Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 971 (Swimcap) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1272 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Neefer
photo
About Neeferstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/06 5:57 PM
Last Updated:8/23/06 1:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I've been thinking of drafting my own pattern for a swim cap for my little daughter and her pals, since stuffing their heads into the latex or silicone ones is a hassle. Do you think I need the pattern, or is it just two sort of half-circles with a strip/gusset down the middle, like the RTW ones?
8/22/06 6:11 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern, I had never thought of making my own swimmming caps. I am a regular lap swimmer and like you said buy caps once or twice a year. In summer I find the silicone ones very warm! as tehy don't breath at all. Swimwear fabric would solve this. Thanks.
8/22/06 6:40 PM
carolhope said...
Thanks for this review. I just finished making grandmother/toddler granddaughter bathing suits and it would be too cute to have matching caps too! Seriously, we do not wear our suits at the same time, just occasionally at the "Y" pool. It looks as if tyour cap is six triangular pieces sew together with the points all joining at this top. Is this so? I have a pattern for a fleece hat like this that would probably work. I'll at least make matching headbands, if not caps. Thanks so much for the idea!
8/22/06 11:09 PM
pterion said...
Oh, I remember this swimwear fabric from your bathing suit review! Gotta love patterns that make use of all the remnants and scraps. Good idea!
8/23/06 3:02 PM
Mary Reed said...
WOW!! I really want a swim cap, but I have a large head (my mother used to say it had rocks in it!) I am a man's 7 5/8 sized head - ex large mens hats barely fit. Most swim caps give me a head ache and leave a very deep mark. Yuck. I wish there was a way to get the swim cap pattern without buying the pattern. Oh well. Thanks for the review.
8/23/06 11:33 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
How cool! Thanks for reviewing it and I hope you get a lot out of it. In Taiwan these are required for all pools, and every suit (men's & women's) is sold with one. I always wanted a pattern... thx!
8/24/06 3:27 PM
KAB said...
Charming and practical solution for lap swimming. I'm fascinated by all hats and headgear, so your review brought a happy smile to my face.
8/25/06 11:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 6404
photo
Review by DD1104 on 1/5/14
Read Review

Butterick 5371 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5371 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4142
photo
Review by sewnaomi on 7/5/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us