SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Birch Street Clothing> None (7-Fold Tie)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2184 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/02 11:36 PM
Last Updated:2/9/03 9:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nice review of an unusual pattern for an item I think is rarely sewn at home. Looks as though it should be quite possible.
9/23/02 2:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I've been looking for something to sew for my SO and this sounds wonderful. I can't wait to make it myself. Have you used any of their other patterns?
9/23/02 2:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've been searching for the tie interfacing for this pattern for some time, and found it last night at Baerfabric.com. I hope to make this soon.
9/23/02 10:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great holiday gift idea: Non-boring ties for non-boring guys:). Thanks for the idea.
9/23/02 12:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made the Baby Sling. Simple, useful, personalizable. Made his and hers for my husband's daughter's first baby. Denim worked great, and I put their initials on the shoulder of each sling.
9/23/02 4:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
AnneM said...
Debbie - on the crepe de chin one, did you use the armo rite interfacing? I'm thinking that might keep mine from stretching further (I secured it in a couple of spots, but did not use any fusible interfacing on the charmeuse). I agree that this would be a good pattern for a print that needed showing off; it does seem to hang nicely.
8/8/03 9:48 AM
David Coffin said...
I havenít seen this pattern, but I canít resist pointing out that the whole point of a 7-fold tie is that it doesnít need a separate interfacing; thatís what the extra folds of tie fabric are there for. Tie interfacing was introduced as a way of replacing the 7-fold method with something cheaper: not so much tie fabric needed. So, I suggest trying this pattern without the interfacing!
10/15/05 9:21 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Ah, I didn't know that! It's true that the ties are rather stiff, but I had attributed that to the cotton. I'll have to try it without interfacing--a bonus is that Armo-Rite is kind of expensive, so if I don't need it...! Thanks!
10/16/05 8:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now