SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 4087 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/06 6:33 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 6:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Hi, again Leslie! (I posted as penelope, above) Just printed out your helpful (as usual) review and am almost ready (a-hem) to attempt this pattern. With your tips and the updated instructions from the AmyButler website, am hoping for the best!
7/4/09 7:48 AM
nancy2001 said...
I just bought this pattern and will use your very helpful comments to guide me.
3/4/09 2:45 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Super cute! Thanks for the tips! I am making this bag in a class next month and will use be sure to bring a curved needle!
2/1/08 5:46 PM
JDpenelope said...
Dynamite bag. Question is -- Do I want to go to all the time and trouble that you did (and I don't have your skills!) to get a bag this professional. Not sure, yet. But I love what you did with this pattern. Thanks for the realistic, detailed review. It helps me decide.
9/15/07 8:54 PM
AlexaNJ said...
It looks wonderful! I had a fairly trying time just making the chelsea tote, so I can totally understand what you mean when you say it gave you a workout cause it was cumbersome! I can only imagine! Beautiful job!!
6/12/07 10:06 AM
HenriettenDK said...
I wanna be your niece...no seriously, you are such an inspiration - I need to make pretty much all of your reviewed items as well now....
12/20/06 12:30 PM
sewkal said...
Catching up on my reviews..your bag looks phenomenal! I have this pattern, but I've been too scared to cut it out. You've given me confidence!
6/29/06 3:55 PM
Sew it seams said...
Leslie that is a fabulous bag! I love the fabric combinations. It looks so fresh and summery. It makes me want to run out for new fabric to make bags. No fitting- Now that would be fun!!
5/5/06 11:14 AM
Hilary said...
This bag looks fantastic! I am so glad you reviewed this, I have been wanting get this and make it up for my Dsis (and then one for me too :o) ) I appreciate all the details about the process, and the curved sewing needle-I think I have one somewhere..wait first I need to get the pattern :D
5/4/06 5:02 PM
Debbie Cook said...
That looks good enough to eat! I LOVE those colors. Great job Leslie. You are the auntie that ROCKS!
5/4/06 3:55 PM
MarilynB said...
This bag is too cute!! Great fabric choices. Nieces make a great substitute when you don't have a daughter to sew for, don't they? Thanks for such a detailed review.
5/4/06 10:55 AM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful bag Leslie! Gotta make sure DD never see this review. ;)
5/4/06 9:58 AM
ryan's mom said...
Such a terrific-looking bag! Thanks for the great review and helpful hints.
5/4/06 9:34 AM
casken said...
I love that bag! The combination of the fabric is bee-u-tee-ful! Thank you for your great review!
5/4/06 9:14 AM
jen_e said...
I want this bag!!!! I would pay $$$ for it ready made in a store. Great job.
5/4/06 9:10 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your niece is going to love carrying that bag. It looks very well made, and I really like the fabric choices!
5/4/06 8:56 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Very nice Leslie! Your niece must be so proud to carry this around! Thanks for all the tips on construction. Deepika is right; the craftsmanship looks like perfection.
5/4/06 8:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Leslie - what a great bag!! You did a wonderful job on this. Love the fabrics your niece chose.
5/4/06 8:07 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Wow Leslie - that looks sooooo good. I just got this pattern in the mail yesterday along with the Cabo halter and the shopper bag - now you have shoved me into the "I had better get my rear in gear" phase!
5/4/06 7:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great purse!! Love the fabrics used.
5/4/06 5:25 AM
Stephanie C. said...
Beautiful bag!
5/4/06 2:39 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I, too, along with all the others - love this bag. The fabric choices are really great. You have more patience than I do. I will admire this bag from afar. Thanks for the great, detailed review.
5/4/06 1:10 AM
PegL said...
Love the bag!!! You did an awesome job! It looks very professional!
5/4/06 0:16 AM
elizajo said...
Love it! I used these two fabrics for DD's apartment-- it's a young, cheerful combo.
5/3/06 11:28 PM
cmarie12 said...
Leslie ~ that is just the cutest bag! I am sure your niece will love it!
5/3/06 11:09 PM
Deepika said...
Leslie, that bag does look challenging to sew but my first thoughts were on seeing the photo were -- how neatly you've sewn it. So precise and so perfect. This is really a masterpiece! Your niece is lucky!
5/3/06 10:51 PM
sewnbysf said...
Your niece is so lucky...great bag!
5/3/06 10:46 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Its gorgeous, Fun AND elegant!
5/3/06 10:21 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
The fabric! The piping! Everything!!! It's perfect! :) -Ann
5/3/06 10:04 PM
Patti B said...
Just a darling bag. Love your niece's choice of fabrics and your special touches. It sounds as if it was a bit of a challenge to sew but the final result is worth it.
5/3/06 9:55 PM
Lori V said...
Wonderful bag, I bet your dn was thrilled. What a great aunt you are.
5/3/06 9:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great job on the bag, Leslie!! I am sure that your niece will be the envy of her friends with such a wow of a bag.
5/3/06 9:07 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh I love the bag - you have one lucky niece!!!
5/3/06 8:50 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is just too cute!
5/3/06 8:03 PM
Vonnevo said...
beautiful everything Leslie. You must be the favourite aunt in your family, always making beautiful gifts for everyone.
5/3/06 7:55 PM
mirielgw said...
cute bag!
5/3/06 7:38 PM
redsquid said...
Way cute - lucky niece! Love the way the piping looks in that print.
5/3/06 7:30 PM
bunz said...
That's a real beaut! Great review - thanks.
5/3/06 7:27 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Very nice, love the fabric choices. I had the same problem with the pattern, glad to know it wasn't me ;-)
5/3/06 7:20 PM
jnamcd said...
Cute! I've been admiring this pattern--and combined with your choice of fabrics, this is a sure winner! Great job!
5/3/06 7:16 PM
touran said...
That is such a fun bag. Very nice work!
5/3/06 7:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

McCall's 6073

photo
by: HermionesE...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info