SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> KnipMode Magazine> 8/2005 (Gathered V-neck #9a)

100 more reviews
Viewed 1062 times 
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo

 
 
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/06 9:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elizajo said...
Cute top! The gathering and v-neck band are very flattering. I wish there was a comparable pattern from a U.S. company.
2/4/06 9:41 AM
BeckyC said...
Very cute top, it looks great on you! I'm happy you pressed on, especially with the help of Karla and Ardis.
2/4/06 9:43 AM
mamakooz said...
Cute top! Looks great on you!
2/4/06 10:22 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love this top Katharine, and I was *just* contemplating this very thing last night. How timely!! Thank you, thank you!
2/4/06 10:24 AM
Debbie Cook said...
P.S. I can't see the two pattern photos, getting a "Page Not Found."
2/4/06 10:28 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This is a great looking top. Thanks for the tips and ideas in your review.
2/4/06 10:30 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh no, Debbie! I'll go back and fix it (and the 2 other reviews I posted today)
2/4/06 10:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks beautiful with the gathering. Karla and Ardis are always very helpful. I especially like the color with your hair color.
2/4/06 10:58 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks Katharine -- I can see them now.
2/4/06 11:06 AM
touran said...
Very pretty. It's such a cool detail.
2/4/06 11:53 AM
seKimberlyso said...
WOW! Great Job.
2/4/06 12:10 PM
bunz said...
Looks great! Thanks for the tip on altering another pattern.
2/4/06 12:44 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Very cute and classic top ... I see this as a wardrobe staple with lots of pssibilities!
2/4/06 1:06 PM
Sewliz said...
That looks very nice! I like the gathers coming from the binding. Your top is better than the magazine's.
2/4/06 4:11 PM
KathleenS said...
As soon as I saw your project photo, I thought what a current style this is. Thanks for the tips on DIY.
2/4/06 5:43 PM
Kira R said...
Absolutely lovely ... I have a RTW just like this in rayon jersey, very comfortable. Wore it into fadedom. Wish we could get KnipMode as easily as Burda WOF :)
2/4/06 6:47 PM
kv said...
Gevaldige, Katharine!
2/4/06 8:15 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Kira, what a good idea. I added that info in. Thanks everyone else! Lorna, I should make this into a staple. It's a fun staple at that.
2/5/06 1:33 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute top, Katharine...I love red! Thanks for the "credit", but I think you're the one who really figured this out. I actually imagined that the band on the V-neck ran further down the front, so you could run those gathers down lower [like right between the twins]. It's fun to see this top we were talking about.

I like to gather by zigzagging over a 'string' too...for future reference, it doesn't have to be gimp. It can be thin crochet yarn/thread, or thin string, or even dental floss. A few strands of regular sewing thread twisted together would work too. I use the widest and longest zigzag stitch on my machine [4mm by 4mm].
2/6/06 9:40 AM

Katharine in BXL said...
Ardis, I can find dental floss here easily, so I'll try that gathering method! :)
2/26/06 8:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick b5592

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
StyleArc Celine Dress

photo
by: apoxia

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now