SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Muscle Heat Pad (Microwave Muscle Soother Pad)

Viewed 3162 times 
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AnneMstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/02 6:16 PM
Last Updated:12/4/10 3:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
This is a great gift idea. My mother had something similar that finally fell apart. She used it quite a bit, especially when it got cold. I'll have to make her one. Thanks for the review!
10/29/02 7:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for this useful idea and for your detailed instructions! I will be making one for myself soon, and these sound like they would be good holiday gifts.
10/29/02 7:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
AnneM i have got to make one of these ! so if you so happen to burn the rice. do you have to take the bag apart and put new rice in ? or can you use the same rice over once it cools down. i've never used one of these bags but have heard great comments about them. i was just worried about the rice getting burned. BECAUSE im always burning our meals. i try not to. but if i can burn water, then.....
10/29/02 9:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks so much for sharing this with us. I have been considering making something like this for my friends for Christmas, and this one sounds perfect!
10/29/02 10:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Maria: it depends on how badly you burn it. If it is very light, then you don't have to replace it. But if it is burnt more, then it smells burnt and is rather unpleasant to use until you take it apart, wash it, and then refill it with new rice.
10/29/02 10:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
These are nice even went you arn't sore, just cold!
10/29/02 11:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I really want to thank you for posting these instructions. Now I know what I'm going to make for Xmas gifts...
10/30/02 4:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've got something similar - a wheat bag. When heating it I put a 1/2 cup of water in the microwave to prevent it heating to the point of catching fire. I don't know whether this would work for rice as well?
10/31/02 9:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
KarenP said...
Anne, I wanted to let you know that I made 3 of these for Christmas gifts. They turned out great! Thank you so much for the instructions. I filled mine with cherry pits, but haven't tried heating one yet. Now I have to make one for myself. :-) P.S. When you heat yours, do you remove the fleece cover?
12/13/02 4:15 PM
AnneM said...
Karen, no - I leave the fleece cover right on it. Glad this review was helpful. I am curious where you got the cherrypits - did you mailorder them? What do they smell like? I like the smell of the jasmine rice plus the nutmeg & clove, so I am hesitant to try anything else.
12/13/02 9:50 PM
KarenP said...
I ordered the cherry pits online from The Cherry Pit Store (www.cherrypitstore.com). I have to admit that had never did heat up a pad, and now they're in the mail. Unheated, the pits smelled a bit fruity. I did not add that nutmeg and cloves, but I would think the smells would be compatible. By the way, because the cherry pits are larger than rice, I only made 4 pouches in the center area.
12/16/02 5:46 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thx AnneM for this nifty review! What a perfect gift idea, and just in time for holiday sewing. Thank you! BTW I use a purchased cherry pit heating pad and it smells faintly fruity. I like it. You could add the spices to the cherry pits too.
11/10/03 6:24 AM
Tee Jay said...
Thanks for the gift idea. I bought rice bags called "bed buddies" years ago and still use them. The people who started that made millions I think. I might try to make rice filled "mittens" for my Dad who has bad arthritis in his thumbs. I'm thinking of a "double" mitten, one pocket for the hands, one pocket for a replaceable rice pad.
11/10/03 7:44 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thanks for the hint on adding spices! I used to use an old sock filled with rice to soothe a shoulder injury, but finally got tired of the rice smell. Adding cloves and nutmeg....brilliant!!
11/10/03 8:09 AM
moonfleur said...
Ooooh... these are wonderful. Whenever I was sick with bronchitis or had asthma attacks as a kid, my mom would give me a sock filled with rice to put on my chest. The heat helped to clear me up so I could breathe.
11/10/03 9:57 AM
Norma Hyman said...
Thank you for this idea for gift-giving; the design and velcro will beat any I've ever used or made!
10/24/04 10:03 AM
Nana said...
thanks,,,,,I have done "rice" & feed corn that I got at the feed store
5/26/05 4:25 PM
fesnina said...
Great gift idea Ann, thanks for posting. I may make these for the ladies in my office. Have you considered using sticky-back velcro instead of the sew-on type, to avoid the dull needles? Then maybe just stitch it in a couple of places to reinforce.
11/4/05 6:10 PM
Rebecca D said...
I made these for my family last year and everyone loved them. Thanks, Anne.
11/6/05 8:59 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Anne - thanks for that review (even though it's a few years old). I'm going to try this tomorrow. BTW the picture is gone... Would you consider updating it ?
11/21/06 2:14 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks, Maria! I'll update that, hopefully tonight.
11/22/06 7:27 AM
BeckyC said...
Thanks Anne! These heating pads would make a great gift for my aging siblings! ; )
11/22/06 9:07 PM
appleton78 said...
This is SUPER!! I am looking for ideas for Christmas gifts that won't cost an arm and a leg. I have everything needed for this, so cash layout would be zero! Thanks so much!! Great Job!
10/20/09 9:10 AM
homejewel said...
How timely. I'm sitting in my recliner icing my aching back and am having to constantly adjust the ice pack. This would be great to make for my ice pack. Thanks for the idea!
10/20/09 1:12 PM
sewbehind said...
This is wonderful. Now they have these bags that use a metal disk with vinegar to have a chemical heating reaction. It would be good for these too. Great thinking!
10/20/09 6:13 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great idea! Thanks for sharing!
12/4/10 3:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Did someone mention "cold and achy"? YOU RANG? :o) This is a GREAT idea, both as a gift and to enjoy yourself. It looks like your cat wants to lay down on the heated pad. :o))
12/5/10 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
No Pattern Used tshirt

photo
by: colormefun

Review