SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2005-111 (Cowl neck top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1437 times 
Reviewed by:Nata
photo

 
 
About Natastar
USA
Member since: 8/20/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/06 9:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful top! Great job!
1/7/06 4:30 PM
redhead said...
I just traced this. I really appreciate your comments about the construction and edge finishing.
1/7/06 4:38 PM
BillieJean said...
I would love to see your picture, but I get a msg that it could not be found.
1/8/06 5:35 AM
Nata said...
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I fixed the photo
1/8/06 9:37 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, that is such a cute top!
1/8/06 10:06 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely design. Thanks for all the tips Nata. Its on my ever expanding sewing list
1/8/06 10:25 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Yay, we can see a picture of it now. It is really very pretty. Thanks for the heads-up on the low neckline.
1/8/06 10:42 AM
BjP said...
This is very pretty and it has some very nice design details.
1/8/06 11:27 AM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty.
1/8/06 12:50 PM
smallbod said...
Looks great - and completely different to the WOF version. Thanks for the tip on the neckline, I wouldn't want to scare my neighbours too much :) Great top for workwear - I'll also be adding it to the to do list.
1/8/06 1:11 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the top and your tips are great.
1/8/06 2:13 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very pretty.
1/8/06 4:57 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for the review Nata. That top was on my to do list. Looks lovely and the tips on the neckline will come in handy.
1/8/06 5:35 PM
MaryBeth said...
Ohh, glad you fixed the photo (I've been checking in every so often LOL) Very pretty color, interesting pattern. Thanks
1/8/06 9:36 PM
hederahelix8 said...
I’m a couple of days on the late side here, but I’m going to venture a post anyway- 1. Did you use the “Vilene/Pellon fuse and fold” recommended in the magazine to stabilize the edges? 2.Were you happy with your change in finishing the top piece? Did it change the drape much do you think (though it doesn’t look like it from your photo)? Their method does seem more or less insane. Even though you’re not totally happy with your fabric, I have to say I think your photo looks way more appealing than the one in WOF. I passed by the photo in the magazine without a second glance, but now think I might have to give it a try.
1/10/06 11:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1034

photo
by: lamstu

Review
McCall's 6435

photo
by: Bbarbiexox

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now