Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 2975 (Blouse) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 903 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:JAJenkins1971
photo
About JAJenkins1971
TX USA
Member since: 5/14/04
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/06 7:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
From the picture, I can't tell that the fabric is heavier than you would have liked for this style. The blouse that you made looks nice, and the color is light and perfect for summer! Thanks for this great review! Almost forgot to add...the pic doesn't look bizarre at all, but your comment about squatting is too too funny! I only noticed it after you pointed it out. :-)
6/20/06 8:46 PM
Em's Summer said...
Deleted duplicate comment. :-O
6/20/06 8:48 PM
Em's Summer said...
Deleted duplicate comment. :-O
6/20/06 8:49 PM
bunz said...
comfort always wins -- doesn't it ?
6/20/06 9:45 PM
jessika said...
I think this top looks great. I am now considering makeing one. Great Job.
6/20/06 10:05 PM
wvsher said...
Nice top, looks comfy and well constructed.
6/20/06 10:35 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I have those "feeling fat" days too and always wind up having to take in patterns I cut out on those days. I like this style too, but I know they aren't my most flattering style. Yours looks cute in that eyelet. Very comfy with jeans.
6/21/06 2:40 AM
fuzzygalore said...
On the whole, loose styles look best with light, drapey fabric. Remember rayon in the 80s for all those big boxy shirts? So, while I like the color too, and I think it's very cute, you might do well to aim lighter for the next one, it sounds like there will definitely be a next one :-).

If you were going to make any modification to mollify the husband, I'd say shorten the sleeves a bit - they hit right at your widest point, which is usually not the right effect. A bit shorter would look more contemporary too. Thanks for pointing out this utterly comfortable shirt!
6/21/06 3:05 AM

Mary Stiefer said...
Fuzzy Galore has the right idea. I think her recommendations might make DH feel a bit better. You've done a nice job but perhaps a lighter weight fabric would make it much more comfy.
6/21/06 9:01 AM
JAJenkins1971 said...
Some great ideas in the comments!! Thank you!
6/21/06 9:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 8774 jeans
photo
Review by velosewer on 3/28/14
Read Review

Simplicity 1529 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1529 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8305 Pattern
Burda 8305 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5495 Misses' Top
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 8/16/10
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us