SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Birch Street Clothing> None (7-Fold Tie)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2186 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/02 11:36 PM
Last Updated:2/9/03 9:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Lancaster said...
Ah, I didn't know that! It's true that the ties are rather stiff, but I had attributed that to the cotton. I'll have to try it without interfacing--a bonus is that Armo-Rite is kind of expensive, so if I don't need it...! Thanks!
10/16/05 8:11 AM
David Coffin said...
I havenít seen this pattern, but I canít resist pointing out that the whole point of a 7-fold tie is that it doesnít need a separate interfacing; thatís what the extra folds of tie fabric are there for. Tie interfacing was introduced as a way of replacing the 7-fold method with something cheaper: not so much tie fabric needed. So, I suggest trying this pattern without the interfacing!
10/15/05 9:21 PM
AnneM said...
Debbie - on the crepe de chin one, did you use the armo rite interfacing? I'm thinking that might keep mine from stretching further (I secured it in a couple of spots, but did not use any fusible interfacing on the charmeuse). I agree that this would be a good pattern for a print that needed showing off; it does seem to hang nicely.
8/8/03 9:48 AM
said...
I've made the Baby Sling. Simple, useful, personalizable. Made his and hers for my husband's daughter's first baby. Denim worked great, and I put their initials on the shoulder of each sling.
9/23/02 4:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great holiday gift idea: Non-boring ties for non-boring guys:). Thanks for the idea.
9/23/02 12:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've been searching for the tie interfacing for this pattern for some time, and found it last night at Baerfabric.com. I hope to make this soon.
9/23/02 10:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I've been looking for something to sew for my SO and this sounds wonderful. I can't wait to make it myself. Have you used any of their other patterns?
9/23/02 2:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nice review of an unusual pattern for an item I think is rarely sewn at home. Looks as though it should be quite possible.
9/23/02 2:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 278490-1002

photo
by: momsurfing

Review
Burda 8200

photo
by: HRigg

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now