SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3407 (Misses Tops)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2024 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/06 6:22 AM
Last Updated:1/14/07 8:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
What a perfect--and flattering--fitting top. Thanks for showing the muslin and explaining what you did to correct it.
5/15/06 7:09 AM
CarolynGM said...
How wonderful to have such a perfectly fitted TNT tank top pattern. Good information on the alterations for the underarm flare.
5/15/06 7:19 AM
BeckyC said...
What a wonderful fitting tank top! I've looked at this pattern and thought it was too low cut, but now that I've seen it sewn up, it's a great scoop neckline. Thanks for the review.
5/15/06 7:43 AM
2BSewing said...
I thought the same about this pattern...too low cut in the front. So, I thought I would give it a try and it turned out to be perfect in the neckline area. I love it because it's comfortable to wear.
5/15/06 8:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking summer top. Your alterations make this fit you perfectly.
5/15/06 9:24 AM
Patti B said...
Terrific job of fitting and a great summer wardrobe of tops. I wondered about the neckline also but this is just right.
5/15/06 9:39 AM
diane s said...
What a nice fit!!!
5/15/06 10:06 AM
Sew Jane said...
Fabulous Fitting job, the tanks look lovely on. Thanks for such a complete and thoughtful review.
5/15/06 10:34 AM
JDpenelope said...
You've done a great job on these tops. Your results are very professional -- Are you saying that you made these knit tops without a serger? Did you zigzag or use a walking foot? I predict you will love your serger, but you're doing great without it.
5/15/06 11:12 AM
2BSewing said...
Yes...I made these tops with my sewing machine. I used a narrow zig zag stitch for the 1/4" seam and then go back and use a wide zig zag on the raw edge of the seam. I then press the seam to the back of the garment. I use a normal zig zag foot for all my stitching. For some thicker knits...I do have to adjust/reduce the presser feet pressure. The basic KS patterns (tops) are fitting pretty good on me. Now, that I'm trying some different KS pattern designs...I'm finding I have to do simple adjustments to get it to fit better. I enjoy learning how to figure out these minor alterations. Now, I need to learn how to use my serger. :)
5/15/06 1:06 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your tops look very professionally sewn. It sounds like this would be an easy pattern to fit without a muslin. If it's a bit large around the chest/underarm area, that's easy to pin-fit and correct on the first try, before adding the bindings. Any changes can be noted on the pattern for subsequent versions. Note that some knits give more than others, though, so it's always worth a pin-fit rather than relying on previous alterations.
5/15/06 1:11 PM
wvsher said...
Those are all very nice. I love the way that tank is cut. Will have to try this one sometime.
5/15/06 4:19 PM
jlg said...
Your tanks look fabulous.
5/15/06 7:02 PM
carolynw said...
You've got a winner here - they all look great.
5/15/06 9:43 PM
lmg said...
So many tops! All lovely and well fitting. Looks like the pattern is a winner.
5/15/06 11:23 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great tops! The fit is perfect.
5/15/06 11:41 PM
countrybug said...
Nice job and nice fabrics. I love tank tops and I like KS for knit stuff. Very nice. I also like the shorter length on you too.
5/16/06 8:09 AM
Deepika said...
What a wardrobe staple. It really fits you very well. I've now added this to my wishlist. I must try it. Thanks for your review. I love all your tanks.
5/16/06 8:11 AM
mrspenguin said...
My goodness. Those are great. I've been looking for a good basic camisole.
5/16/06 11:17 AM
PixieCat said...
Wow, the fit is so nice and the tanks looks wonderful on you!
5/16/06 4:10 PM
Elona said...
Looks to me as though you've found your PERFECT tank top! Every one looks both well-made and terrific on you.
7/16/06 1:35 PM
CSM--Carla said...
As per ALL of the above--and your top stitching is reallly impressive. I've had issues with skipped stitches when tpstitching on knits--any suggestions? Thank you!!
7/16/06 1:48 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty top--you did a wonderful job of placing the darker print in the center--looks great! I enjoyed looking at your topstitching samples, too.
7/16/06 2:00 PM
JDpenelope said...
You are becoming the Queen of the Tank Top. I like the latest entry. Just reviewed your earlier pics, too, and believe that this pattern is a winner for you. Your work shows great attention to detail.
7/16/06 9:28 PM
2BSewing said...
Well...maybe not Queen of tank tops. How about experimentor of tank tops? Joanne...thanks for the compliment. You know with all the knit fabrics I have and the stretch laces that I have accumulated...you think I would make one with a lace trim? Maybe the next one. Carla...I haven't had any problems with skipped stitches. When I use my twin needle or stitch over a thick layer of knit fabric, I will loosen the thread tension. For example, I may go from 4 (my normal stitch tension) down to 3.5 or 3... for topstitching.
7/17/06 2:25 PM
BjP said...
Don't know how I missed your reviews.....all of the tanks looks wonderful. I don't know why I don't have this pattern yet, but I certainly will get it after seeing all of your pictures. I really like the striped one! Fantastic job on all of them! (And P.S... You remind me so much of my cousin when she was younger that I enjoy seeing your pictures just because of that! :)
7/18/06 10:02 PM
Skye said...
very nice
1/15/07 0:53 AM
Tany said...
Great review! Your tops fit very well! Thank you for this detailed review.
1/15/07 3:52 AM
nancia said...
great review. your tops look good. congratulations.
1/25/07 7:46 PM
PrairieTides said...
Your tops look great! I just got this pattern, so I'll be using some of your tips.
2/5/07 10:38 PM
appleton78 said...
Great review! I love the pictures...very helpful. You did a great job and the tanks are super flattering! Thank you for this review.
10/20/13 11:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 5391

photo
by: Cynbular

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2010-118

photo
by: ClioBklyn

Review