Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB022CH (Cabo Halter) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3234 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/06 1:34 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 4:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Patti, I think this looks great on you! Definitely wear it further than in your own back yard.
5/3/06 1:42 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh that is so cute and I think it looks great on you! So do you think there is enough coverage in the back to wear a strapless bra? I am a very small busted gal, but really hate going without a bra because it truly looks like I have no boobs (thank you Victoria's Secret for all your help!!! hehe). I will have to take a closer look at that one, I think it's a great top! Great review and thanks for the helpful tip about sizing.
5/3/06 1:46 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Sooo cute! I think it looks great on you.
5/3/06 1:50 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for reviewing this so fast! I've been going back and forth if I wanted to get this pattern since this is her first clothing pattern...Now you've convinced me I need to get this. It looks great on you and I definately think that you can wear this outside your backyard!
5/3/06 2:04 PM
beangirl said...
Oh wow, this looks fab!! Thanks for the review, and I love this top on you.
5/3/06 2:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Patti - really cute and summery!
5/3/06 2:09 PM
zinnia said...
Patti, You look great in this top!
5/3/06 2:37 PM
sewfan said...
Patti, you may not look like the model but you still look great in this top! I never thought I would be able to wear a halter top but you may have changed my mind. Pam
5/3/06 3:08 PM
pterion said...
This definitely looks fantastic on you - wear it with pride! A terrific review with lots of helpful information. I have the same question about the back as MelissaB. Any chance of a back view photo?
5/3/06 3:16 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Oh, Patti, that looks great!
5/3/06 3:18 PM
Patti B said...
Melissa and pterion, your wish is my command. I added another photo to answer your questions about the back.
5/3/06 3:58 PM
touran said...
I loved your review - thanks for being so candid. You look lovely in the top and I think you should give it more outings than just the backyard.
5/3/06 4:01 PM
yarnivore said...
I think it looks great! I am a bit of a radical on going without a bra when it's at all reasonable -- I'd have *never* noticed if you hadn't pointed it out, so I think this top is a total success on that score. Please wear it outside of your yard! And thanks for including more than one photo! (PS - No kidding it's hot where you live -- your roses are *weeks* ahead of NYC ones!)
5/3/06 4:41 PM
Celeste said...
Sweet little top. Is that a Fragrant Cloud rose behind you (dark pink)?
5/3/06 5:28 PM
jnamcd said...
I agree with everyone else--this top is really cute on you! Great review!
5/3/06 5:29 PM
bunz said...
Patti - you look cool and comfortable and chic! That elastic almost looks like piping --really nice.
5/3/06 6:13 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks for adding the back view. And what in the world is "velcro butt"???? Apparently I've missed something along the way, not a term I'm familiar with! lol
5/3/06 6:29 PM
BeckyC said...
You look great in this halter top -- don't just wear it in your backyard. Thank you for the tips on measuring the top and bust.
5/3/06 6:36 PM
Em's Summer said...
That looks great on you! You should definitely not limit it to your backyard. Thanks for this great review!
5/3/06 8:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Patti, what a pretty top! It looks great on you.
5/3/06 8:17 PM
sailor girl said...
I am so glad you reviewed this-I am not a bikini wearing babe either, but now I see how good this looks!
5/3/06 9:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Patti -It is very very pretty on you. Please wear it outside of your backyard, it is too lovely to hide!
5/3/06 9:10 PM
Lori V said...
That looks fantastic on you.
5/3/06 9:43 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks to all for the remarks. I predict that I'll be seeing this style frequently this summer.
5/3/06 9:57 PM
Penny Carlson said...
It really looks nice! How did you get it done this fast?!? The nice cool comfort of a top like this is negated when you have to wear a clingy sticky underwire with it..ask me how I know! Which is why this overly endowed lady will be sticking to regular sleeveless tops this summer.
5/3/06 10:18 PM
sewnbysf said...
What a fun top...looks great!
5/3/06 10:49 PM
RobynB said...
Patti, love the top, but I also wanted to compliment you on your shoes. I have *exactly* the same ones, even the same colour. Don't you love them??!
5/3/06 11:06 PM
Izzie said...
You are just too cute! Love the red crocs.
5/3/06 11:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great and so comfy for the hot summer months. Great job.
5/4/06 1:07 AM
AnneM said...
I think that looks realy nice on you. It is a halter top that adults can wear. That is a very fancy gardening outfit.
5/4/06 5:27 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Patti, it looks great on you! I can't wait to get this one started.
5/4/06 8:39 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute and summery!
5/4/06 1:57 PM
Judy Williment said...
I love how this top looks on you, so I agree with everyone who says to wear it outside the back yard! I'm a huge fan of halter tops, and I've found the best bras are the ones with detachable straps. You unhook them from the back and hook those ends together for a halter bra. Works great! And then hook it back to a regular bra as required. Before I bought one I made one by unpicking the straps from the back of a bra I already had and sewing them together. I prefer having a neck strap to strapless - more secure!
5/4/06 7:45 PM
ryan's mom said...
Wonderful halter! Great review too!! LOL--what you call "velcro butt" IMO is quite flattering. The top shows off a lovely back curve. Kind of a sexy halter look.
5/4/06 9:09 PM
Patti B said...
Celeste, it is a Queen Elizabeth behind me and a Hot Cocoa in the left of the photo. I do love Fragrant Cloud though. Robyn & Izzie, I LOVE my crocs!
5/5/06 9:48 AM
sluj said...
Actually, I think you look absolutely adorable in this top, despite differing from the young thing on the pattern photo. I bet one of Victoria's Secret convertible bras configured for a halter/backless dress would work great under this top.
5/5/06 1:40 PM
Mirza said...
I love this top on you. I would never even thought to make myself a halter top. But it looks so great on you that I am rethinking it. Thanks for taking the plunge!
5/8/06 6:55 AM
rosephreak said...
Patti - this looks lovely. Although I'm wondering exactly what you mean by velcro butt. I've never heard that term before. * smile * Anyway, thank you for reviewing this and the tip about the bust measurements. It's nice to know this looks so nice on someone that's not mid-twentysomething. Being mid-fortysomething myself, I think I could wear this as well.
5/8/06 10:01 AM
Patti B said...
"Velcro butt" is when the back of the blouse or top hangs up on the tush. It's almost unavoidable IMHO with cotton wovens. Love to hear a solution if anyone has one!
5/9/06 9:33 AM
Kath in ON said...
I had never heard the term velcro butt before, but instantly knew what you were talking about...It's why you'll never see me in one of those long sweater coats that were so popular! Love your halter top. I'm adding this to my wishlist...
5/30/06 8:48 AM
Craftyladydi said...
I saw the halter made up in my local quilt shop I bought the patten, It's so pretty and flattering I am a D cup . Before cutting up my fabric I made a pattern out of interfacing, I was going to see how this fit before wasting my fabric. You know the adage "measure twice cut once" I measured more than twice. The first time I cut out a large...to small. The second time around I cut out an x-large making two fronts, two Upper Backs, and two Tie Extensions, I wanted to make sure I had room for the zipper I did. On the two Upper Fronts I increased at least an "inch" starting at the bottom, tappering to "0" nearing the shoulder..I attached the Extensions, tried it on I have the coverage I want I also got gapo's.. I made small pleats in my pattern where it gaped open. That just didn't help much as far as getting that flattering look and to make it hug my body. I am open to anyone who might suggest what I can do. Other than that I think the pattern is really easy to follow especially for beginners.
8/4/06 0:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3 Ottobre
photo
Review by blue moone... on 6/29/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4589 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 3/22/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us