SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6443 (Camisole & Tap Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2295 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/06 9:22 AM
Last Updated:7/12/06 9:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it didn't work, but thanks for the heads up. The fabric looks really good in the pic, I'm glad you were able to get more!
7/13/06 10:17 AM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it didn't work, but thanks for the heads up. The fabric looks beautiful, I'm glad you were able to get more!
7/13/06 10:17 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! I do think a facing would stabilize the top. On the front bodice, perhaps you could cut two of them and have that area doubled. That would also allow you to hide the ends of the straps between the layers. You would still need to alter the pattern to keep it from being too large and too short...
7/13/06 8:28 AM
KathleenS said...
That explains why a KS cami I made has a facing! Your finished set is cute - you did a good job of saving it.
7/12/06 6:38 PM
ccris said...
I'm sorry it didn't work out for you because it looks so pretty, the fabric, color, and style.
7/12/06 3:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
After reading your review and Drsue's, a light bulb has gone off in my mind -- I now know better why my bias-cut, silk charmeuse nightgown is so uncomfortable, especially in the bodice, where it slips around willy nilly during the night. I still like the idea of bias cut pants, though, and would like to try those, provided the waist is at a comfortable position. Your review is very thorough and educational.
7/12/06 2:45 PM
RuthieSews said...
I bought this pattern wanting to make the camisole top, but I've now read the reviews and regretting that I did. :( How do you think it would work out cut on the straight grain instead?
7/12/06 1:12 PM
Elona said...
Wow, not one favorable review of this pattern! Not a recommendation, to say the least. And yet, and yet, the finished product looks very, cute in the photos of every review! Has anyone made the Kwik Sew bias camis, for the sake of comparison?
7/12/06 12:39 PM
AliceB said...
Georgous fabric, wonderful product. Thanks for such a complete review.
7/12/06 12:31 PM
kremmer said...
I love the fabric - it's so pretty! Shame about it not being an enjoyable project to make. Looks good though!
7/12/06 12:15 PM
Lori V said...
Sorry it was such a hassle, the end product is very good. I love the fabric and can see why you went for more!!
7/12/06 11:26 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very thorough review - and a lovely product. That fabric is just georgeous. Can't wait to see what else it becomes!
7/12/06 10:29 AM
Rustybobn said...
I wouldn't say it didn't work, exactly, it was just unnecessarily difficult getting there! Yup, the fabric is great.
7/12/06 10:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Gosh, I'm sorry this didn't work for you. On the other hand, you found this fabulous fabric. I would have gone back for more, too. Thanks for a detailed review.
7/12/06 10:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2809

photo
by: HelenM01

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

More Info
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info