Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 53001 (Points and Pleats) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1217 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Mair from CA
photo
Friend of PR
About Mair from CA
Member since: 11/1/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/06 9:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great. I love the color.
5/7/06 10:45 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Very good looking, thanks for the review. I have this pattern, with the thought that it'd be ideal to show off a single great button.

To show topstitching better, how about using quilting-weight thread? Or maybe it'd be a good place to practice hand-stitching, like in those wonderful 40s shirts..
5/8/06 6:06 AM

Irene Q said...
Great shirt! Now that summer's here, this is on my short list and I'll be sure to watch out for that placket - thanks! If you're brave, a stripe or plaid could really show off the design details, but personally I'm too chicken to do that much matching. :-) Louise uses that same collar on all her shirts, by the way.
5/8/06 8:39 AM
AnneM said...
Great review. Not my style of top, but I always appreciate seeing an informative review even if it isn't a style that fits me.
5/8/06 8:47 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty top!
5/8/06 10:28 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty color! Too bad about the "problem" but it doesn't look like a problem at all on the finished top.
5/8/06 10:44 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Your shirt turned out great! I have made this up once and love the shirt. Some day, I plan to make more. I find it to be very comfortable. I kept mine longer in the back and find that this is very slimming.
5/8/06 11:01 AM
Mini said...
That top looks very elegant. It's not a style I could wear, but it looks perfect on you-much better than the pattern cover art too! for a more visible topstitch, I agree aabout using a coordinating rather than matching thread. Sometimes I use silk thread in a shade just a bit darker or lighter than the fabric. It seems to "pop" a bit more than when the thread is an exact match, but it's still subtle. I think making test swatches with different threads and colors may help you get just the right effect for the next blouse.
5/8/06 10:56 PM
nzkiwi said...
Thank you for this detailed review. I had the same difficulty with the facings, I thought I had not followed instructions but realised in the end that it was a pattern error. Like you I adjusted the buttons etc to fit the way I wanted. The piece about the neck hmm perhaps there needs to be more accurate presentation.
2/6/07 2:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2006-106 blouse
photo
Review by sew_times on 8/2/07
Read Review

Vogue 8857 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8857 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4017 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4017 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick B4698 Misses Collars
photo
Review by canadianri... on 4/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us