Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7428 (evening dresses) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1745 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/06 3:10 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leigh7911 said...
One of the *best* dressed, I'd say! How perfectly elegant. Good job with the cantalope covering =) And, good luck to your DD with the SAT.
1/21/06 3:26 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You know what they say about a red dress...you never forget it. ;) This one will be especially memorable. Great job.
1/21/06 3:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very classy dress -- your DD will be the envy of the other girls. I like the way you did the shirring -- I'll remember that. Your tale makes me nostalgic for the days when I made formals for my own DD, two of which are still hanging in her closet because I can't bring myself to part with them.
1/21/06 3:51 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful and I love the color
1/21/06 3:58 PM
Lori Sews said...
drSue, this is gorgeous! Your dd looks fantastic!
1/21/06 4:03 PM
Tini said...
wow, that is gorgeous.... if you ever want to sew this for me too, I'll email you my measurements ;) Good work on the shirring. I need to bookmark this review, to keep your instructions on hand
1/21/06 4:08 PM
PhyllisC said...
It's okay Mom - DD has a lovely back, which is a feature that is actually fairly rare IMO - she looks great!
1/21/06 5:08 PM
Frogstitcher said...
The dress is fabulous and your DD looks lovely in it.
1/21/06 5:19 PM
BjP said...
My favorite dance dresses were always red, so I enjoyed seeing this one. Lovely dress and thanks for all the tips on the shirring.
1/21/06 5:34 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a gorgeous dress for DD. Lucky girl, gets to wear a fabu red dress. Wishing her success with the SAT and the dance!
1/21/06 6:27 PM
MaryBeth said...
Pretty dress and daughter. She looks like a lady with class.
1/21/06 7:40 PM
KarmenG said...
DrSue the dress looks wonderful. Nice job.
1/21/06 7:41 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress. Happy your dd will have all the stressful events out of the way and can enjoy her dance.
1/21/06 9:38 PM
PegL said...
Very classy and elegant looking dress! Good tip on the shirring!
1/22/06 5:46 AM
SewVeryTall said...
oolala...gorgeous dress, and my favorite color :)
1/22/06 8:14 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job on this. She'll definitely be the Belle of the Ball. -Ann
1/22/06 8:56 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very helpful review, Sue. The dress is very elegant & your shirring method deserves a spot in the tips section. (I certainly had a good giggle over the "cantalopes"! 8^D)
1/22/06 11:22 AM
Ann Smith said...
Needless to say, this is one gorgeous dress.
1/22/06 12:49 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very lovely with a great fit and beautiful color. Remind her not to wear a bra the day of the dance so she doesn't have an indentation on her back.
1/22/06 5:19 PM
Liana said...
Very nice, and it fits so well. How nice to be able to dance, without worrying about "upsetting the fruit basket!" Great job!
1/22/06 9:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 2222
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/24/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-151 Girl's dress
photo
Review by KAHooke on 2/28/13
Read Review

Butterick 4946 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Butterick 4946 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7753 Pattern
Burda 7753 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us