Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7799 (stretch knit top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1488 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/06 8:34 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
Excellent top you did well. After reading you review or Gloat I want to get my serger out and make me some more tops I have this pattern but it is hot here in the 90's so it might be a bit hot.
4/18/06 8:41 AM
Kay Y said...
It never wears off! You will never look back. Congrats on a great shirt.
4/18/06 8:49 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Way to go!! I'm a little intimidated by knits, too. I'm going to sew my first today on a regular sewing machine. I really want a serger, but that'll have to wait.
4/18/06 9:56 AM
jnamcd said...
Thanks for the fun review! I don't have a serger, and have always seemed to be able to do everything fine with my regular machine--even stitch on knits. But after being on this site, I'm considering getting one, as I figure everyone out here must know a secret I don't!!! Your review is making me think I need one even more!
4/18/06 9:58 AM
double_psyche said...
Great job! I felt the same way when I sewed my first knit item on my serger. I don't remember what it was, but it was like a whole new half of the fabric store opened up to me!
4/18/06 10:04 AM
Em's Summer said...
Congratulations on conquering your Everest in overlocking! That's a great top!
4/18/06 10:05 AM
Em's Summer said...
Deleted duplicate comment. :-)
4/18/06 10:09 AM
Peggy L said...
Congratulations!!! It looks great and you will love your serger.
4/18/06 10:15 AM
Mufffet said...
This top looks great! I love the style and it looks so well done. I am still trying to tame my serger. HA. I have used it for several longer seams but am still afraid of the curves - yesterday I managed to get it to chew a small hole in the side seam I was sewing on the underarm curve. I fixed that on the regular sewing machine. Sigh. But isn't the serger FUN!! You SHOULD gloat! Great work.
4/18/06 10:38 AM
CatherineN said...
Great looking shirt!
4/18/06 10:59 AM
pterion said...
Congrats on a great looking top and overcoming a hurdle! I'm hoping to take the same leap myself soon!
4/18/06 11:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yeah! Congratulations :-). Sounds like you need to learn to put sleeves in flat - ie you sew the sleeve cap first, then you sew the side and sleeve seams in one zip. It's not only easier, it's faster too, and you sound like a woman in love with speed :-).

Seriously, I recommend the Singer series book on serging - it has invaluable pictures of what goes wrong when which thread is deranged. Best I ever found...
4/18/06 11:09 AM

frame said...
Wow, you've done a terrific job on your top. I never would have guessed it was your first serged knit top. Congratulations on conquering this new skill. There's no going back now!
4/18/06 11:15 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Love your enthusiasm and your first results with the overlocker. Congrats!
4/18/06 12:11 PM
Diane E said...
Great top and fun review! Isn't the overlocker a terrific tool? As a knit top addict myself, I can say that you may never want to stop making overlocked knit garments!
4/18/06 12:26 PM
Hilary said...
Great job!! Congrats on your first serger project! Soon you will be wondering how you sewed without it :o) I love mine too! Your new shirt looks wonderful, and I kinda like the shadows, its a nice graphic looking affect :oP (loved the bathtub ring joke, lol)
4/18/06 12:42 PM
valerie sews said...
Lhan, congratulations on your first knit top - it looks great. I remember similar excitement over my first knit top. There will be no turning back now for knits or for serging. You'll wonder how you ever did without one. Thank you for your review.
4/18/06 1:33 PM
mamacita said...
You will find all kinds off sewing chores you can do on the serger. I just finished making two dressy (rayon crepe) shell tops on my serger. I put the bias binding on at the neckedge with the regular sewing machine and hand stitched it down on the inside and also hand rolled the cap sleeve hems. Maybe I did not save time because I choose to do the hand stitching but I sure zipped along to that point. I made each one in a few hours...including altering the pattern and cutting out! Viva the serger!!
4/18/06 3:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very impressive result for your first knit and first serger project. We'll expect a ton of knit top reviews from you for a good while.
4/18/06 7:06 PM
Lhan said...
Thanks everyone for your positive comments. I have now read more of the other reviews of this pattern, and I notice the comments from some that the shoulder seam is too long with set-in sleeves. When I look at my photo, I can see this is true of mine as well. It would have looked better in about an inch on each side, at least at the top. I have trouble with armholes feeling too tight, so I would have to check the effect on the general shape of the armhole. It's time I did some fitting lessons! Muffet, I found the first curve I sewed didn't work very well (uneven - sergers do not like going around corners) so the next one I straightened out - sewed it as though it was a straight seam - and to my surprise it looked fine! I don't know if that is how you are supposed to do it, but it worked. I notice there is an online lesson series about to start which includes exactly that - I think I had better sign up. Fuzzygalore, thanks for the tip about sewing the sleeves in flat - I had actually thought of that, and then forgotten it again. And I will get that book. My overlocker is a Singer, so all the more reason! Cheers everyone!
4/18/06 8:12 PM
SharonB said...
Congratulations on your new serger. Using one to finish seams on ravelly fabric is so wonderful. Enjoy!
4/18/06 8:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job. You should gloat when you jump over a hurdle!!
4/19/06 5:22 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely delightful story. I just love your "gloat" and congratulations on using your serger. I was just thinking the other day that if I don't learn all the things my sewing machine and serger can do and use them, I might as well be using the first machine I ever owned, which was a straight stitch Singer that could also go in reverse, and that was it. Billie
4/19/06 7:32 AM
AnneM said...
Great top; I really like it. And for it to be your first knit top - fantastic. It takes a few garments for the euphoria to wear off. :)
4/19/06 8:50 AM
slanden99 said...
Congradulations on your nice top!
4/19/06 9:19 AM
Jane S said...
Isn't it great to learn new sewing techniques and skills! Your top looks lovely and your review was so much fun to read. Serge on...
4/19/06 9:54 AM
cecelia said...
Okay, now I'm inspired to take the plastic off my serger (I did get it out of the box!). Thanks for a good review and keep up the good work.
9/19/06 3:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by jrbarham on 3/16/12
Read Review

New Look 6613 Pattern
New Look 6613 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other LL007 Padfolio
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 2/17/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us