Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2454 - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 883 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/06 2:21 PM
Last Updated:3/11/06 2:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GoSewGirl said...
This is a really nice pattern! And you made a really nice jacket. It's hard to guess when it came out, because it seems very classic! However, for the year it was printed, check the back of the envelope along the left hand side. Next to the Vogue Pattern Service printing there should be some small writing and next to the copyright symbol (tiny) is the year it was printed! It's usually small, but it should be there!
3/11/06 3:21 PM
carolynw said...
GoSewGirl: Thanks for that info - I searched very carefully but did not find any date but will keep looking - as you say - it should be there - I may just be missing it.
3/11/06 6:29 PM
mClones said...
I love this fabric. I didn't realize this was a jacket at first and thought that you could probably go down a size on the shoulders and also get a closer fit at the bust. I'd like to see the sleeve tucks in detail. It's a beautiful garment.
3/11/06 7:28 PM
GoSewGirl said...
OK. I know I'm nuts, but the copyright thing was bugging me - I just did a search. I found one on ebay that says the copyright was 2000. Does that sound about right? In any case, I really like your jacket - and the pants too! Thanks for the review.
3/11/06 7:52 PM
carolynw said...
Hi Mclones: It does look quite loose in the photo but isn't really so baggy - it's more of a shirt jacket than a structured jacket. I am "redesigning" myself - have been wearing baggy stuff for a long time (poor body image) - am now starting to get into more fitted styles but for a while it is going to be kind of an in between thing - keep tabs on me and let me know how I do - it will be truly appreciated.
3/11/06 10:51 PM
carolynw said...
GoSewGirl: 2000 is probably it - my goodness - about 6 years in the stash - is that a record or what?? Thanks for finding the info - was driving me kind of nuts too.
3/11/06 10:55 PM
Irene Q said...
6 years? Why, that's only gently aged! :-) Beautiful jacket, and a classic style. Fits great, too!
3/12/06 12:29 PM
slanden99 said...
I really like the fabric you chose. Your jacket looks great
3/13/06 9:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8495
photo
Review by Mari Jo on 11/30/08
Read Review

Butterick 5466 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5466 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2551 Pattern( Size ONE-SIZE )
Simplicity 2551 Pattern( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7104 Maternity Tops
photo
Review by Byrdie on 7/16/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us