SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2899 (Guy Laroche Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2202 times 
Reviewed by:Laurasews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Laurasewsstar
CO USA
Member since: 12/27/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/06 11:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie123 said...
Great Job!
11/14/11 11:40 AM
ak21 said...
wow, just gorgeous - especially in black. a great 'go-to' dress for any formal occasion. i think i might give this a go. thx for the review.
6/15/10 3:27 AM
louisianamom said...
I am having this dress made (afraid to tackle it myself). I am considering a matte jersey fabric. What do you think? I was also afraid of the ruching at the hip and was going to leave it off. I would appreciate any advice.
4/5/10 11:41 PM
jonesyb said...
Wow! What a stunning dress!!
1/29/10 2:51 PM
Gold said...
Beautiful! I have this pattern and now you have inspire to want to make it ! Thanks for the review.
12/28/09 12:41 PM
cassfox said...
How sweet is this whole story!! :-) And the dress! It's FABULOUS my dahhhling! :-) Thank you for this, I'm going to sew this for a wedding this weekend!
8/25/09 5:03 PM
Sewnforever said...
Have just ordered this pattern and am now really looking forward to making it. Am planning to use a silk jersey - will this work?!
3/30/09 1:18 PM
Berry B said...
I love this dress but was scared it would be too difficult. Thanks to your review I might give it a try. It's lovely and fits you great!!!
2/9/09 3:59 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you for the review. I think you look marvelous in your dress and you encourage me to drop a few pounds to make mine.
1/31/09 1:26 PM
SicilianChick said...
I also love the design but have yet to sew it- I bought the pattern for my daughter, and one for me. However, she is short waisted and doesn't care for the ruching on the lower front side seam. Is there any way I can sew it without ruching it? I am cutting it out now, Please advice ASAP! Thank you for the great review too.
1/31/09 12:26 PM
Cassy said...
The dress looks great on you. I have this pattern but hadn't decided to sew it yet, I think I'll need to move it up on my "to sew" list.
10/22/08 12:54 PM
Angien said...
Gorgeous dress! And gorgeous on you! Happy Birthday girlfriend!
3/4/08 0:11 AM
JaneH said...
Beautifully made!!
1/16/07 4:29 PM
AuntieShel said...
I know I'm way late, but I was looking at patterns for an upcoming wedding and, of course, wanted to see if any of my choices were reviewed on pattern review--Please add my congrats on this fabulous dress. If only I knew it would look as good on me as it does on you. Fabulous.
9/29/06 9:39 AM
007educo said...
Oh wow!! I just bought this pattern too! This dress is on my list of my summer projects. I was also thinking of cutting it off to hip level and making it a top for the summer too.
5/18/06 0:15 AM
Laurasews said...
Wow! Thanks for reading my review and for all the great comments and birthday wishes. DH loved the dress too! And I love him - he is definately a keeper. Thanks again!
5/5/06 4:00 PM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous, sexy sexy dress! Congratulations on turning 40 and for having such a wonderful husband!
5/5/06 3:54 PM
Tiner W said...
Drop-dead gorgeous!
5/5/06 11:28 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Great story, gorgeous dress, gorgeous woman! Thanks for sharing.
5/5/06 10:18 AM
cindyann said...
Happy birthday! You look fabulous in that awsome dress.
5/5/06 10:16 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You look great!!! Thank you for the good review.:-) Marita
5/5/06 9:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful dress. I love the open back.
5/5/06 9:51 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Awh! Happy Birthday! Lovely story, and smashing dress.
5/5/06 9:33 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It fits you like a dream! Very nice!
5/5/06 9:19 AM
KathleenS said...
You got this done quickly! It looks just like the pattern illustration, which is a very positive recommendation for the pattern. I hope your husband likes the finished article too.
5/5/06 8:24 AM
AnneM said...
Wow. What a great story on your dress. It looks stunning on you; it really shows off your figure in an elegant way. Your DH must have been so proud to have you at the party in such a wonderful outfit that you made yourself.
5/5/06 8:22 AM
BeckyC said...
The dress is gorgeous on you! What a great husband you have encouraging you to buy a pattern! and gave you a surprise party - WOW He's a keeper! Happy Birthday!
5/5/06 7:39 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great dress, great story! This dress is lovely on your perfect little hourglass figure.
5/5/06 7:30 AM
LauraM62 said...
Really beautiful dress, looks wonderful on you. Happy Birthday too!
5/5/06 7:26 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, it looks wonderful on you. Thanks for the review and BTW - Happy Birthday.
5/5/06 7:09 AM
Jane S said...
Terrific dress, great review and fun story. Happy, happy birthday to you!
5/5/06 6:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. I've looked at this pattern a lot but my figure does not work for this dress. This dress was made for you! I am sure you enjoyed your surprise and I am sure you and your dress got rave reviews.
5/5/06 5:25 AM
Em's Summer said...
Beautiful dress & happy birthday, too!
5/5/06 5:00 AM
Nickle said...
Gorgeous dress, looks fantastic on you. Happy 40th.
5/5/06 4:58 AM
MaryBeth said...
What a great story; perfect match to a great dress. Fabulous!
5/5/06 4:56 AM
pharmercoon said...
Great dress! and Happy Birthday! (I recently turned the big 40 too). You look wonderful! Kay
5/5/06 2:33 AM
MichelleE said...
Yowza! That dress is hot and looks great on you! Don't you just love a little black dress?
5/5/06 1:18 AM
dmoonangel said...
Absolutely stunning work! Great review. Hope you had a lovely birthday!
5/5/06 0:52 AM
Judy Williment said...
Sounds like your DH is a keeper! Smart man to encourage this dress too - no wonder you felt 29, it looks fabulous.
5/5/06 0:24 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is stunning on you! Ooohh! Thanks for sharing the wonderful review.
5/5/06 0:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5455

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now