Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3016 (Today's Fit Vests)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1364 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews: 126 (patterns: 121)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/02 4:57 PM
Last Updated:10/18/02 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said... (10/19/02 10:01 AM) Reply
Nan, the "pigeon breast" would explain why these patterns feel like they've got so much fabric at my neck/chest area. I'm glad I'm not the only one who can't wear these.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/19/02 0:41 AM) Reply
I've had to make major alterations to make the SB patterns I've made fit--they seem to be cut for not just the lower large breast as mini mentioned, but also for a "pigeon breast", i.e., more flesh above the actual bust point. Also I've found them short waisted. So, I usually avoid them, though I was able to wrestle a wrap top into submission via lots of adjustments. In the end, though, I prefer regular Vogue or Buttericks for me. Nan
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/18/02 6:45 PM) Reply
Teri, I usually like boxy--suits my angular frame, I suppose. This vest just gives me the creeps when I put it on. All those flappy pleats, maybe.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/18/02 6:38 PM) Reply
Thank you for including the photo, I bought the pattern for $.99, but have hesitated making it cos I thought it might look too boxy. The picture confirmed that. I'll put my time into another pattern.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/18/02 5:11 PM) Reply
From what I have read, these patterns are designed for a specific "middle aged" figure type: narrow shoulders, large and low bustline, etc. Although I am middle aged, I don't match that body type so I have avoided these patterns. Based on the reviews and photos I have seen, these are definitely not for everyone. Thanks for your review and photos. They will help others avoid the same mistake.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1329

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
No Pattern Used Chair Bags

photo
by: Dale C

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Pattern Details