Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Master Pattern Book: Making Handbags (Leather purse) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1987 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/06 10:58 PM
Last Updated:8/2/06 8:35 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jnamcd said...
Cute bag and excellent review!
8/1/06 11:57 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Lovely! and I remember your buying the leather in New York...and I like your new picture, too-(sans glasses, I notice) AND a new hairdo, too?? All of which are lovely. I don't know how you have time to sew. It's always a pleasure reading your reviews. thanks
8/2/06 2:35 AM
stitchwitch said...
Your bag is very chic!
8/2/06 4:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Ooooh... dig it! The color and flower make it funky. You don't see that style of bag very often, much less in leather so your bag is a real piece of envy. *Nice*
8/2/06 5:11 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I remember that leather! I love your bag. Question - did you sew around the cutouts too? If so, did you find that the rubber cement made the needle gunky, or was it okay? -Ann
8/2/06 7:26 AM
JDpenelope said...
Amazing project and execution -- for someone who isn't handy....! Ha! Did you use a leather needle or any special thread?
8/2/06 8:13 AM
carolynw said...
Just beautiful!! Really neat work.
8/2/06 9:24 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Fabulous bag. Great idea with the the cut outs for embellishing. As usual, another job well done.
8/2/06 9:35 AM
bunz said...
That is one sharp looking bag!! I love your fix for what would have been sharp inside edges, and thanks for all the leather tips.
8/2/06 10:35 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great bag, Deepika!
8/2/06 10:44 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for a great review -- love the bag! I'll have to look for this book. MY DGK's would enjoy a bag like this one.
8/2/06 10:47 AM
mistrydesigns said...
Very cool bag Deepika! Great tips too!
8/2/06 12:04 PM
drsue said...
That purse is adorable, and your tips on leather sewing a great! I'm curious about the dowels as purse handles: do they slide out?
8/2/06 12:16 PM
Deepika said...
This purse is for my sister-in-law to be (brother's fiancee). I sure hope that she likes it. Thanks everyone for such nice comments.

Ann, I didnt topstitch around the flower and I hope that the glue stays on :). However since I glued the entire bag to the lining leather with the rubber cement I can confidently say that it didnt gum up the needle while stitching the bag together. I love this stuff. The bottle comes with a handy applicator brush.

drsue The book recommends a 3/8" dowel but I used one slightly thicker. The dowels do slide out still, but I am thinking of putting a dot of hot glue on the dowels and then inserting them in the channels quickly. That should fix this problem.
8/2/06 12:47 PM
ncegbu said...
Great bag. As for the handles, you can cut the dowels a bit shorter, stick one end in (either right or left side as you look at the bag), continue the stitching on that end to close the channel, then stick the other end in and stitch that channel closed. Be sure to cut off enough dowel to give you space on the ends to sew, but not too much that it won't stay in the channels. It is probably easiest to use a zipper foot to do the sewing with the dowels inserted.
8/2/06 1:04 PM
Muria said...
The salesman at the hardware store probably recommended clearcoating so that the stain wouldn't rub off onto your hands while you're carrying the bag (if your hands get sweaty, it can happen). I don't know whether the stain you used will have this problem or not, but it's something to consider (that you may have to restain and clearcoat it if you have trouble). Cute purse though!
8/3/06 10:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2700
photo
Review by JennyAnne on 1/7/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5357
photo
Review by sewin on 10/3/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us