Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4076 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2913 times 205 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:6/13/06 6:42 PM
Last Updated:4/9/07 11:56 AM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katynairn said...
That's gorgeous!
6/13/06 6:50 PM
AndreaP said...
Very nice twist top, and it fits you perfectly!
6/13/06 10:51 PM
sommeil said...
"A hootchy mama top! Fortunately, it looks much more demure w/a cami under it ;)" HAHAHA.. That's Great. :) Your top looks fab. I may have to try this one out.
6/14/06 0:09 AM
Levone said...
Your top looks great! I just bought this over the weekend for some of the other views, so now I'm anxious to try it out.
6/14/06 2:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to see your review. I had not seen this top and like some of the other views as well so now it is on my wishlist.
6/14/06 5:25 AM
mamakooz said...
Thats quick!!! It looks great.
6/14/06 6:59 AM
BjP said...
I like the way you used the stretch (stripes) to create a very cute top!
6/14/06 8:41 AM
wvsher said...
Very cute & looks great on you. What a great pattern -- twist top and wrap top in one envelope, and even a flutter sleeve variation. Wow!
6/14/06 10:47 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Great! Right after I buy the Butterick twist top pattern, and a Simplicity for a gathered scoop neck top (althought who ever reviewed it, gave it a bad one) and I was planning on buying the New Look wrap dress pattern to make a surplus wrap top - They come out with all three in one pattern! I'd be interested in how the other view turn out for you. This one is cute, but I agree it's too short
6/14/06 11:00 AM
Em's Summer said...
I agree that you should lengthen it, but other than that, it looks great!
6/14/06 12:20 PM
Hilary said...
Very cute! I love the contrasting direction of the stripes. Thanks for the review!
6/14/06 3:18 PM
slanden99 said...
I like the effect of the stripes going different ways on this top. Very nice
6/14/06 6:03 PM
candyo said...
Wow, you're fast! I JUST got this pattern today!
6/17/06 3:58 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Ooh nice - I just ordered this for the gathered scoop neckline version - now I can't wait to do the twist version! Thanks.
6/18/06 8:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great review Lisa, full of helpful hings. I wouldn't have thought about making sure the greatest stretch was around the bust, and I'd probably have forgotten to nip in the neckline a bit. Thanks for reviewing this pattern so soon.
6/19/06 8:58 PM
dreamdesigner said...
You didn't shorten the length? I'm short, so very curious. Cute!
7/2/06 4:39 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I didn't change the length at all; that's the way it comes ;)
7/8/06 7:45 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking top!
2/6/07 9:59 PM
Ody said...
Boy, I haven't heard A hootchy mama in years!! I like this top and I think your review is great. I agree it could be a little longer.
2/7/07 0:23 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for all your technical advice. Very easy to understand. I like this on you in the stripe. I think the new one is the plain one. The fit adjustments make it look even better. The neck insert looks like it was designed that way.
2/7/07 8:57 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice Lisa and thanks for such a helpful review. Have this pattern but wasn't sure how it would turn out - had a wadder with the Jalie twist top so have been hesitant - will now try this one.
2/7/07 9:02 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great ideas and execution on your alterations. Thanks for the pattern pics! The new version looks great!
2/7/07 10:06 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Lisa, this is a wonderful use of stripes! Very flattering ... this is the next project on my list! I see many versions of this in my stash ...
2/7/07 12:47 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice Lisa.
2/8/07 1:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great top! Motivated now to pull this out of my pattern stash and sew it up now... Great review!
2/8/07 7:00 AM
ryankckids said...
I really like the re-do. Really helpful details. Thanks!
2/8/07 10:24 AM
ColleenS said...
A great top and a helpful review.
2/9/07 0:05 AM
LiZ said...
Very nice twist top.
2/9/07 3:26 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Her top looks great on her - that pattern is earning it's keep!
4/9/07 4:50 PM
Marji said...
I really like your version of this with the cami underneath. And amazingly there is a pattern in here for 2 generations - now that is getting pattern bang for your buck! They look great. Thanks for all the tips too.
4/9/07 6:21 PM
Annette1 said...
I can see WHY your daughter likes the top too! Very cute top on a very cute girl. :o) I have this twist-top pattern, and you said one thing that has convinced me to try it (after deciding maybe twist tops just aren't for me): It has a vertical twist. I'm busty, and I think that may work better for me. Thanks so much!
4/13/07 2:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us