SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4488 (Misses Renaissance Costumes)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1884 times 
Reviewed by:Costume Queen
photo

 
 
About Costume Queen
Member since: 1/18/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/06 8:21 PM
Last Updated:3/29/09 4:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Sounds lovely. 5 yards of trim is a LOT of trim. And there's a lot of fabric in this dress, so it's not surprising your project added up in cost.
1/20/06 4:18 AM
Annika said...
Do you have a photo of this gown? Would love to see what it looks like.
1/20/06 2:34 PM
Annika said...
sorry duplicate!
1/20/06 2:35 PM
Costume Queen said...
I was going to put up a picture, but I couldn't get my digital camera to work. I will try to get a pic up as soon as possible!
1/26/06 11:22 AM
Thalia_Alasse said...
I agree, it's really not hard, I only had to call my old sewing teacher once with a question about which side the fusible interfacing should be placed. I am having SO MUCH FUN on it! Yay costumes! Btw, I'm also making view B, and I'm having trouble with the underskirt too. Can you explain what they meant with the "lap"/placket, that is, the 2nd step? (You can email me with your answer, bluemint909@hotmail.com)
3/29/06 4:50 PM
WhiteRabbit said...
I'm fairly new to the sewing gig. This is going to be one of my first 'slightly more involved' projects. I had a question about your finished product. The bodice front in the picture appears to 'gap' a bit as it is laced up. I was hoping to use eye hooks to close it more tightly. Will that be possible, or will it squish things a bit too much?
8/15/07 2:23 PM
Costume Queen said...
WhiteRabbit, I made a size 10 to fit my measurements, and it does squeeze everything in quite a bit. At the bottom of the lacing, it closes completely, but towards the top the edges separate so that there's about two inches of space between the edges. If you made each of the pieces a tad wider, you might be able to use hooks and eyes.
8/25/07 9:50 AM
chick3y said...
Wow! This sounds like a labor of love! This almost makes me wish I had somewhere to wear such a dress!!!
5/9/08 11:17 AM
MHW said...
Thanks for the pictures and the very detailed review Costume Queen. Your beautiful pictures gave me the inspiration I needed and my dress has turned out beautifully - just as well as I plan to use it for my Christmas wedding!
9/21/08 11:01 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great job on your first costume project, well done! Thanks for a detailed review too
2/23/09 6:27 PM
fourkid said...
I missed this first time you wrote about it - I am glad it was brought up to the front again - it is just beautiful!!!
2/23/09 8:36 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a nice looking costume! You did a great job!
2/25/09 5:38 PM
kirilee said...
Gorgeous costume mate! You are very right when you say even fun to look at. It is very well done! Two thumbs up from down under :P
3/19/09 9:30 PM
glenj said...
WOW.really can't say more than that
3/29/09 10:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 2874

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now