SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2908 (misses panties)

31 more reviews
Viewed 6589 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/06 10:53 PM
Last Updated:6/24/06 11:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 53 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
misspinkk said...
I will buy this pattern. I have never made undies before but reading about undies fitting convinced me to try it out. I can't wait. Liked all the pictures too.
7/18/09 0:13 AM
Athene said...
Lots of great panties. Very helpful review - thank you.
4/18/09 4:28 AM
Nancywin said...
great looking panties, and I agree about the whole loose crotch thing. I've noticed that more and more in rtw undies and I do not like it. If nothing else, it looks unfinished to me - and the end always seems to roll.
1/25/08 0:12 AM
Lhan said...
Having just done my first foray into lingerie, I have found your review incredibly helpful - probably more than if I hadn't had a go already. I intend to use several of your tips for my next attempts. I agree about the open lining - my only pattern so far has an enclosed one, so now I know how to change any that are open. And I had been concerned about the "lump" formed by the elastic at the leg seams - I shall try your technique next time. Thanks!
8/6/06 7:20 AM
JDpenelope said...
I missed this review. It's another great one. Maybe I'll get the nerve to try some of your ideas. Thanks for the usual top notch instructions and tips.
8/1/06 11:48 AM
angie.a said...
Great review & very pretty panties :o) I gotta get this pattern!
7/2/06 10:18 AM
SarahWeb said...
Debbie, I usually don't spend a lot of time looking at the lingerie reviews, but yours grabbed me. Yes! Scraps! A whole new idea. I guess I've gotten away from sewing panties because I had it in my mind that I would have to buy separate fabrics to make them. Thanks for waking me up to this idea!
6/29/06 10:57 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Great instructions, great inspiration for me to give the undies a go. Thanks!
6/26/06 7:29 PM
Kelly D. said...
Debbie, thanks for the fabulous review. I haven't made any undies for a long time but you've inspired me to drag out my pattern with the one seam up the back from 20 years ago and spread the pattern a little to match the spread of my hips. I loved those panties and they never rode up at all. Don't know why I stopped making them, probably all the teasing from my family...
6/26/06 7:16 PM
SewTwin said...
Debbie,I think there should be an extra button for "Great Reviews".As always, I print some of your pointers, and you should be in the Sewing Divas, as you are!I hope I will be in your league, someday!You have the pics down to an art! Thanks again for the tips,they will all be helpful.
6/26/06 1:31 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, noice undies! Panties is too refined for us down here. Undies is short for undergarments or perhaps hehe underdaks! Well, whatever, yours look great. One day I plan to make some and wear them so that they match the tops made in the same fabric.
6/25/06 11:40 PM
sideseams said...
You are just amazing. Another great review. I have never made undies before but now I am thinking that I should try it. Thanks Debbie!
6/25/06 9:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty collection of panties Debbie!
6/25/06 8:10 PM
elizajo said...
Thanks for the link to the crotch panel instructions. Very helpful, as usual!
6/25/06 2:37 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Lorna, No, I haven't tried the Jalie pattern. I figure I've got this one TNT now so I'll just stick with it.

Linscee, I haven't actually used any of the patterns in the book, just the techniques, so I'm not sure how the two patterns compare. I'll try to remember to have a look while I've still got everything out.

AliceB, I used 3/8" plush picot elastic for both leg and waist openings. I don't have sensitive skin, so it doesn't bother me at all. Do you have a latex sensitivity? Maybe you could try non-latex elastics? Or maybe you can just completely encase the elastic in the panty edges. There are instrux in the pattern for that method too.

Countrybug, the bra pattern is from my pattern software, Curves.
6/25/06 12:19 PM

countrybug said...
LOVE it!! Especially the pretty purple bra and panty. What pattern did you do them from?
6/25/06 12:17 PM
AliceB said...
Debbie, Terrific review as per your usual standard. :) What kind of elastic do you use on the leg openings? I find even the 1/4" picot edge elastic to be irritating to my tender self. Thanks
6/25/06 12:00 PM
PVA said...
Wow, Debbie -- Another free tutorial! Thanks for the great review. & what a terrific way to use all those knit scraps!
6/25/06 11:04 AM
purpleseamstress said...
Love the review and now I know exactly what I want to do with my knit scraps. The book seems like it would be helpful, I wonder if there is a review. Thank you for sharing your panty project. I hope to be making some in the future.
6/25/06 11:01 AM
frame said...
These look great. I've used the pattern from the Lingerie Book and found that the crotch piece was way too wide in it also. How does this pattern differ from the pattern in the book? - besides the fact that the pattern has more panty variations.
6/25/06 10:21 AM
slanden99 said...
Great review. That's a great idea for using scraps of fabric.
6/25/06 9:44 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Debbie, have you tried the Jalie panties? They have a seam for the lining, but it is exposed. It does lie flat, though. I may have to get the KS book. Thanks for yet another detailed review. I learn so much from your posts!
6/25/06 9:28 AM
Liane M said...
I'm kicking myself for all the scraps I have tossed that could be in my panty drawer now. I need to get this pattern. I have a big stack of tee shirts in the works, so I'll the scraps soon. I've been wanting to try a throng every since WNTW did their undies show. I somehow can't bring myself to pay $15.00 for a string and a scrap. This sounds like the ticket. Thanks Debbie for another great review and for inspiring me to sew new stuff.
6/25/06 8:33 AM
lazylol said...
Brilliant review - I need to get this pattern and give it a go!
6/25/06 6:01 AM
brrmm said...
Nice daks Debbie. I can imagine your happy face each morning !!
6/25/06 4:14 AM
Liana said...
It's been a long time since I made panties, but maybe I should start again. Those are so cute!
6/25/06 3:35 AM
tlmck3 said...
OK. This cinches it. I bought a few panty patterns this week but for some reason this was not one of them...can't remember why I took a pass on it. I'll have to take another look at that Kwik Sew Lingerie book as well. Something about the graphic design of the cover art has always put me off in the past, but this is the 2nd time it's been mentioned this week as being invaluable.
6/25/06 3:00 AM
clematis said...
As usual Debbie, your review is extremely helpful! Your panties are beautiful. I'm so glad I kept all my scraps from EmmsOneSock. Now I will attempt to make some undies that are as pretty as yours. Thanks alot. Lynne
6/25/06 1:50 AM
Sherril Miller said...
OK, the comment about the discreet tug cinched it for me. I've got to get this pattern! Thanks for the visuals on how you altered the pattern and thanks for the pics of such pretty panties.
6/25/06 0:51 AM
lornakismet said...
Maybe someday I will sew panties. Meanwhile, I will admire yours. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/25/06 0:44 AM
HJM said...
I will have to try this pattern. I have been experimenting with undies for my DDs. First I took apart a pair they had that I thought fit fine. They were so off grain and cut very unevenly that that was not a wonderful success. Then I made a couple of revisions of drafted patterns. I am still working on a pattern for them. They think they are all nice. I do like the lining seams enclosed. So much nicer!
6/24/06 11:58 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Sounds like a great weekend of sewing! A pair for every day of the week.
6/24/06 11:28 PM
donna wicks said...
Very pretty! You do such a good review of patterns..always a joy to see your projects!
6/24/06 11:25 PM
Lori V said...
Pretty undies, Debbie. Now I see some bras to match, are you going to make matching bras for all those panties!!!!
6/24/06 11:18 PM
Riordan said...
Thank you for the wonderful instructions! (Lovely undies!)
6/24/06 11:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Burda 8358

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now