SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Master Pattern Book> Making Handbags (Leather purse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1987 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/06 10:58 PM
Last Updated:8/2/06 8:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jnamcd said...
Cute bag and excellent review!
8/1/06 11:57 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Lovely! and I remember your buying the leather in New York...and I like your new picture, too-(sans glasses, I notice) AND a new hairdo, too?? All of which are lovely. I don't know how you have time to sew. It's always a pleasure reading your reviews. thanks
8/2/06 2:35 AM
stitchwitch said...
Your bag is very chic!
8/2/06 4:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Ooooh... dig it! The color and flower make it funky. You don't see that style of bag very often, much less in leather so your bag is a real piece of envy. *Nice*
8/2/06 5:11 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I remember that leather! I love your bag. Question - did you sew around the cutouts too? If so, did you find that the rubber cement made the needle gunky, or was it okay? -Ann
8/2/06 7:26 AM
JDpenelope said...
Amazing project and execution -- for someone who isn't handy....! Ha! Did you use a leather needle or any special thread?
8/2/06 8:13 AM
carolynw said...
Just beautiful!! Really neat work.
8/2/06 9:24 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Fabulous bag. Great idea with the the cut outs for embellishing. As usual, another job well done.
8/2/06 9:35 AM
bunz said...
That is one sharp looking bag!! I love your fix for what would have been sharp inside edges, and thanks for all the leather tips.
8/2/06 10:35 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great bag, Deepika!
8/2/06 10:44 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for a great review -- love the bag! I'll have to look for this book. MY DGK's would enjoy a bag like this one.
8/2/06 10:47 AM
mistrydesigns said...
Very cool bag Deepika! Great tips too!
8/2/06 12:04 PM
drsue said...
That purse is adorable, and your tips on leather sewing a great! I'm curious about the dowels as purse handles: do they slide out?
8/2/06 12:16 PM
Deepika said...
This purse is for my sister-in-law to be (brother's fiancee). I sure hope that she likes it. Thanks everyone for such nice comments.

Ann, I didnt topstitch around the flower and I hope that the glue stays on :). However since I glued the entire bag to the lining leather with the rubber cement I can confidently say that it didnt gum up the needle while stitching the bag together. I love this stuff. The bottle comes with a handy applicator brush.

drsue The book recommends a 3/8" dowel but I used one slightly thicker. The dowels do slide out still, but I am thinking of putting a dot of hot glue on the dowels and then inserting them in the channels quickly. That should fix this problem.
8/2/06 12:47 PM
ncegbu said...
Great bag. As for the handles, you can cut the dowels a bit shorter, stick one end in (either right or left side as you look at the bag), continue the stitching on that end to close the channel, then stick the other end in and stitch that channel closed. Be sure to cut off enough dowel to give you space on the ends to sew, but not too much that it won't stay in the channels. It is probably easiest to use a zipper foot to do the sewing with the dowels inserted.
8/2/06 1:04 PM
Muria said...
The salesman at the hardware store probably recommended clearcoating so that the stain wouldn't rub off onto your hands while you're carrying the bag (if your hands get sweaty, it can happen). I don't know whether the stain you used will have this problem or not, but it's something to consider (that you may have to restain and clearcoat it if you have trouble). Cute purse though!
8/3/06 10:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1127

photo
by: Sewtox

Review
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now