Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9693 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1027 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/06 9:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Looks like a very pretty shirt.
2/25/06 10:25 PM
pbrenneraz said...
Lhan - thanks so much for reviewing this pattern. I have it and have wanted to make it up in a very similar fabric (ivory embroidered linen). I have resisted making it because I didn't like that back tie, but I have similar adiposal issues, haha (though mine are bigger :-) ). I'll try it with the tie to try and distract from that!
2/26/06 1:22 AM
Nata said...
Front fits you beautifully, as it was drafted for you! Good luck with tweaking the back.
2/26/06 8:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your top looks so nice on you! I really like this style.
2/26/06 10:51 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for the review, this looks like an elegantly simple design. The back fitting problem is one of the most common, and very easy to fix. Many women find that the back length from the neck to waist is too long on standard misses patterns. This means that your own waist, and the point where your (inward) waist curve reverses to become your (outward) bottom curve, are not where the pattern drafters assumed they would be. For most women, it should be a bit further up on the pattern. If you look up "swayback" adjustment in a fitting book or sewing site, you see how simple this is to fix. It is really just measuring your own back length accurately, and adjusting the pattern so that the back waist and maximum dart curvature end up in the right spot for your figure. Once you have one pattern adjusted, you can use it as a template for the rest.
2/26/06 10:56 AM
slanden99 said...
The front looks pretty good on you in the picture. I think you would have better luck with the back if you started with a smaller size and widened at the waist and hips. You'll also want to consider whether you need to shorten the length of the shirt so the shirt waist and your waist are in the same place. HTH
2/26/06 1:10 PM
inkyannie said...
Very nice. I like the collarless idea. I have had some enlightening experiences about my shape also. No so good.
2/26/06 5:54 PM
Lhan said...
Thanks very much for the very helpful comments folks. Mini your point about adjusting for swayback is spot on - my next thing to accomplish in sewing is to get to grips with proper fitting, so this is an excellent place to start. Your idea slanden99 is interesting - I know I tend to use patterns that are if anything too big, out of fear of things being too tight. Probably the opposite to what I need to do. We live and learn. Cheers!
3/1/06 5:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1182 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/16/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-7
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us