Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2006-111 - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1024 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:jacalhoun
photo
About jacalhounstarstar
PA
Member since: 9/6/04
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/06 2:30 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Very cute skirt! Now I really wish my issue would arrive.
3/23/06 2:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice skirt! Looks very well made and good on you.
3/23/06 2:44 PM
starchildmom said...
Nice! Your description of the skirt is better than the magazine. I mught have to give this skirt a try.
3/23/06 2:53 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jess, your skirt is fine, I think it might be a good thing that you didn't put those buttons so wide apart, it could've made you look wider, congrats!!! :-) Marita
3/23/06 3:13 PM
Peggy L said...
Very cute! Your topstitching looks really nice. I do that "no waist" adjustment all the time!!! Measure the skirt waist versus your waist (plus ease) divide by 4 and add that amount to each side seam. This is for standard skirt. I've always heard you don't add to the center front or back. HTH
3/23/06 3:17 PM
touran said...
Very nice. You're right - it's the perfect pattern for denim. Have you thought making the matching jacket from denim also? They'd look great together.
3/23/06 3:19 PM
MickeyFan said...
That is so cute! You've inspired me to give this on a try.
3/23/06 3:28 PM
Sweeta said...
Nice! Pretty buttons, and nice job on top stitching! I'll look up this pattern in my Burda tonight.
3/23/06 3:41 PM
BjP said...
Wow - I love this! Great job! I bet you will really wear this a lot since it looks wonderful on you.
3/23/06 4:45 PM
joyoussprite said...
Cute, cute, cute.
3/23/06 5:14 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
One kewl skirt, love the topstitching. I'll have to try this one too.
3/23/06 6:09 PM
Mariko said...
I love the style! Very cute on you. Since I have not subscribed the magazine yet, I need to buy this issue from a seller in London again!
3/24/06 0:51 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think you've done a fabulous job.
3/24/06 1:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice skirt. Like the topstitching.
3/24/06 5:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thank you thank you thank you for posting this! What a great idea in denim, and frankly your version is more slimming than the original. Great idea to make it as a seperate, and even better as a denim skirt. Looks great! Is there any gaposis when sitting?
3/24/06 8:51 AM
jacalhoun said...
Wow, thanks everyone, for the wonderful comments! Peggy L, THANK YOU for the "no waist" adjustment directions. That sure seems easy to do. Now I won't be afraid to do more skirts. touran, no, I won't be making the jacket. First, I NEVER wear jackets. Second, I think that particular style would look awfully boxy and shapeless on my figure. Katharine, I haven't actually worn this skirt anywhere yet, other than to take the picture, so I don't know if there's any gaposis, but there's about a 3" overlap, so even if the buttons gape a bit, it wouldn't show anything.
3/24/06 8:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 8550
photo
Review by ShereeSews on 6/17/03
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by laurajanef... on 11/21/13
Read Review

Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us