Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8215 (skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1101 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Pam in Amsterdam
photo
Friend of PR
About Pam in Amsterdam
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 5/5/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/06 8:12 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
Beautiful skirt! I love the way it drapes. Which issue of WOF did you get the pattern from (a lot of us have a stash of old issues)? By the way, I think you mean "muslin" not "calico". A muslin is a test garmet made with cheap fabric (or an ivory or white cotton) while a calico is a cotton fabric with a small scale, old fashion design.
2/22/06 11:21 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful skirt, I love the way it drapes and flares. Lovely job.
2/22/06 3:36 PM
katynairn said...
I've heard a "calico" used as a practise version - "Calico" over here is the fabric that is "muslin" in the US; and "calico" is what burda use to describe a suitable fabric for practise versions.......
2/22/06 4:03 PM
Ruth C said...
Katynairn--interesting how crossing the ocean changes our sewing terms!
2/22/06 6:37 PM
Peggy said...
This skirt is lovely and has such style. Did you make it the same length as the pattern called for?
2/23/06 0:04 AM
slanden99 said...
That fabric is gorgeous!
2/23/06 2:42 PM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
You are right Ruth C, first there was a test garment, muslin. I think, the cotton fabric to make a muslin is called calico, that's my problem speaking English ...Anyway, my test was fabric used for bed sheets, red colour! Burda recommend lightweight wool as fashion fabric. IMO wool gabardine will do too. Length of the skirt is 85 cms. The jacket belonging to this skirt is a cover picture of WOF Burda issue 03/1996 model number 101 BUT, first I've to teach it well using Tailoring Jackets CD by Kenneth D King. Last week I've got the CD. Did anyone of you made it from calico/muslin first? I think this wouldn't fit properly, using another thin fabric..
2/24/06 3:23 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely skirt, beautiful job.
2/24/06 3:27 AM
AnneM said...
Sometimes placing a zipper by hand is easier, isn't it! Nice skirt.
2/24/06 9:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2007-11 Hooded Sweater
photo
Review by mrsanniep on 10/20/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2013-17 Beckie
photo
Review by Amanda.Cla... on 6/28/13
Read Review

Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4386 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 4386 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us