SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6443 (Camisole & Tap Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2294 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/06 9:22 AM
Last Updated:7/12/06 9:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Gosh, I'm sorry this didn't work for you. On the other hand, you found this fabulous fabric. I would have gone back for more, too. Thanks for a detailed review.
7/12/06 10:07 AM
Rustybobn said...
I wouldn't say it didn't work, exactly, it was just unnecessarily difficult getting there! Yup, the fabric is great.
7/12/06 10:25 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very thorough review - and a lovely product. That fabric is just georgeous. Can't wait to see what else it becomes!
7/12/06 10:29 AM
Lori V said...
Sorry it was such a hassle, the end product is very good. I love the fabric and can see why you went for more!!
7/12/06 11:26 AM
kremmer said...
I love the fabric - it's so pretty! Shame about it not being an enjoyable project to make. Looks good though!
7/12/06 12:15 PM
AliceB said...
Georgous fabric, wonderful product. Thanks for such a complete review.
7/12/06 12:31 PM
Elona said...
Wow, not one favorable review of this pattern! Not a recommendation, to say the least. And yet, and yet, the finished product looks very, cute in the photos of every review! Has anyone made the Kwik Sew bias camis, for the sake of comparison?
7/12/06 12:39 PM
RuthieSews said...
I bought this pattern wanting to make the camisole top, but I've now read the reviews and regretting that I did. :( How do you think it would work out cut on the straight grain instead?
7/12/06 1:12 PM
JDpenelope said...
After reading your review and Drsue's, a light bulb has gone off in my mind -- I now know better why my bias-cut, silk charmeuse nightgown is so uncomfortable, especially in the bodice, where it slips around willy nilly during the night. I still like the idea of bias cut pants, though, and would like to try those, provided the waist is at a comfortable position. Your review is very thorough and educational.
7/12/06 2:45 PM
ccris said...
I'm sorry it didn't work out for you because it looks so pretty, the fabric, color, and style.
7/12/06 3:07 PM
KathleenS said...
That explains why a KS cami I made has a facing! Your finished set is cute - you did a good job of saving it.
7/12/06 6:38 PM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! I do think a facing would stabilize the top. On the front bodice, perhaps you could cut two of them and have that area doubled. That would also allow you to hide the ends of the straps between the layers. You would still need to alter the pattern to keep it from being too large and too short...
7/13/06 8:28 AM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it didn't work, but thanks for the heads up. The fabric looks beautiful, I'm glad you were able to get more!
7/13/06 10:17 AM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it didn't work, but thanks for the heads up. The fabric looks really good in the pic, I'm glad you were able to get more!
7/13/06 10:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now