Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 4078 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/06 6:33 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 6:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
That is such a fun bag. Very nice work!
5/3/06 7:13 PM
jnamcd said...
Cute! I've been admiring this pattern--and combined with your choice of fabrics, this is a sure winner! Great job!
5/3/06 7:16 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Very nice, love the fabric choices. I had the same problem with the pattern, glad to know it wasn't me ;-)
5/3/06 7:20 PM
bunz said...
That's a real beaut! Great review - thanks.
5/3/06 7:27 PM
redsquid said...
Way cute - lucky niece! Love the way the piping looks in that print.
5/3/06 7:30 PM
mirielgw said...
cute bag!
5/3/06 7:38 PM
Vonnevo said...
beautiful everything Leslie. You must be the favourite aunt in your family, always making beautiful gifts for everyone.
5/3/06 7:55 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is just too cute!
5/3/06 8:03 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh I love the bag - you have one lucky niece!!!
5/3/06 8:50 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great job on the bag, Leslie!! I am sure that your niece will be the envy of her friends with such a wow of a bag.
5/3/06 9:07 PM
Lori V said...
Wonderful bag, I bet your dn was thrilled. What a great aunt you are.
5/3/06 9:45 PM
Patti B said...
Just a darling bag. Love your niece's choice of fabrics and your special touches. It sounds as if it was a bit of a challenge to sew but the final result is worth it.
5/3/06 9:55 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
The fabric! The piping! Everything!!! It's perfect! :) -Ann
5/3/06 10:04 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Its gorgeous, Fun AND elegant!
5/3/06 10:21 PM
sewnbysf said...
Your niece is so lucky...great bag!
5/3/06 10:46 PM
Deepika said...
Leslie, that bag does look challenging to sew but my first thoughts were on seeing the photo were -- how neatly you've sewn it. So precise and so perfect. This is really a masterpiece! Your niece is lucky!
5/3/06 10:51 PM
cmarie12 said...
Leslie ~ that is just the cutest bag! I am sure your niece will love it!
5/3/06 11:09 PM
elizajo said...
Love it! I used these two fabrics for DD's apartment-- it's a young, cheerful combo.
5/3/06 11:28 PM
PegL said...
Love the bag!!! You did an awesome job! It looks very professional!
5/4/06 0:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I, too, along with all the others - love this bag. The fabric choices are really great. You have more patience than I do. I will admire this bag from afar. Thanks for the great, detailed review.
5/4/06 1:10 AM
Stephanie C. said...
Beautiful bag!
5/4/06 2:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great purse!! Love the fabrics used.
5/4/06 5:25 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Wow Leslie - that looks sooooo good. I just got this pattern in the mail yesterday along with the Cabo halter and the shopper bag - now you have shoved me into the "I had better get my rear in gear" phase!
5/4/06 7:35 AM
Peggy L said...
Leslie - what a great bag!! You did a wonderful job on this. Love the fabrics your niece chose.
5/4/06 8:07 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Very nice Leslie! Your niece must be so proud to carry this around! Thanks for all the tips on construction. Deepika is right; the craftsmanship looks like perfection.
5/4/06 8:50 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your niece is going to love carrying that bag. It looks very well made, and I really like the fabric choices!
5/4/06 8:56 AM
jen_e said...
I want this bag!!!! I would pay $$$ for it ready made in a store. Great job.
5/4/06 9:10 AM
casken said...
I love that bag! The combination of the fabric is bee-u-tee-ful! Thank you for your great review!
5/4/06 9:14 AM
ryan's mom said...
Such a terrific-looking bag! Thanks for the great review and helpful hints.
5/4/06 9:34 AM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful bag Leslie! Gotta make sure DD never see this review. ;)
5/4/06 9:58 AM
MarilynB said...
This bag is too cute!! Great fabric choices. Nieces make a great substitute when you don't have a daughter to sew for, don't they? Thanks for such a detailed review.
5/4/06 10:55 AM
Debbie Cook said...
That looks good enough to eat! I LOVE those colors. Great job Leslie. You are the auntie that ROCKS!
5/4/06 3:55 PM
Hilary said...
This bag looks fantastic! I am so glad you reviewed this, I have been wanting get this and make it up for my Dsis (and then one for me too :o) ) I appreciate all the details about the process, and the curved sewing needle-I think I have one somewhere..wait first I need to get the pattern :D
5/4/06 5:02 PM
Sew it seams said...
Leslie that is a fabulous bag! I love the fabric combinations. It looks so fresh and summery. It makes me want to run out for new fabric to make bags. No fitting- Now that would be fun!!
5/5/06 11:14 AM
sewkal said...
Catching up on my reviews..your bag looks phenomenal! I have this pattern, but I've been too scared to cut it out. You've given me confidence!
6/29/06 3:55 PM
HenriettenDK said...
I wanna be your niece...no seriously, you are such an inspiration - I need to make pretty much all of your reviewed items as well now....
12/20/06 12:30 PM
AlexaNJ said...
It looks wonderful! I had a fairly trying time just making the chelsea tote, so I can totally understand what you mean when you say it gave you a workout cause it was cumbersome! I can only imagine! Beautiful job!!
6/12/07 10:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
Dynamite bag. Question is -- Do I want to go to all the time and trouble that you did (and I don't have your skills!) to get a bag this professional. Not sure, yet. But I love what you did with this pattern. Thanks for the realistic, detailed review. It helps me decide.
9/15/07 8:54 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Super cute! Thanks for the tips! I am making this bag in a class next month and will use be sure to bring a curved needle!
2/1/08 5:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
I just bought this pattern and will use your very helpful comments to guide me.
3/4/09 2:45 PM
JDpenelope said...
Hi, again Leslie! (I posted as penelope, above) Just printed out your helpful (as usual) review and am almost ready (a-hem) to attempt this pattern. With your tips and the updated instructions from the AmyButler website, am hoping for the best!
7/4/09 7:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5965
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 10/30/13
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 5/21/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Everyday Baskets
Everyday Baskets

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us