SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4464 (jackets, tops, skirts, pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1336 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/06 1:24 PM
Last Updated:6/3/06 1:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
You've done it again, drsue. Great review and great looking jacket. I think the ribbon looks fine.
6/3/06 1:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
Exceptionally cute jacket in a luscious color. Good decision to interface and line. Shaped jackets without the underpinnings hardly every work out for me.
6/3/06 2:39 PM
frame said...
Lovely jacket. The ribbon makes it look very feminine.
6/3/06 4:09 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute jacket! I'm glad you finally found ribbon that would work. :)
6/3/06 6:08 PM
wvsher said...
So pretty!
6/3/06 6:44 PM
Carolyn C said...
Exceptional. Love it!
6/3/06 6:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty. You must be one stylish doctor!
6/3/06 6:57 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice job - your jacket looks great. I also like fusing the weft on jacket pieces. I'm glad you were able to find the ribbon that worked!
6/3/06 7:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The jacket is very pretty, I'm so glad you didn't toss it!
6/3/06 7:44 PM
rosephreak said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. My mom wants me to make it for her, and I made the skirt for myself already. It looks lovely how you have done it. Aqua is quite popular this season, I think. Nice job.
6/3/06 8:26 PM
Enid E said...
Wow! I am sure this looks wonderful on you! Love your color choice and your ribbon looks like it matches to me! Great job..
6/3/06 9:32 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great Jacket - but never a wadder. You could just have added a clasp or self fabric tie. Love the idea of the belt coming out of the seams.
6/3/06 9:38 PM
layla said...
Beautiful ...nice clean (and look like slimming) lines on this .. I love your ribbon effect and what a great look with the shell and pants.
6/3/06 10:12 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful jacket! You just ran into what I call the BevPrinciple...if I want or need it, nobody has it! Glad you were finally able to come up with a good match..your ensemble looks fabulous.
6/3/06 11:08 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
A beautiful jacket and I think the ribbon is a perfect color for it. Another lovely creation.
6/3/06 11:38 PM
lornakismet said...
Beautiful, impeccable, clean, unusual, and I would love to wear it. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/4/06 0:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty jacket.
6/4/06 7:21 AM
patsijean said...
This is a great jacket and your ribbon choice is perfect. The outfit is wonderful.
6/4/06 10:07 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket. I love the aqua ribbon.
6/4/06 10:25 AM
redsquid said...
drsue - I'm making the burda jean jacket again (we've both posted reviews - I did the "mature version".) I ordered my teal 16" separating zipper online (in two colors!) just before I read your review. I normally don't do this, but I knew this notion would be a bear to find locally. So I know how you feel about your ribbon, it seems such a common-place item one should be able to pick it up within driving distance. Your jacket looks great - the ribbon really sets it off, as you said "at a distance" (or in a photo) it's a great accent - the color looks perfect. Linda (redsquid)
6/4/06 11:25 AM
PhyllisC said...
Susan, boy can I relate to the angst of seeking the perfect color trim! Ay Yi Yi. Another good source for future reference is Tinsel Trading in NYC - they have a sister store across the street devoted just to ribbon, and they have petersham in every color (www.tinseltrading.com) They may not list it on their web site but give them a call.
6/4/06 11:54 AM
ldpaulson said...
It's always wonderful to see what you've been working on and this jacket is no exception. Beautiful job! The twill certainly doesn't *look* cheap and the work-around to give the fabric more body is a good tip to keep in mind for future possible challenges as I assume it could be used on many other types of woven fashion fabrics. Thanks.
6/4/06 4:02 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Beautiful results Sue! Who knew that the ribbon would be the problem.
6/5/06 10:10 AM
Nata said...
It is very pretty. Glad you found the ribbon. The jacket is too nice for a wadder
6/5/06 7:22 PM
RuthieSews said...
Thank you for this review, I am planning to make this jacket :-)
8/18/08 2:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Simplicity 7270

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now