SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7221 (skirt & blouse) 

Viewed 1386 times 
Reviewed by:zeoplum
photo

 
 
About zeoplumstar
AL USA
Member since: 7/1/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/06 1:34 AM
Last Updated:8/15/13 9:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori Sews said...
Stephanie, I can't believe I missed this review. The fabric is pretty, and I loved your funny and helpful review. :)
2/8/06 3:23 PM
LCT56 said...
Your fabric is great, and this outfit is so fixable. If you cut off a few inches at the top of the skirt, make deeper side seams, and then make a new casing for the elastic, it will be really flattering. Then pin the side seams from the hem almost to the sleeve hems so that the top fits much closer. Then mark where you've pinned (with chalk or a light-color pencil), and then sew it on the new lines you've marked. You will only need to remove the hem for a few inches on each side. One idea you may want to try sounds strange, but it really helps to change that "straight across the hips" look of a top. If your top has a little extra fullness at the hip, you can take a credit card or a small Formica countertop sample piece (these are free at Lowe's or Home Depot, hanging on a board in the cabinet department) and put this under your fabric about 2 inches from the bottom and about 5-6 inches from your side seam. Then take an elastic hair band (or even a rubber band) and wrap this around the little rectangular piece until it's tight. This will make the hemline curve upward, and there will be drapey folds of fabric radiating from that point. This sounds complicated, but it looks really neat. I do this a lot with plain cotton T-shirts that are a little too large, and it turns a plain shirt into something that fits and looks better! All of this will probably take you under an hour, and you will have saved your cute fabric and have a really attractive outfit.
2/8/06 10:00 AM
KatyaInMA said...
Looking at the pattern information, I get the impression that it will result in a loose fit. Personally, I like these kinds of clothes for lounging around the house because they are comfortable, while not necessarily the most flattering. You might want to look for patterns that have darts in the top and skirt for a more fitted look. In general, the quick 2 hour patterns don't really have such a precise fit and tend to have lots of ease in them. In any case, I think that if you shorten the sleeves, you have a great outfit to lounge in - so it's really not a wadder.
2/8/06 9:39 AM
PJS said...
I love the fabric. I always check the finished garment measurements. I don't know how tall you are, but look for patterns that have petite lines.
2/8/06 0:37 AM
kv said...
Zeo, I have found that the more info the pattern gives you in terms of body measurements, the easier it is to fit. That means that using Burda patterns and checking your measurements against their chart will cut out about 99% of the goof factor. How on earth can we be expected to fit anything without a reference point??? That's why I like Burda. They give it. Try one for yourself and see. Also, they are more close-fitting and that is usually more flattering than the tents or giant gunny sack.
2/7/06 7:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like the fabric, and that sassy look on your face. Let me translate. 2-hour = Very bad fit. I see you learned that lesson. Time to move on to a great fitting, figure flaunting outfit. I can't wait to see what you do next. Thanks for saving the rest of us from this terrible pattern.
2/7/06 4:46 PM
slanden99 said...
I'd probably either use this outfit as scrap fabric or take all the seams in by at least 2 inches. My first patterns had no alterations either, and fit my horribly, but I wore them anyway because I spent so much time on them. Thanks for the reminder to fit first and fit as you go.
2/7/06 1:02 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
We all have done something like this. But - the fabric is cute, why don't you just cut out the fabric you can use and keep that.
2/7/06 10:49 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
As AnneM said, it's not awful, just ginormous. You have a great attitude though.
2/7/06 9:21 AM
AnneM said...
I love your fabric. The skirt doesn't look too bad. The top looks nice, just huge. And it looks comfy. I got myself one of those chalk-sprayers to mark an even line from the ground (or I get my DH to measure). Of course, you would do this after letting hang overnight or more.
2/7/06 8:31 AM
Sewliz said...
Hey, I sort of miss the 80's thing, many of the clothes were so comfortable and not all unattractive. Actually I think your outfit looks pretty good for the pattern used. Consider it a useful learning tool for fitting. Bias skirts are great to wear but they do have that initial growing period that foils hemming. Maybe you could trim and re-hem the skirt and wear it with a solid color top? And turn the top into a tank or such to wear with a solid bottom. Yeah, this from a gal who can't dress herself! Love your cute shoes!
2/7/06 8:26 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I like your fabric choice, and making all 3 pieces to match. Maybe you can take it in and still have an outfit you love.
2/7/06 8:19 AM
mamakooz said...
The fabric is cute though!!! Thank you for the review. Sorry that it didn't work.
2/7/06 7:40 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Thank you for this review. I have this pattern and was eyeing it for summer stuff. I will probably wrap the garbage with it now. I'm sorry it turned out so badly for you, but you will prevent other folks from having disasters. Good on ya!
2/7/06 2:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 1799

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now