SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7856 

6 more reviews
Viewed 2110 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/06 5:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lesley said...
Absolutely love the colours and fabric, thankyou very helpful review.
9/12/08 9:07 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Thank you for all the details. What made the Review of this pattern POP -- was adding those two pix of the side and back... I could almost see you dancing to a great Summer Tune! I so agree about some of the bizarre seaming Vogue puts into the "easy" patterns--unduly complicated for "no appartent reason" from a structural viewpoint! Hugs and keep on sewing!
5/4/08 11:31 PM
Marji said...
I love this in the dupioni, and I love the length. I've got this pattern, only have been trying to figure out how to cut the side piece so that the length is longer on the side.
4/22/07 8:43 AM
julesberry said...
Thanks for all the comments, and helpful tips for how to interface silk. As for the "crisp" dupioni silk. I am not sure what "crisp" means, but once I washed the fabric (cold, with liquid soap stuff (Japanese) in the washing machine) it became softer. Perhaps the fabric I have wasn't particularly "crisp" dupioni to start with. The shine goes away a bit when you wash it, which is probably a good thing, as I think it makes it more every day wearable. Poor lovely husband being flailed for making witty comments!
4/18/06 7:17 PM
MaryBeth said...
Not to be mean or anything but your dear Husband doesn't know squat about flab nor tablecloths! This skirt is divinely inspired. I hope to be making this skirt for the summer and the dupioni you've used is a hit with me!
4/18/06 3:56 PM
Pecan said...
oh, really love this....great fabric and colors
4/18/06 1:34 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Flabby?!? Make his cycling pants just a wee bit smaller next time, and tell him you can't understand why he's not comfy, as they're EXACTLY the same size as always :-)...

Kidding aside, I'm glad the newspaper trick worked for you. And wow, what a result! I also would never have thought to use a crisp fabric like dupioni for such a loose flowing skirt, but you're proving the opposite with a bang. And you know, flowing in action is really haute couture :-), so pat yourself on the back.

Ah, and you might want to use a lightweight woven such as organza to interface a facing like this - the facing won't show through. Although watch for a single line of serging at the edge - if that might be a problem, you can sew the edges of the facing and organza together on the right side with a straight stitch, press open, and use the facing with only that very clean edge. If push comes to shove, you could use a double layer of organza as a facing, but I don't think dupioni would warrant that. Also, facings are often drafted very skimpily by major companies as they're trying to pretend their designs don't take as much fabric as they do - if you add a few inches in width, you'll probably get past the pressure point and have any edge hang perfectly unseen.
4/18/06 11:32 AM

slanden99 said...
Nice fabric choices-it really compliments the style well. Looks great on you too
4/18/06 9:44 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I love your fabric choices - looks really, really good with this style. The style looks wonderful on you!
4/18/06 9:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
Flab? What flab? (DH's own attention to fitness is clouding his judgment.) Oh, and I love the skirt.
4/18/06 8:59 AM
Lhan said...
Just gorgeous! As ever. Two of my favorites - silk, and rich colours. I too would have thought the dupioni too crisp for this, but it obviously works. Did you soften it with anything? The "white vinegar rinse" has worked for me in the past, but it is still a bit crisper than this looks. Glad to see you wash it in a washing machine! I love silk but I can't stand babying it. Life is too short for handwashing and too precious for drycleaning. I too have had trouble with interfacing dupioni, and I think I might use a lining fabric for facings next time I try it, rather than self-fabric. It is quite a bulky texture. Thanks for your review (and we have all ganged up on your DH - no taste and no appreciation. Its on the Y chromosome.).
4/18/06 7:00 AM
SewTwin said...
Julesberry, I don't usually comment on "Artististic Type Garments".Yours is worthy of praise! This reminds me of a ensemble I have seen in high-fashion windows for a gallery opening, or the opera!The metallic colours resemble gems, and I imagine it would swirl very well, also.As for DH's, when they can sew or design a garment, "Then" they can be our advisors, HA! Go for it, girl! Apparently, you have several PR'ers attention!
4/18/06 3:19 AM
sew2little said...
I never would have chosen a "crisp" fabric for this pattern, but this shows how wrongheaded that decision would have been. Your skirt is striking and a wonderful example of fabric combining--a difficult concept to master. Bravo!
4/17/06 8:52 PM
Deb Bee said...
Great interpretation of an interesting pattern! Your choice of fabric and colors is gorgeous. Aren't husbands great? What flab??? You look great.
4/17/06 7:14 PM
Elona said...
What a striking skirt! As to the facing, and your dh's comment about the 'flabby belly," I don't think you HAVE any flab anywhere!
4/17/06 2:21 PM
carnelian said...
Your choices of color and fabric were inspired. So gorgeous it's wearable art!
4/17/06 1:31 PM
kiddo said...
Fab skirt! The pattern drawing does not do justice to your photo.
4/17/06 1:24 PM
SarahWeb said...
Wow. I do believe this skirt is especially beautiful "in motion", but even in a still pic it is gorgeous. I especially like the back. (Flabby belly? You've got to be kidding. Perhaps you need a new photographer.)
4/17/06 12:54 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great skirt. The colors sing to me.
4/17/06 12:45 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Gorgeous fabrics, beautiful together. I am in love with silk dupioni. Yes maybe a petersham waist facing. Give DH a smack from me...tablecloth indeed !!. (Mine often says..hmmm what sofa are you going to upholster with that..eeeek)
4/17/06 11:16 AM
wvsher said...
Very cool skirt!
4/17/06 10:07 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - pretty fabric!
4/17/06 9:28 AM
Ceri590 said...
Love, love, love. I never would have considered this from looking at the pattern envelope, but yours is stunning! Thanks!
4/17/06 9:03 AM
Sewliz said...
Beautiful skirt! The dupioni works really well. I like your length much better than the pattern picture. If you don't like the facing you could do a bias bound waist finish instead.
4/17/06 8:06 AM
lazylol said...
I love the fabric and colours you have used - beautiful!
4/17/06 7:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Simplicity 2261

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

More Info