Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Birch Street Clothing: None (7-Fold Tie) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 2183 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/02 11:36 PM
Last Updated:2/9/03 9:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nice review of an unusual pattern for an item I think is rarely sewn at home. Looks as though it should be quite possible.
9/23/02 2:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I've been looking for something to sew for my SO and this sounds wonderful. I can't wait to make it myself. Have you used any of their other patterns?
9/23/02 2:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've been searching for the tie interfacing for this pattern for some time, and found it last night at Baerfabric.com. I hope to make this soon.
9/23/02 10:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great holiday gift idea: Non-boring ties for non-boring guys:). Thanks for the idea.
9/23/02 12:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made the Baby Sling. Simple, useful, personalizable. Made his and hers for my husband's daughter's first baby. Denim worked great, and I put their initials on the shoulder of each sling.
9/23/02 4:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
AnneM said...
Debbie - on the crepe de chin one, did you use the armo rite interfacing? I'm thinking that might keep mine from stretching further (I secured it in a couple of spots, but did not use any fusible interfacing on the charmeuse). I agree that this would be a good pattern for a print that needed showing off; it does seem to hang nicely.
8/8/03 9:48 AM
David Coffin said...
I havenít seen this pattern, but I canít resist pointing out that the whole point of a 7-fold tie is that it doesnít need a separate interfacing; thatís what the extra folds of tie fabric are there for. Tie interfacing was introduced as a way of replacing the 7-fold method with something cheaper: not so much tie fabric needed. So, I suggest trying this pattern without the interfacing!
10/15/05 9:21 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Ah, I didn't know that! It's true that the ties are rather stiff, but I had attributed that to the cotton. I'll have to try it without interfacing--a bonus is that Armo-Rite is kind of expensive, so if I don't need it...! Thanks!
10/16/05 8:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

New Look 6190
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 5/12/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3504 Men's Jeans
photo
Review by becca a on 5/4/09
Read Review

McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size 12-14 )
McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size 12-14 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3989 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3989 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us