SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> Easy Fashion 06 (Modified tunic/tiered skirt)

Viewed 1011 times 
Reviewed by:jheralinn
photo

 
 
About jheralinn
NH USA
Member since: 1/23/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/06 1:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Very nice job, and two clever ideas to eliminate the zipper and make a dress from the two parts! It is a lovely dress. Looks so nice and Springlike as well. :)
3/19/06 1:16 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, what a great dress!
3/19/06 1:30 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely dress. I'm sure you look stunning in it. Very nice.
3/19/06 1:37 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely dress, what a cool idea. I am messing with fabrics today, trying to put together tunic tops and tiered skirts. Question, did you just lengthen the yoke? How did you get it to match tunic hem width, maybe just widened yoke to match tunic hem? as yoke is so fitted. Is yoke a little "gathered" to match top hem? The gathered skirts take up sooooo much fabric and I want to make tops from the fabric too ! I wonder what the rule is, how much gather is necesssary for the skirt. I think I can get away with far less. Any ideas ?
3/19/06 3:35 PM
KrystalL said...
That was a neat idea to combine the tunic and the skirt. You came out with great results. And I love the fabric for this dress. Looks like you're ready for the summer!
3/19/06 5:35 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Very cute! Thanks for the idea!
3/20/06 1:32 AM
AnneM said...
Pretty dress. I haven't tried the magazines; it would be interesting to try this.
3/20/06 8:15 AM
Dmd4106 said...
what a pretty dress. I bet it will be cool & comfy for the summer.
3/20/06 9:13 AM
Ceri590 said...
Reminds of dresses sold by April Cornell. Great job!
3/20/06 10:28 AM
jheralinn said...
Reply to HawkeMorningStar7-- I completely eliminated the skirt yoke. The tunic hem was at the same spot the skirt yoke would have attached to the first segment of the skirt. I just cut this the width (60) of the fabric and gathered to the hem of the tunic, probably about 1 1/2 the width of the tunic hem. The bottom layer is 2x the first tier of the skirt. A lot of fuller. I don't know what the rule is, but I would definitely go one and a half to twice the width for gathers.
3/20/06 1:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 1225

photo
by: Marge99

Review
Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: jlg

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now