SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9693 

9 more reviews
Viewed 1031 times 
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/06 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lhan said...
Thanks very much for the very helpful comments folks. Mini your point about adjusting for swayback is spot on - my next thing to accomplish in sewing is to get to grips with proper fitting, so this is an excellent place to start. Your idea slanden99 is interesting - I know I tend to use patterns that are if anything too big, out of fear of things being too tight. Probably the opposite to what I need to do. We live and learn. Cheers!
3/1/06 5:42 AM
inkyannie said...
Very nice. I like the collarless idea. I have had some enlightening experiences about my shape also. No so good.
2/26/06 5:54 PM
slanden99 said...
The front looks pretty good on you in the picture. I think you would have better luck with the back if you started with a smaller size and widened at the waist and hips. You'll also want to consider whether you need to shorten the length of the shirt so the shirt waist and your waist are in the same place. HTH
2/26/06 1:10 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for the review, this looks like an elegantly simple design. The back fitting problem is one of the most common, and very easy to fix. Many women find that the back length from the neck to waist is too long on standard misses patterns. This means that your own waist, and the point where your (inward) waist curve reverses to become your (outward) bottom curve, are not where the pattern drafters assumed they would be. For most women, it should be a bit further up on the pattern. If you look up "swayback" adjustment in a fitting book or sewing site, you see how simple this is to fix. It is really just measuring your own back length accurately, and adjusting the pattern so that the back waist and maximum dart curvature end up in the right spot for your figure. Once you have one pattern adjusted, you can use it as a template for the rest.
2/26/06 10:56 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your top looks so nice on you! I really like this style.
2/26/06 10:51 AM
Nata said...
Front fits you beautifully, as it was drafted for you! Good luck with tweaking the back.
2/26/06 8:28 AM
pbrenneraz said...
Lhan - thanks so much for reviewing this pattern. I have it and have wanted to make it up in a very similar fabric (ivory embroidered linen). I have resisted making it because I didn't like that back tie, but I have similar adiposal issues, haha (though mine are bigger :-) ). I'll try it with the tie to try and distract from that!
2/26/06 1:22 AM
Lori V said...
Looks like a very pretty shirt.
2/25/06 10:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Simplicity 2312

photo
by: CaitlinH

Review
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

More Info