SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2006-111 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1024 times 
Reviewed by:jacalhoun
photo

 
 
About jacalhounstarstar
PA
Member since: 9/6/04
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/06 2:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Very cute skirt! Now I really wish my issue would arrive.
3/23/06 2:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice skirt! Looks very well made and good on you.
3/23/06 2:44 PM
starchildmom said...
Nice! Your description of the skirt is better than the magazine. I mught have to give this skirt a try.
3/23/06 2:53 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jess, your skirt is fine, I think it might be a good thing that you didn't put those buttons so wide apart, it could've made you look wider, congrats!!! :-) Marita
3/23/06 3:13 PM
Peggy L said...
Very cute! Your topstitching looks really nice. I do that "no waist" adjustment all the time!!! Measure the skirt waist versus your waist (plus ease) divide by 4 and add that amount to each side seam. This is for standard skirt. I've always heard you don't add to the center front or back. HTH
3/23/06 3:17 PM
touran said...
Very nice. You're right - it's the perfect pattern for denim. Have you thought making the matching jacket from denim also? They'd look great together.
3/23/06 3:19 PM
MickeyFan said...
That is so cute! You've inspired me to give this on a try.
3/23/06 3:28 PM
Sweeta said...
Nice! Pretty buttons, and nice job on top stitching! I'll look up this pattern in my Burda tonight.
3/23/06 3:41 PM
BjP said...
Wow - I love this! Great job! I bet you will really wear this a lot since it looks wonderful on you.
3/23/06 4:45 PM
joyoussprite said...
Cute, cute, cute.
3/23/06 5:14 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
One kewl skirt, love the topstitching. I'll have to try this one too.
3/23/06 6:09 PM
Mariko said...
I love the style! Very cute on you. Since I have not subscribed the magazine yet, I need to buy this issue from a seller in London again!
3/24/06 0:51 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think you've done a fabulous job.
3/24/06 1:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice skirt. Like the topstitching.
3/24/06 5:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thank you thank you thank you for posting this! What a great idea in denim, and frankly your version is more slimming than the original. Great idea to make it as a seperate, and even better as a denim skirt. Looks great! Is there any gaposis when sitting?
3/24/06 8:51 AM
jacalhoun said...
Wow, thanks everyone, for the wonderful comments! Peggy L, THANK YOU for the "no waist" adjustment directions. That sure seems easy to do. Now I won't be afraid to do more skirts. touran, no, I won't be making the jacket. First, I NEVER wear jackets. Second, I think that particular style would look awfully boxy and shapeless on my figure. Katharine, I haven't actually worn this skirt anywhere yet, other than to take the picture, so I don't know if there's any gaposis, but there's about a 3" overlap, so even if the buttons gape a bit, it wouldn't show anything.
3/24/06 8:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6461

photo
by: PatW

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now