SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3016 (Today's Fit Vests)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1362 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/02 4:57 PM
Last Updated:10/18/02 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nan, the "pigeon breast" would explain why these patterns feel like they've got so much fabric at my neck/chest area. I'm glad I'm not the only one who can't wear these.
10/19/02 10:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've had to make major alterations to make the SB patterns I've made fit--they seem to be cut for not just the lower large breast as mini mentioned, but also for a "pigeon breast", i.e., more flesh above the actual bust point. Also I've found them short waisted. So, I usually avoid them, though I was able to wrestle a wrap top into submission via lots of adjustments. In the end, though, I prefer regular Vogue or Buttericks for me. Nan
10/19/02 0:41 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, I usually like boxy--suits my angular frame, I suppose. This vest just gives me the creeps when I put it on. All those flappy pleats, maybe.
10/18/02 6:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for including the photo, I bought the pattern for $.99, but have hesitated making it cos I thought it might look too boxy. The picture confirmed that. I'll put my time into another pattern.
10/18/02 6:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
From what I have read, these patterns are designed for a specific "middle aged" figure type: narrow shoulders, large and low bustline, etc. Although I am middle aged, I don't match that body type so I have avoided these patterns. Based on the reviews and photos I have seen, these are definitely not for everyone. Thanks for your review and photos. They will help others avoid the same mistake.
10/18/02 5:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 2621

photo
by: julmfoster

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-27

photo
by: 21wale

Review