SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> mm_ht Heavenly Twinset (Heavenly Twinset)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1427 times 
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/06 11:10 PM
Last Updated:7/29/06 11:39 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristen said...
Pretty!!!
7/29/06 11:11 PM
Celeste said...
That looks so exquisite!! Wow and wow again!!!!
7/29/06 11:23 PM
Terri Smith said...
I, too, made the mistake of ordering a GG size pattern. For some reason, HotPatterns assumes a great deal about body size and bust size proportion! However, your top looks very nice, and I am looking forward to a pic with you wearing the cami and top.
7/29/06 11:35 PM
jemgirlca said...
Your twinset looks really pretty! My size 12 GG was reaaly wide on both of the carigans I've tried, too.
7/29/06 11:55 PM
BeckyC said...
The cardigan is gorgeous! Love the fabric and how you treated the front placket. Can't wait to see a picture of you wearing your twinset.
7/29/06 11:57 PM
LoriB said...
Georgene, knowing your experience with patterns, I was looking forward to your critique of HP but your review doesn't leave me with good feelings. It's a good review, but it confirmed that I have to really be aware of the pattern and what it's doing or I'll be sure to end up with a wadder. So what type of body is the Glamour Girl pattern (badly) drafted for anyway? And is the pattern really worth all the fiddling?
7/30/06 0:04 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, what a beautiful lace! I love what you've done with it & look forward to the photo!
7/30/06 0:18 AM
fuzzygalore said...
As far as I know, only Kwik Sew grades patterns close to correctly in the US. A friend of mind, 300+lb, used to buy her Vogue patterns in 2 sizes, including the 14 that fit her neck and shoulders. If you want larger sizes, you need Burda or Neue Mode or something European. Ironic, eh :-)?
7/30/06 1:13 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty colors
7/30/06 3:49 AM
els said...
Beautiful color lace fabric, and despite your troubles with the pattern the cardigan looks very pretty.
7/30/06 4:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
That is one fine looking cardigan. Would love to see the set on you when you find a photographer.
7/30/06 5:23 AM
blue mooney said...
very pretty - looks like it was worth all your work. Thanks for the review!
7/30/06 7:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
As aslways, a stunner! I love that you made this pattern work for you, you slinky girl you! -Ann
7/30/06 7:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful! I learned the hardway that though my measurements are equivalent to GG size; the GG size is huge. I leave the sewing of HP patterns to others as my experience has not been positive. I do love their styles and enjoy reading the successes others have.
7/30/06 7:54 AM
bunz said...
I bet this color combo looks terrific on you! Thanks for an excellent review.
7/30/06 8:29 AM
LauraM62 said...
All your work makes it look like a wonderful twinset! I have yet to buy a HP - I'm not sure what size would work.
7/30/06 8:54 AM
MaryBeth said...
I would love to read a review from you of a Slinky Girl sized pattern from HP. I suspect that even though I'm *not*, the Slinky Girl sizing would work better for me, too. Thx for the written demo of preplanning for button and placket size, it needs doing before the cutting for a proper result. Your result is beautiful. I await the passing by of a proper photographer!
7/30/06 8:58 AM
PhyllisC said...
Wow Georgene! I love it. Usually I see this color combo switched (dark tim on blue) but I like this much much better.
7/30/06 9:06 AM
cmarie12 said...
I love the combination of fabrics! The pieces are beautiful!
7/30/06 9:58 AM
touran said...
Gorgeous colors. You make the most beautiful clothes.
7/30/06 10:03 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love the colour! I also contemplated a GG size, but decided that the CG would suit best and in the 2 patterns I have tried, so far I am right. That does not mean there aren't some adjustments, but so far they have been minimal ... (fingers crossed). I have a cardigan that I want to do for fall, so I will have to see how my theory works for that one!
7/30/06 10:04 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Beautifully made. Great marriage of fabrics in the creation of the twinset, too.
7/30/06 10:50 AM
Linda F said...
My measurements also qualified for the GG size. Before I ordered I sent an email to Trudy with my across shoulder measurement and my bust. She recommended the Slinky Girl size and a FBA, which is what I bought but have not tried yet. There seems to be a critical measurement missing on their size charts that helps us to determine what is the best size. I don't what it is though. I sincerely hope that Trudy starts to move away from the computer program she uses and begins to listen to her intuition. Yes, it is time consuming to draft by hand, but at the higher prices of an independent company, I believe that is what we are paying for. Thank you for your great review. If I order this, I will approach it with my eyes wide open.
7/30/06 11:27 AM
drsue said...
Great job as usual! However, the small slinky sizes don't fit well either, I'm afraid.
7/30/06 11:31 AM
Georgene said...
I'm convinced that the problem lies in the grading rules that were input to the CAD system. I am not familiar with what software that HP uses, but I have seen aberrant grading happen like this elsewhere. Thank you all for your kind comments. This will be a TNT pattern for me now, I will probably use it for years to come. I much prefer the silhouette achieved to KwikSew's frumpy sleeve and armhole draft. It seems that any commercial pattern I use requires the time it takes to do a proper fitting.
7/30/06 1:16 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really lovely Georgene!
7/30/06 3:08 PM
twistedangel said...
Hi Georgene! This turned out so beautiful! It can be difficult getting that perfect fit that you're after, but once you've found it, well worth the trouble. You've pointed out one of the things about HP that I like... nothing is frumpy. Unfortunately, that generally means you will have to fiddle with the fit more than usual to get the finished product all the way there. It's a tradeoff, really.
7/30/06 5:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6170

photo
by: rmusic1

Review