SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB022CH (Cabo Halter)

22 more reviews
Viewed 3234 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/06 1:34 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 4:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Patti, I think this looks great on you! Definitely wear it further than in your own back yard.
5/3/06 1:42 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh that is so cute and I think it looks great on you! So do you think there is enough coverage in the back to wear a strapless bra? I am a very small busted gal, but really hate going without a bra because it truly looks like I have no boobs (thank you Victoria's Secret for all your help!!! hehe). I will have to take a closer look at that one, I think it's a great top! Great review and thanks for the helpful tip about sizing.
5/3/06 1:46 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Sooo cute! I think it looks great on you.
5/3/06 1:50 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for reviewing this so fast! I've been going back and forth if I wanted to get this pattern since this is her first clothing pattern...Now you've convinced me I need to get this. It looks great on you and I definately think that you can wear this outside your backyard!
5/3/06 2:04 PM
beangirl said...
Oh wow, this looks fab!! Thanks for the review, and I love this top on you.
5/3/06 2:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Patti - really cute and summery!
5/3/06 2:09 PM
zinnia said...
Patti, You look great in this top!
5/3/06 2:37 PM
sewfan said...
Patti, you may not look like the model but you still look great in this top! I never thought I would be able to wear a halter top but you may have changed my mind. Pam
5/3/06 3:08 PM
pterion said...
This definitely looks fantastic on you - wear it with pride! A terrific review with lots of helpful information. I have the same question about the back as MelissaB. Any chance of a back view photo?
5/3/06 3:16 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Oh, Patti, that looks great!
5/3/06 3:18 PM
Patti B said...
Melissa and pterion, your wish is my command. I added another photo to answer your questions about the back.
5/3/06 3:58 PM
touran said...
I loved your review - thanks for being so candid. You look lovely in the top and I think you should give it more outings than just the backyard.
5/3/06 4:01 PM
yarnivore said...
I think it looks great! I am a bit of a radical on going without a bra when it's at all reasonable -- I'd have *never* noticed if you hadn't pointed it out, so I think this top is a total success on that score. Please wear it outside of your yard! And thanks for including more than one photo! (PS - No kidding it's hot where you live -- your roses are *weeks* ahead of NYC ones!)
5/3/06 4:41 PM
Celeste said...
Sweet little top. Is that a Fragrant Cloud rose behind you (dark pink)?
5/3/06 5:28 PM
jnamcd said...
I agree with everyone else--this top is really cute on you! Great review!
5/3/06 5:29 PM
bunz said...
Patti - you look cool and comfortable and chic! That elastic almost looks like piping --really nice.
5/3/06 6:13 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks for adding the back view. And what in the world is "velcro butt"???? Apparently I've missed something along the way, not a term I'm familiar with! lol
5/3/06 6:29 PM
BeckyC said...
You look great in this halter top -- don't just wear it in your backyard. Thank you for the tips on measuring the top and bust.
5/3/06 6:36 PM
Em's Summer said...
That looks great on you! You should definitely not limit it to your backyard. Thanks for this great review!
5/3/06 8:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Patti, what a pretty top! It looks great on you.
5/3/06 8:17 PM
sailor girl said...
I am so glad you reviewed this-I am not a bikini wearing babe either, but now I see how good this looks!
5/3/06 9:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Patti -It is very very pretty on you. Please wear it outside of your backyard, it is too lovely to hide!
5/3/06 9:10 PM
Lori V said...
That looks fantastic on you.
5/3/06 9:43 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks to all for the remarks. I predict that I'll be seeing this style frequently this summer.
5/3/06 9:57 PM
Penny Carlson said...
It really looks nice! How did you get it done this fast?!? The nice cool comfort of a top like this is negated when you have to wear a clingy sticky underwire with it..ask me how I know! Which is why this overly endowed lady will be sticking to regular sleeveless tops this summer.
5/3/06 10:18 PM
sewnbysf said...
What a fun top...looks great!
5/3/06 10:49 PM
RobynB said...
Patti, love the top, but I also wanted to compliment you on your shoes. I have *exactly* the same ones, even the same colour. Don't you love them??!
5/3/06 11:06 PM
Izzie said...
You are just too cute! Love the red crocs.
5/3/06 11:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great and so comfy for the hot summer months. Great job.
5/4/06 1:07 AM
AnneM said...
I think that looks realy nice on you. It is a halter top that adults can wear. That is a very fancy gardening outfit.
5/4/06 5:27 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Patti, it looks great on you! I can't wait to get this one started.
5/4/06 8:39 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute and summery!
5/4/06 1:57 PM
Judy Williment said...
I love how this top looks on you, so I agree with everyone who says to wear it outside the back yard! I'm a huge fan of halter tops, and I've found the best bras are the ones with detachable straps. You unhook them from the back and hook those ends together for a halter bra. Works great! And then hook it back to a regular bra as required. Before I bought one I made one by unpicking the straps from the back of a bra I already had and sewing them together. I prefer having a neck strap to strapless - more secure!
5/4/06 7:45 PM
ryan's mom said...
Wonderful halter! Great review too!! LOL--what you call "velcro butt" IMO is quite flattering. The top shows off a lovely back curve. Kind of a sexy halter look.
5/4/06 9:09 PM
Patti B said...
Celeste, it is a Queen Elizabeth behind me and a Hot Cocoa in the left of the photo. I do love Fragrant Cloud though. Robyn & Izzie, I LOVE my crocs!
5/5/06 9:48 AM
sluj said...
Actually, I think you look absolutely adorable in this top, despite differing from the young thing on the pattern photo. I bet one of Victoria's Secret convertible bras configured for a halter/backless dress would work great under this top.
5/5/06 1:40 PM
Mirza said...
I love this top on you. I would never even thought to make myself a halter top. But it looks so great on you that I am rethinking it. Thanks for taking the plunge!
5/8/06 6:55 AM
rosephreak said...
Patti - this looks lovely. Although I'm wondering exactly what you mean by velcro butt. I've never heard that term before. * smile * Anyway, thank you for reviewing this and the tip about the bust measurements. It's nice to know this looks so nice on someone that's not mid-twentysomething. Being mid-fortysomething myself, I think I could wear this as well.
5/8/06 10:01 AM
Patti B said...
"Velcro butt" is when the back of the blouse or top hangs up on the tush. It's almost unavoidable IMHO with cotton wovens. Love to hear a solution if anyone has one!
5/9/06 9:33 AM
Kath in ON said...
I had never heard the term velcro butt before, but instantly knew what you were talking about...It's why you'll never see me in one of those long sweater coats that were so popular! Love your halter top. I'm adding this to my wishlist...
5/30/06 8:48 AM
Craftyladydi said...
I saw the halter made up in my local quilt shop I bought the patten, It's so pretty and flattering I am a D cup . Before cutting up my fabric I made a pattern out of interfacing, I was going to see how this fit before wasting my fabric. You know the adage "measure twice cut once" I measured more than twice. The first time I cut out a large...to small. The second time around I cut out an x-large making two fronts, two Upper Backs, and two Tie Extensions, I wanted to make sure I had room for the zipper I did. On the two Upper Fronts I increased at least an "inch" starting at the bottom, tappering to "0" nearing the shoulder..I attached the Extensions, tried it on I have the coverage I want I also got gapo's.. I made small pleats in my pattern where it gaped open. That just didn't help much as far as getting that flattering look and to make it hug my body. I am open to anyone who might suggest what I can do. Other than that I think the pattern is really easy to follow especially for beginners.
8/4/06 0:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 2874

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Butterick 5401

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review