SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 971 (Swimcap)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1275 times 
Reviewed by:Neefer
photo

 
 
About Neeferstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/06 5:57 PM
Last Updated:8/23/06 1:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I've been thinking of drafting my own pattern for a swim cap for my little daughter and her pals, since stuffing their heads into the latex or silicone ones is a hassle. Do you think I need the pattern, or is it just two sort of half-circles with a strip/gusset down the middle, like the RTW ones?
8/22/06 6:11 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern, I had never thought of making my own swimmming caps. I am a regular lap swimmer and like you said buy caps once or twice a year. In summer I find the silicone ones very warm! as tehy don't breath at all. Swimwear fabric would solve this. Thanks.
8/22/06 6:40 PM
carolhope said...
Thanks for this review. I just finished making grandmother/toddler granddaughter bathing suits and it would be too cute to have matching caps too! Seriously, we do not wear our suits at the same time, just occasionally at the "Y" pool. It looks as if tyour cap is six triangular pieces sew together with the points all joining at this top. Is this so? I have a pattern for a fleece hat like this that would probably work. I'll at least make matching headbands, if not caps. Thanks so much for the idea!
8/22/06 11:09 PM
pterion said...
Oh, I remember this swimwear fabric from your bathing suit review! Gotta love patterns that make use of all the remnants and scraps. Good idea!
8/23/06 3:02 PM
Mary Reed said...
WOW!! I really want a swim cap, but I have a large head (my mother used to say it had rocks in it!) I am a man's 7 5/8 sized head - ex large mens hats barely fit. Most swim caps give me a head ache and leave a very deep mark. Yuck. I wish there was a way to get the swim cap pattern without buying the pattern. Oh well. Thanks for the review.
8/23/06 11:33 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
How cool! Thanks for reviewing it and I hope you get a lot out of it. In Taiwan these are required for all pools, and every suit (men's & women's) is sold with one. I always wanted a pattern... thx!
8/24/06 3:27 PM
KAB said...
Charming and practical solution for lap swimming. I'm fascinated by all hats and headgear, so your review brought a happy smile to my face.
8/25/06 11:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 5135

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 82155-1006

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now