SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2006-111 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1024 times 
Reviewed by:jacalhoun
photo

 
 
About jacalhounstarstar
PA
Member since: 9/6/04
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/06 2:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jacalhoun said...
Wow, thanks everyone, for the wonderful comments! Peggy L, THANK YOU for the "no waist" adjustment directions. That sure seems easy to do. Now I won't be afraid to do more skirts. touran, no, I won't be making the jacket. First, I NEVER wear jackets. Second, I think that particular style would look awfully boxy and shapeless on my figure. Katharine, I haven't actually worn this skirt anywhere yet, other than to take the picture, so I don't know if there's any gaposis, but there's about a 3" overlap, so even if the buttons gape a bit, it wouldn't show anything.
3/24/06 8:59 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thank you thank you thank you for posting this! What a great idea in denim, and frankly your version is more slimming than the original. Great idea to make it as a seperate, and even better as a denim skirt. Looks great! Is there any gaposis when sitting?
3/24/06 8:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice skirt. Like the topstitching.
3/24/06 5:28 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think you've done a fabulous job.
3/24/06 1:00 AM
Mariko said...
I love the style! Very cute on you. Since I have not subscribed the magazine yet, I need to buy this issue from a seller in London again!
3/24/06 0:51 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
One kewl skirt, love the topstitching. I'll have to try this one too.
3/23/06 6:09 PM
joyoussprite said...
Cute, cute, cute.
3/23/06 5:14 PM
BjP said...
Wow - I love this! Great job! I bet you will really wear this a lot since it looks wonderful on you.
3/23/06 4:45 PM
Sweeta said...
Nice! Pretty buttons, and nice job on top stitching! I'll look up this pattern in my Burda tonight.
3/23/06 3:41 PM
MickeyFan said...
That is so cute! You've inspired me to give this on a try.
3/23/06 3:28 PM
touran said...
Very nice. You're right - it's the perfect pattern for denim. Have you thought making the matching jacket from denim also? They'd look great together.
3/23/06 3:19 PM
Peggy L said...
Very cute! Your topstitching looks really nice. I do that "no waist" adjustment all the time!!! Measure the skirt waist versus your waist (plus ease) divide by 4 and add that amount to each side seam. This is for standard skirt. I've always heard you don't add to the center front or back. HTH
3/23/06 3:17 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jess, your skirt is fine, I think it might be a good thing that you didn't put those buttons so wide apart, it could've made you look wider, congrats!!! :-) Marita
3/23/06 3:13 PM
starchildmom said...
Nice! Your description of the skirt is better than the magazine. I mught have to give this skirt a try.
3/23/06 2:53 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice skirt! Looks very well made and good on you.
3/23/06 2:44 PM
Speech girl said...
Very cute skirt! Now I really wish my issue would arrive.
3/23/06 2:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

McCall's 3393

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: WhiteMouse

Review