Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2005-130 - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1174 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Pattern Junkie
photo
About Pattern Junkie
CA USA
Member since: 6/8/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/06 1:00 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenka said...
hi :) I've also sewn this pattern, twice -- once for me in navy blue wool, and once for my sister in dark pink wool...I ALSO had a problem with the closure, both times, there ended up a ripple at the bottom (on the inside) that I couldn't really fix. So I think that it is the pattern, not you! You are right, no one can see this little ripple anyway, the skirt fits perfectly. if someone can figure out a trick to avoid the ripple...let us know! ;)
3/23/06 5:19 AM
jheralinn said...
Good Job! I'll have to look up this pattern.
3/23/06 7:17 AM
Deb Fox said...
This is your first WOF pattern? WOW! You did a fantastic job. These patterns are a bit more work to prepare, but aren't the results gorgeous? Your skirt is just beautiful and I'll have to look this up and maybe give it a try. I have just the perfect lightweight rose colored wool...
3/23/06 8:02 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! I've often looked at the line drawing for this skirt and thought I will make this one day..your review has prompted me to try this one too.
3/23/06 9:58 AM
redhead said...
Here's the line drawing link: http://www.burdamode.com/129_Mantel_130_Rock_Technische_Zeichnung,1270777-1000019-1252645-1252651-1252750-1252905,deDE.html I have not considered making this skirt, but I might now. Thanks for the review.
3/23/06 10:00 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I love the name of this skirt; it reminds me of the "banana seat" bicycles we used to ride as kids. Your skirt turned out fabulous. Thanks for the "heads up" about the piecing. I'm sure you'll save someone from ripping it out and starting over.
3/23/06 10:16 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Duplicate post (why does it do this?)
3/23/06 10:16 AM
Seamingly Simple said...

3/23/06 10:18 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely skirt, gorgeous buttons too ! I have my eye on this one as well.
3/23/06 12:06 PM
Speech girl said...
Very nice! The buttons really are a nice detail to your skirt. Thanks for the review--this skirt is on my list to sew!
3/23/06 2:42 PM
Jan B. said...
Very nice. Your fit looks great and those are seriously cute buttons. Thanks for the review of the moleskin--I'll have to add this to my list.
3/23/06 9:06 PM
slanden99 said...
Nice skirt!
3/24/06 10:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1182 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/16/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-7
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us