SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4076 

203 more reviews
Viewed 2925 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:6/13/06 6:42 PM
Last Updated:4/9/07 11:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
I can see WHY your daughter likes the top too! Very cute top on a very cute girl. :o) I have this twist-top pattern, and you said one thing that has convinced me to try it (after deciding maybe twist tops just aren't for me): It has a vertical twist. I'm busty, and I think that may work better for me. Thanks so much!
4/13/07 2:13 AM
Marji said...
I really like your version of this with the cami underneath. And amazingly there is a pattern in here for 2 generations - now that is getting pattern bang for your buck! They look great. Thanks for all the tips too.
4/9/07 6:21 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Her top looks great on her - that pattern is earning it's keep!
4/9/07 4:50 PM
LiZ said...
Very nice twist top.
2/9/07 3:26 PM
ColleenS said...
A great top and a helpful review.
2/9/07 0:05 AM
ryankckids said...
I really like the re-do. Really helpful details. Thanks!
2/8/07 10:24 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great top! Motivated now to pull this out of my pattern stash and sew it up now... Great review!
2/8/07 7:00 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice Lisa.
2/8/07 1:28 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Lisa, this is a wonderful use of stripes! Very flattering ... this is the next project on my list! I see many versions of this in my stash ...
2/7/07 12:47 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great ideas and execution on your alterations. Thanks for the pattern pics! The new version looks great!
2/7/07 10:06 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice Lisa and thanks for such a helpful review. Have this pattern but wasn't sure how it would turn out - had a wadder with the Jalie twist top so have been hesitant - will now try this one.
2/7/07 9:02 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for all your technical advice. Very easy to understand. I like this on you in the stripe. I think the new one is the plain one. The fit adjustments make it look even better. The neck insert looks like it was designed that way.
2/7/07 8:57 AM
Ody said...
Boy, I haven't heard A hootchy mama in years!! I like this top and I think your review is great. I agree it could be a little longer.
2/7/07 0:23 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking top!
2/6/07 9:59 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I didn't change the length at all; that's the way it comes ;)
7/8/06 7:45 PM
dreamdesigner said...
You didn't shorten the length? I'm short, so very curious. Cute!
7/2/06 4:39 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great review Lisa, full of helpful hings. I wouldn't have thought about making sure the greatest stretch was around the bust, and I'd probably have forgotten to nip in the neckline a bit. Thanks for reviewing this pattern so soon.
6/19/06 8:58 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Ooh nice - I just ordered this for the gathered scoop neckline version - now I can't wait to do the twist version! Thanks.
6/18/06 8:25 PM
candyo said...
Wow, you're fast! I JUST got this pattern today!
6/17/06 3:58 PM
slanden99 said...
I like the effect of the stripes going different ways on this top. Very nice
6/14/06 6:03 PM
Hilary said...
Very cute! I love the contrasting direction of the stripes. Thanks for the review!
6/14/06 3:18 PM
Em's Summer said...
I agree that you should lengthen it, but other than that, it looks great!
6/14/06 12:20 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Great! Right after I buy the Butterick twist top pattern, and a Simplicity for a gathered scoop neck top (althought who ever reviewed it, gave it a bad one) and I was planning on buying the New Look wrap dress pattern to make a surplus wrap top - They come out with all three in one pattern! I'd be interested in how the other view turn out for you. This one is cute, but I agree it's too short
6/14/06 11:00 AM
wvsher said...
Very cute & looks great on you. What a great pattern -- twist top and wrap top in one envelope, and even a flutter sleeve variation. Wow!
6/14/06 10:47 AM
BjP said...
I like the way you used the stretch (stripes) to create a very cute top!
6/14/06 8:41 AM
mamakooz said...
Thats quick!!! It looks great.
6/14/06 6:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to see your review. I had not seen this top and like some of the other views as well so now it is on my wishlist.
6/14/06 5:25 AM
Levone said...
Your top looks great! I just bought this over the weekend for some of the other views, so now I'm anxious to try it out.
6/14/06 2:40 AM
sommeil said...
"A hootchy mama top! Fortunately, it looks much more demure w/a cami under it ;)" HAHAHA.. That's Great. :) Your top looks fab. I may have to try this one out.
6/14/06 0:09 AM
AndreaP said...
Very nice twist top, and it fits you perfectly!
6/13/06 10:51 PM
katynairn said...
That's gorgeous!
6/13/06 6:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-5

photo
by: Ghainskom

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

More Info
McCall's 6650

photo
by: CommanderK...

Review