expanding sewing list
1/8/06 10:25 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Yay, we can see a picture of it now. It is really very pretty. Thanks for the heads-up on the low neckline.
1/8/06 10:42 AM
BjP said...
This is very pretty and it has some very nice design details.
1/8/06 11:27 AM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty.
1/8/06 12:50 PM
smallbod said...
Looks great - and completely different to the WOF version. Thanks for the tip on the neckline, I wouldn't want to scare my neighbours too much :) Great top for workwear - I'll also be adding it to the to do list.
1/8/06 1:11 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the top and your tips are great.
1/8/06 2:13 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very pretty.
1/8/06 4:57 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for the review Nata. That top was on my to do list. Looks lovely and the tips on the neckline will come in handy.
1/8/06 5:35 PM
MaryBeth said...
Ohh, glad you fixed the photo (I've been checking in every so often LOL) Very pretty color, interesting pattern. Thanks
1/8/06 9:36 PM
hederahelix8 said...
I’m a couple of days on the late side here, but I’m going to venture a post anyway- 1. Did you use the “Vilene/Pellon fuse and fold” recommended in the magazine to stabilize the edges? 2.Were you happy with your change in finishing the top piece? Did it change the drape much do you think (though it doesn’t look like it from your photo)? Their method does seem more or less insane. Even though you’re not totally happy with your fabric, I have to say I think your photo looks way more appealing than the one in WOF. I passed by the photo in the magazine without a second glance, but now think I might have to give it a try.
1/10/06 11:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6710
photo
Review by a.me.s on 2/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2006-113 Wrap Top
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 8/4/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us