Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3032 (Skirt with Flounce) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1495 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/06 0:58 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Such a lovely top! The fabric is really fantastic--how I envy you being so close to NYC and the "candy" stores. I don't know if we ever resolved it for certain, but there has been much discussion on the message boards about this particular wrinkle. Do a search for "above bust".
1/27/06 8:42 AM
mudcat said...
As far as the pulling...I have had this happen on less drapy knits (one side only). If it's consistently on one side and not the other it could be due to one side of the bust being slightly larger than the other. It could also be related to the way the sleeves are sewn on the flat since they are typically sewn in the opposite direction.
1/27/06 9:08 AM
Linda F said...
Great top! There could be several reasons for the wrinkle. I started a thread about this wrinkle when I saw it in a design in a Threads magazine. Georgene said it is because of the shoulder slope was not angled enough and this shows up under the arm. When I went back and checked my tops, changing the shoulder slope corrected the problem. But in your case it could be that one breast is larger than the other, or you could have one shoulder that slopes ever so slightly more than the other. Try hunching up the shoulder with the wrinkle and see if it disappears. If it does then possibly a shoulder slope correction on one side could correct the problem. As far as a correction for a FBA on one side only, I am wondering if adjusting the shoulder slope like that could also take away the wrinkle because wouldn't it be like taking some dart intake up to the shoulder? That is just a wild, wild guess. But if you do adjust for the shoulder slope and lower it by say .50, the key is to lower the bottom of the armhole by the same .50 so that the armhole stays the same size for the sleeve. Unfortunately our bodies are not symmetrical. The mystery is why does it show up on some outfits and not all of them. The top looks fantastic and that one little wrinkle dwarfs in comparison to the great fit you have everywhere else! I hope this helps. I am sorry for the lengthy comment, I had no idea I was writing this much!
1/27/06 10:56 AM
CarolynD said...
Thanks for the comments everyone! I have afriend who is a pattenmaker for a womenswerar company--i will give her a call and report back.
1/27/06 11:15 AM
Irene said...
This is lovely! Since this pattern is for a sleeveless top, I'm wondering how you changed the armscye to match the pattern from which you borrowed the sleeve. As drafted, this sleeveless knit top does have an extra "pouch" (gape) at the lower armscye (I believe that this was noted by Gorgeous Things in her review, and it showed up in the top I made). When attached to a sleeve, I'd expect it to turn into the drag lines on your top.
1/27/06 12:37 PM
CarolynD said...
It is weird-it absolutely did not happen on the last version i did of this top using a stretchier and less elastic fabric. The sleeve was from another kwik sew and the armholes looked to be about the same size so i just stuck the sleeve in. (beginner's logic)I am waiting to hear back from my friend the patternmaker. In the meantime Iwill re-do the sleeve and see if that helps.
1/27/06 1:45 PM
Trinity. said...
Very gorgeous top. I do wish I could get myself to NYC for some serious shopping. I get those draglines on every knit top I make. I'm going to try Georgene's idea of correcting for sloping shoulder.
1/27/06 3:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Love your top. Great fabric.
1/28/06 7:48 AM
Joni2 said...
It looks great on you. You might try Kwik Sew 2756. It has a similar neckline with sleeves, and the one I made in a double knit turned out beautifully.
1/28/06 11:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 5520 Knight Costume
photo
Review by migander on 11/6/09
Read Review

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other MailOrder705
photo
Review by Andreahg on 7/8/10
Read Review

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us