Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2820 (Convertible Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2480 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/06 11:16 PM
Last Updated:5/19/06 11:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rustybobn said...
Thank you for a very good review of this pattern. I have a Burda pattern that is similar, but I've never made it. My DH likes this style of pants, too.
5/20/06 7:09 AM
Patti B said...
What a helpful review. They look great on your DH. I have this pattern to make hemp pants for my adult son and have put off getting them started. The hemp is the weight of a heavy linen -- do you think that would work for these?
5/20/06 11:09 AM
Michelle T said...
Thank you for the review. I have been dithering between getting that pattern or the Jalie one. http://www.justmakeit.com/patterns/storm_mountain/activewear.html has nice active outerwear patterns, but the do not seem to have zip off pants.
5/20/06 11:52 AM
wvsher said...
Great job! Like you said, the busy pattern does hide the convertible feature of the pants. And what could be more appropriate than dragonflies for outdoor activities ?
5/20/06 11:53 AM
martinanne said...
Thanks for the helpful review! Nice pants.
5/20/06 3:15 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Love these pants -- look great on the handsome model! Nice fabric. Thanks for this excellent review.
5/20/06 3:16 PM
julesberry said...
I am not sure what hemp is like, but the problem with using a thick fabric would be when sewing together all the layers round the zippers. I think you would end up with something very bulky round the thighs. There are also quite a few layers in the outside seams by the front pockets. If the fabric is hard and not very pliable then the problems would come when trying to gather the fabric into the back. In that case redrafting the back (as the previous reviewer did) would be a good idea. Hope this helps you decide.
5/20/06 5:32 PM
AnneM said...
These are really nice looking pants. Great pattern.
6/4/06 9:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Somehow I missed this earlier. Great job on these pants. I just bought a pair from REI (sporting goods store) and they were pretty pricey. Love the idea about the two colors of zips.
6/14/06 10:35 AM
dyno said...
thanks so much for this review. it was perfect for me. I'd like to make a women's design with zip legs at some point and I appreciate you mentioning that while the trouser cut may not be what I'd want, this pattern is very helpful as reference for zip-off legs. :)
2/9/07 0:57 AM
LiZ said...
Nice looking pants.
2/9/07 3:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Sense & Sensibility Girls\' Regency Dress
photo
Review by Klinkerpop... on 10/27/09
Read Review

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by Futuralon on 1/19/14
Read Review

New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us