Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Sausalito (Sausalito Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1339 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:VtMartha
photo
Friend of PR
About VtMarthastar
VT USA
Member since: 11/17/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/06 11:02 AM
Last Updated:4/26/06 11:21 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
When I read my review, I notice there are all sorts of extraneous characters - a translation of my punctuation marks. I've seen them on other reviews as well. I don't know how to fix them or edit them out Any thoughts?
4/26/06 11:19 AM
bunz said...
I'm going to order this -- yours is gorgeous! What's the yardage requirement?
4/26/06 11:48 AM
VtMartha said...
Thank you, bunz. The pattern back states 2 1/2 yards of 60" fabric and 3 5/8 yards of 45" fabric for large. 3 1/2 yards of 45" for small and medium. I don't really remember how accurate this was.
4/26/06 12:01 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - had no idea it could look so nice - now on my list of patterns to have!!
4/26/06 12:09 PM
Liana said...
Very pretty! You're going to shine at the wedding!
4/26/06 2:19 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Looks like you're mostly trying to use quotes - try ampersand-quot-semicolon instead of the character, the html will come out better for everyone. Can't type it without having it looks like the character, use punctuation detailed above without the dashes, and the quot in the middle, that should do it.

Great looking top. You might be having problems not so much from rayon as from sewing a sheer fabric. The fix for that would be to sew it including some paper in the seam - it gives a little play, better stitches form, you rip it out afterwards. You can pay a lot for special paper, or use newspaper like my grandmother did :-). However you don't mention anything about pre-washing. Did you? You know you should in general, but it's indispensible with rayon, and in fact I'd recommend doing it twice. With at least one run in the dryer (not too hot), because that'll do the most good. Rayon will change a lot with washing, there's no going around that.

As to rayon's quality, yes it stank in the 50s. But it's been a long long time :-). Even in the 80s you could get a couple year's hard wear out of it. I tend to prefer silk for the same qualities because it does last longer, but there are German rayons for instance that are excellent quality, better than some silks. What matters alas is how much you pay. A good rayon feels good, looks good, holds a good print... what else would anyone want?
4/27/06 1:48 AM

Em's Summer said...
Your hours of searching for the prefect pattern paid off because that's a great top! And you picked lovely fabric, too! BTW, if you use the template when you write your review, you won't get the extra characters.
4/27/06 10:28 AM
CatherineN said...
I just ordered the pattern.
4/27/06 1:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Neue Mode 23279 AvantGarde
photo
Review by Beek on 3/20/10
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 203 Pattern
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3024
photo
Review by SewingMrsC on 10/18/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3823 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 3823 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us