SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4110 (Built By Wendy Pants)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1283 times 
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/06 10:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolineG said...
Gorgeous! I love that you custom make all your Daughter's pants - lucky girl!
7/9/06 10:24 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'll bet it beats the fit you can get in 99% of the RTW pants out there. I think they look great! Okay - I throw in the towel. Another pattern on the wish list.....
7/9/06 10:34 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful! I love them!
7/9/06 11:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Looks fabulous - lucky girl your daughter is! Thanks for the review!
7/9/06 11:50 PM
Seaspur said...
Those look fantastic! I have the pattern and now I really want to get to it. Thanks for the review.
7/10/06 0:19 AM
lmg said...
Thanks everyone. How do I get rid of the pulling in the front crotch (and in the back). Should I lower the front crotch some more? Any help would be appreciated.
7/10/06 7:39 AM
Kay Y said...
I think the back looks good given that this is a jeans style - I don't read the wrinkles as pulling. For the front, try reshaping the crotch curve a smidge (that's the technical term!) by bringing it in, closer to the body i.e. less of a pronounced curve or angle near the bottom of the zip, so as to put a bit of extra fabric where the pulling is pointing. You may also have to shave a corresponding amount off on the front hip curve opposite where you have added extra width at the CF. I hope this idea helps... Kay
7/10/06 8:42 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I agree with Kay. Instead of having the front crotch shaped like an "L", try sloping it a little, like one side of a "V". (I tried to put in a forward slash character here, but apparently we can't do that in comments. It was a blank space.)
7/10/06 4:09 PM
Eli said...
I have the other two Wendy's patterns and have been contemplating this one. This review convinced me to. I have similar figure as your daugher, in the sense that it is more boyish and I love how the front rise is realy low, yet the back is fairly demure.
7/10/06 5:21 PM
patsijean said...
These pants are quite cute, and do fit better than ready to wear. I fear that many girls do not know much about correct fit. Have you ever noticed how many girls wear jeans with seats cut so flat and small they completely flatten and distort the girl's butt? Very unflattering. The seat of your daughter's pants are near perfect. I would agree that the front crotch line needs to be filled in a bit to form more of a backslash shape (with some of the curve left).
7/11/06 0:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 5860

photo
by: Byrdie

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now