SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3016 (Today's Fit Vests)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1362 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/02 4:57 PM
Last Updated:10/18/02 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
From what I have read, these patterns are designed for a specific "middle aged" figure type: narrow shoulders, large and low bustline, etc. Although I am middle aged, I don't match that body type so I have avoided these patterns. Based on the reviews and photos I have seen, these are definitely not for everyone. Thanks for your review and photos. They will help others avoid the same mistake.
10/18/02 5:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for including the photo, I bought the pattern for $.99, but have hesitated making it cos I thought it might look too boxy. The picture confirmed that. I'll put my time into another pattern.
10/18/02 6:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, I usually like boxy--suits my angular frame, I suppose. This vest just gives me the creeps when I put it on. All those flappy pleats, maybe.
10/18/02 6:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've had to make major alterations to make the SB patterns I've made fit--they seem to be cut for not just the lower large breast as mini mentioned, but also for a "pigeon breast", i.e., more flesh above the actual bust point. Also I've found them short waisted. So, I usually avoid them, though I was able to wrestle a wrap top into submission via lots of adjustments. In the end, though, I prefer regular Vogue or Buttericks for me. Nan
10/19/02 0:41 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nan, the "pigeon breast" would explain why these patterns feel like they've got so much fabric at my neck/chest area. I'm glad I'm not the only one who can't wear these.
10/19/02 10:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: nancy2001

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 11282-1000

photo
by: sewmodest

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now