SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1099 (Plain & Simple Princess Shirt)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1837 times 
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo

 
 
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/06 12:04 PM
Last Updated:3/24/06 1:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! It looks very professional.
3/24/06 12:11 PM
Ousa said...
What a great looking blouse! I LOVE the style of it! Thanks for the collar description too! ~Ousa
3/24/06 12:13 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Another lovely version of this top, but I think the hassles are nto worth it ... I will try my Marfy first and see if I like that one better. But I really like how you pulled it off!
3/24/06 12:21 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Your blouse looks great, Tara! Thanks for the description of the collar.
3/24/06 12:27 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your version is just lovely. I love how your collar turned out. I also found Kwik Sew instructions helpful.
3/24/06 12:48 PM
touran said...
Very beautiful. The collar turned out very well.
3/24/06 1:24 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Beautiful version of this!
3/24/06 1:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
My HP shirt (short-sleeved) is almost finished, and I like it so much I've been digging through the stash to find other fabric candidates for it. Your version looks great.
3/24/06 1:41 PM
PhyllisC said...
Yep - I might need this one too! Great review.
3/24/06 1:55 PM
Deb Fox said...
Just beautiful.
3/24/06 1:57 PM
beangirl said...
Lovely! Yours fits much better than mine (er... because you wear about ten sizes smaller than I do LOL) Very nice work, thanks for the review. ETA: I don't think this one is probably any more difficult that any other, it's just that the instructions are stuck in between Marfy (having none) or Big4/KS (having illustrations). For instance (Lorna's comment above) if you can do a Marfy with literally no instructions this one won't be any more difficult because you'll just do everything the way you personally prefer to do it. :-) IMHO.
3/24/06 2:19 PM
mirielgw said...
Very nice looking shirt! :)
3/24/06 3:09 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty and professional looking.
3/24/06 4:23 PM
badgal said...
Looks pretty darn good for a muslin!
3/24/06 4:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your shirt turned out just lovely. I'll be starting my second one (short-sleeved) very soon.
3/24/06 4:50 PM
Tailypo said...
Once again, the end results of an HP pattern appear to be worth the struggle! Fantastic shirt. I love it!
3/24/06 6:24 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely shirt!
3/24/06 6:48 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful blouse! It looks fantastic on you.
3/24/06 7:51 PM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely work! It looks so good on you. Your fabric choice really works with this pattern.
3/25/06 8:48 AM
AnneM said...
I hope that picture is at the faric shop & not your house, with all those bolts of fabric! ;) I like your top. I'm seriously considering getting this pattern; thanks for the review.
3/25/06 9:36 AM
Tarawebster said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. AnneM, yes this photo was taken at the fabric store. I wanted to get a photo that would show the collar and the light in my home wasn't doing the trick (and it was raining outside), so I took it to the studio at Stonemountain and Daughter and used their very well lit room. The upstairs is an entire floor of sale fabric, all half price. They put really good quality fabric up there to make room for new fabric in the main two rooms downstairs. NAYY, just an amazing store, that I feel extremely fortunate to have only ten minutes from home. I've got another of these cut out in my fashion fabric, and am almost finished sewing the plain and simple A line skirt from hotpatterns. I'll post that review as soon as it's done. I'm on a hotpatterns roll. I learn so much when I make one of their patterns. They are frustrating only because they are challenging, and challenges are the only way I learn new skills. I figure if I start with the simpler ones, I'll work my up to the Patchouli dress, which I'm really wanting to make!
3/26/06 3:09 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very nice!
3/26/06 6:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2312

photo
by: CaitlinH

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2248

photo
by: jxncait

Review