SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2006-130 (Blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2782 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 391 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/06 8:20 AM
Last Updated:2/28/07 9:53 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeckyC said...
A very pretty, feminine top. I love all the vertical lines - very slimming. Your attention to detail is awesome with coverstitching your binding and seams.
8/7/06 8:39 AM
Sherril Miller said...
The vertical lines are great and the fit is nice. It seems a bit longer than most tops you wear. How's that working for you? Great idea to use a knit as it makes a very pretty t-shirt alternative.
8/7/06 8:54 AM
BjP said...
Great looking top! I like that CF seam, too, so how nice that it really worked out well!
8/7/06 8:55 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great look top and I, like many others, like the center front seam too. Great job.
8/7/06 9:15 AM
Linda F said...
I love your top! All that beautiful cover stitch detail is making me want to get a machine for my own!
8/7/06 9:19 AM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Very pretty, I like the center front seam too!
8/7/06 9:22 AM
Moxie said...
Love your cover stitch detail it looks very professional. Did you apply the binding with the binding attachment? I've looked t your guide for using a binding attachment and it was very good. I've just purchased the attachment and look forward to using it with your instructions. Thanks
8/7/06 9:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks everyone! Moxie, yes, the binding was done with the 3/8" A attachment.
8/7/06 9:35 AM
Lori V said...
Debbie, beautiful top. The CF seam does add a nice touch and detail to the top.
8/7/06 9:52 AM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! I love the topstitching detail.
8/7/06 9:54 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Debbie! The princess seams and your additional vertical seams with CS'ing, add a nice design feature.
8/7/06 10:10 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for another great review! Your new top is definitely a winner. I really appreciate the photos showing the stitching detail. (I'm having trouble subduing my cover-stitch-machine-envy!) I love the top & skirt combo -- great color & print!
8/7/06 10:55 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top. It's always good to read good plus-sized reviews. Your front seam save was great and looks super. I'll have to remember that one.
8/7/06 10:59 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful top - I LOVE the coverstitching!
8/7/06 11:30 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful top I have been considering this top. Just don't seem to get it done as fast as you.
8/7/06 11:54 AM
AliceB said...
I really like all the vertical detail you used to create an elongated profile.... I need to elongate my profile in any way possible thanks for the ideas. :) AND I am beginning to suffer from coverstitch envy the twin needle just doesn't do what a coverstitch can.
8/7/06 12:19 PM
dvazz said...
Very nice! I like the top/skirt combination overall...makes a very cute outfit!
8/7/06 12:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Another professional-looking top, thanks to your expertise and sense of style.
8/7/06 3:00 PM
KAB said...
I think I like it better in knit than I might have in a woven - softer, drapier - and yes, CF seam is flattering and allows one more coverstitch opportunity. As usual, meticulous and stylish.
8/7/06 3:49 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ooh, I loike what I see!
8/7/06 6:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
A lovely, not so ordinary T. I like the princess seams, v-neckline and tie on this one. Great idea to use a knit fabric too.
8/7/06 7:05 PM
donna wicks said...
A beautiful top...the topstitching detail really adds to the top...great review as usual.
8/7/06 10:52 PM
Lilibet said...
Very nice. This is also on my to do list. Do you think the neck is wide enough to omit the zip even in a woven?
8/7/06 11:43 PM
patsijean said...
I love this pattern. I've look for BWF in a large bookstore but cannot find it. Would JoAnns have it?
8/8/06 0:47 AM
JenniferBee said...
Noice!! I'm waiting for this BWOF to arrive and had already decided this would be a good top to try.
8/8/06 4:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Debbie, this top looks great! I like the center front seam as it does add another vertical line. Nice top and skirt combination.
8/8/06 7:07 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wow! Nice top Debbie. Am lusting over a coverstitch machine now.
8/8/06 9:16 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
I really like this one! Burda Plus can sometimes look boring compare to the "normal" pattern but they are so good, but I think Burda should reach Sweden before USA. I still look for this issue in the stores!..
8/8/06 2:48 PM
Aless said...
This really is an improvement on the basic t's I wear! Thanks again,Debbie,for pointing me in the right direction.(Now I have to find this issue ;-)) )
8/9/06 3:46 AM
cathy45 said...
What a great T. Love the vertical lines & your coverstiching really makes it stand out.
8/9/06 9:06 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lilibet, Yes, I think the neckline is wide/deep enough to eliminate the back zip. But that's theory -- not tested!

