Online Sewing Class: Create a Jacket Muslin
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3016 (Today's Fit Vests)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1364 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews: 126 (patterns: 121)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/02 4:57 PM
Last Updated:10/18/02 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said... (10/19/02 10:01 AM) Reply
Nan, the "pigeon breast" would explain why these patterns feel like they've got so much fabric at my neck/chest area. I'm glad I'm not the only one who can't wear these.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/19/02 0:41 AM) Reply
I've had to make major alterations to make the SB patterns I've made fit--they seem to be cut for not just the lower large breast as mini mentioned, but also for a "pigeon breast", i.e., more flesh above the actual bust point. Also I've found them short waisted. So, I usually avoid them, though I was able to wrestle a wrap top into submission via lots of adjustments. In the end, though, I prefer regular Vogue or Buttericks for me. Nan
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/18/02 6:45 PM) Reply
Teri, I usually like boxy--suits my angular frame, I suppose. This vest just gives me the creeps when I put it on. All those flappy pleats, maybe.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/18/02 6:38 PM) Reply
Thank you for including the photo, I bought the pattern for $.99, but have hesitated making it cos I thought it might look too boxy. The picture confirmed that. I'll put my time into another pattern.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/18/02 5:11 PM) Reply
From what I have read, these patterns are designed for a specific "middle aged" figure type: narrow shoulders, large and low bustline, etc. Although I am middle aged, I don't match that body type so I have avoided these patterns. Based on the reviews and photos I have seen, these are definitely not for everyone. Thanks for your review and photos. They will help others avoid the same mistake.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Pattern Details