SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4488 (Misses Renaissance Costumes)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1897 times 
Reviewed by:Costume Queen
photo

 
 
About Costume Queenstar
Member since: 1/18/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/06 8:21 PM
Last Updated:3/29/09 4:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
glenj said...
WOW.really can't say more than that
3/29/09 10:27 AM
kirilee said...
Gorgeous costume mate! You are very right when you say even fun to look at. It is very well done! Two thumbs up from down under :P
3/19/09 9:30 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a nice looking costume! You did a great job!
2/25/09 5:38 PM
fourkid said...
I missed this first time you wrote about it - I am glad it was brought up to the front again - it is just beautiful!!!
2/23/09 8:36 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great job on your first costume project, well done! Thanks for a detailed review too
2/23/09 6:27 PM
MHW said...
Thanks for the pictures and the very detailed review Costume Queen. Your beautiful pictures gave me the inspiration I needed and my dress has turned out beautifully - just as well as I plan to use it for my Christmas wedding!
9/21/08 11:01 PM
chick3y said...
Wow! This sounds like a labor of love! This almost makes me wish I had somewhere to wear such a dress!!!
5/9/08 11:17 AM
Costume Queen said...
WhiteRabbit, I made a size 10 to fit my measurements, and it does squeeze everything in quite a bit. At the bottom of the lacing, it closes completely, but towards the top the edges separate so that there's about two inches of space between the edges. If you made each of the pieces a tad wider, you might be able to use hooks and eyes.
8/25/07 9:50 AM
WhiteRabbit said...
I'm fairly new to the sewing gig. This is going to be one of my first 'slightly more involved' projects. I had a question about your finished product. The bodice front in the picture appears to 'gap' a bit as it is laced up. I was hoping to use eye hooks to close it more tightly. Will that be possible, or will it squish things a bit too much?
8/15/07 2:23 PM
Thalia_Alasse said...
I agree, it's really not hard, I only had to call my old sewing teacher once with a question about which side the fusible interfacing should be placed. I am having SO MUCH FUN on it! Yay costumes! Btw, I'm also making view B, and I'm having trouble with the underskirt too. Can you explain what they meant with the "lap"/placket, that is, the 2nd step? (You can email me with your answer, bluemint909@hotmail.com)
3/29/06 4:50 PM
Costume Queen said...
I was going to put up a picture, but I couldn't get my digital camera to work. I will try to get a pic up as soon as possible!
1/26/06 11:22 AM
Annika said...
sorry duplicate!
1/20/06 2:35 PM
Annika said...
Do you have a photo of this gown? Would love to see what it looks like.
1/20/06 2:34 PM
AnneM said...
Sounds lovely. 5 yards of trim is a LOT of trim. And there's a lot of fabric in this dress, so it's not surprising your project added up in cost.
1/20/06 4:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

PR Member's Pattern 281988-1004

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

More Info
Deer&Doe Dress Belladone

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review