patsijean, I have a subscription from GLP News I would hate to chase all over trying to find them. So convenient to have each issue appear monthly in the mailbox.

Thanks again everyone for the nice words!


8/9/06 9:50 AM
artist1lisa said...
Awesome style,color and stitch detail.That center front seam really worked out beautifully.
8/9/06 11:31 AM
twistedangel said...
Debbie, you truly are the master of fit and finish! :-)
8/9/06 4:21 PM
LiZ said...
A lovely not so ordinary top in a beautiful colour.
8/9/06 4:56 PM
vwgrant said...
I think I'm impressed that you have the August WOF issue and have already sewn something, while I'm still waiting for my copy! Now, that's a fast turnaround! Isn't it great to have some tops with a little "something". When I get my mag, I'll definitely look at it.
8/9/06 8:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks for the additional photo Debbie..very nice :))) Putting this one on my TDList.
8/10/06 9:18 AM
jemgirlca said...
Your outfit looks great as usual!! It even looks better on you. :-)
8/10/06 10:12 AM
Linda E. said...
Oh Oh that outfit is so cute on your.. I love it..
8/10/06 10:37 AM
sewbehind said...
Great looking outfit, Debbie. I am beginning to covet one of those Coverstitch sergers too. It looks nice, very professional.
8/10/06 10:59 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Cute top-GOOD JOB!
8/10/06 5:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
The outfit looks nice Debbie. I hope you and DH enjoyed LRB. Gosh that brings back a lot of memories from the 70's!!
8/10/06 7:21 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top is so pretty! Thanks for all of the greatly helpful hints.
8/10/06 8:38 PM
glda said...
Love this top, beautiful! I especially like the binding around the neck. I have been wanting to ask you about the binder attachment. I recently got one but not sure how to use it. How can I get in touch with you to discuss this?
8/19/06 9:44 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What beautiful work Debbie. I can only hope to be able to sew like this someday. Sigh. Thanks for sharing! Carla
8/21/06 11:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
As always, very informative and helpful, Debbie!
2/25/07 4:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice as always Debbie!
2/25/07 4:56 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Love the new top!
2/25/07 5:03 PM
Lori V said...
Great new top, Debbie.
2/25/07 5:31 PM
Ody said...
Cute!!! You make me very glad I just got a new CP1000!
2/25/07 5:45 PM
Em's Summer said...
This looks soo cute. I love the fabric that you picked! It's a great color! And thanks for the steam a seam tip!
2/25/07 6:10 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Oooh - pretty! Love it.
2/25/07 8:14 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I think I have to make this one. I love your neckline treatment.
2/26/07 12:33 PM
PVA said...
Oh what a lovely fabric -- & such a great color for you! Once again, I can't tell you how much I appreciate the photos & details included in your reviews. Mega-Thank-You's, you definitely go that extra 10 miles or so! (8^D)
2/28/07 10:37 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice, this one...I like the cute trim.
2/28/07 11:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love your top! That neckline elastic is such a nice touch.
3/1/07 7:25 AM
trinicity said...
I really loved this when I saw it on your blog
3/1/07 7:49 AM
suzanrossi said...
Sweet top. The pink elastic trim and the coverstitching detail are very nicely sewn! Did you have any tips about how you did that?
3/1/07 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Other 0000: Threads Mag Online

photo
by: ryan's mom

Review
Butterick 5485

photo
by: otterine

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now