SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Sausalito (Sausalito Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1340 times 
Reviewed by:VtMartha
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About VtMarthastar
VT USA
Member since: 11/17/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/06 11:02 AM
Last Updated:4/26/06 11:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
I just ordered the pattern.
4/27/06 1:20 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your hours of searching for the prefect pattern paid off because that's a great top! And you picked lovely fabric, too! BTW, if you use the template when you write your review, you won't get the extra characters.
4/27/06 10:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Looks like you're mostly trying to use quotes - try ampersand-quot-semicolon instead of the character, the html will come out better for everyone. Can't type it without having it looks like the character, use punctuation detailed above without the dashes, and the quot in the middle, that should do it.

Great looking top. You might be having problems not so much from rayon as from sewing a sheer fabric. The fix for that would be to sew it including some paper in the seam - it gives a little play, better stitches form, you rip it out afterwards. You can pay a lot for special paper, or use newspaper like my grandmother did :-). However you don't mention anything about pre-washing. Did you? You know you should in general, but it's indispensible with rayon, and in fact I'd recommend doing it twice. With at least one run in the dryer (not too hot), because that'll do the most good. Rayon will change a lot with washing, there's no going around that.

As to rayon's quality, yes it stank in the 50s. But it's been a long long time :-). Even in the 80s you could get a couple year's hard wear out of it. I tend to prefer silk for the same qualities because it does last longer, but there are German rayons for instance that are excellent quality, better than some silks. What matters alas is how much you pay. A good rayon feels good, looks good, holds a good print... what else would anyone want?
4/27/06 1:48 AM

Liana said...
Very pretty! You're going to shine at the wedding!
4/26/06 2:19 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - had no idea it could look so nice - now on my list of patterns to have!!
4/26/06 12:09 PM
VtMartha said...
Thank you, bunz. The pattern back states 2 1/2 yards of 60" fabric and 3 5/8 yards of 45" fabric for large. 3 1/2 yards of 45" for small and medium. I don't really remember how accurate this was.
4/26/06 12:01 PM
bunz said...
I'm going to order this -- yours is gorgeous! What's the yardage requirement?
4/26/06 11:48 AM
VtMartha said...
When I read my review, I notice there are all sorts of extraneous characters - a translation of my punctuation marks. I've seen them on other reviews as well. I don't know how to fix them or edit them out Any thoughts?
4/26/06 11:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now