SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2006-130 (Blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2782 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/06 8:20 AM
Last Updated:2/28/07 9:53 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeckyC said...
A very pretty, feminine top. I love all the vertical lines - very slimming. Your attention to detail is awesome with coverstitching your binding and seams.
8/7/06 8:39 AM
Sherril Miller said...
The vertical lines are great and the fit is nice. It seems a bit longer than most tops you wear. How's that working for you? Great idea to use a knit as it makes a very pretty t-shirt alternative.
8/7/06 8:54 AM
BjP said...
Great looking top! I like that CF seam, too, so how nice that it really worked out well!
8/7/06 8:55 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great look top and I, like many others, like the center front seam too. Great job.
8/7/06 9:15 AM
Linda F said...
I love your top! All that beautiful cover stitch detail is making me want to get a machine for my own!
8/7/06 9:19 AM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Very pretty, I like the center front seam too!
8/7/06 9:22 AM
Moxie said...
Love your cover stitch detail it looks very professional. Did you apply the binding with the binding attachment? I've looked t your guide for using a binding attachment and it was very good. I've just purchased the attachment and look forward to using it with your instructions. Thanks
8/7/06 9:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks everyone! Moxie, yes, the binding was done with the 3/8" A attachment.
8/7/06 9:35 AM
Lori V said...
Debbie, beautiful top. The CF seam does add a nice touch and detail to the top.
8/7/06 9:52 AM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! I love the topstitching detail.
8/7/06 9:54 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Debbie! The princess seams and your additional vertical seams with CS'ing, add a nice design feature.
8/7/06 10:10 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for another great review! Your new top is definitely a winner. I really appreciate the photos showing the stitching detail. (I'm having trouble subduing my cover-stitch-machine-envy!) I love the top & skirt combo -- great color & print!
8/7/06 10:55 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top. It's always good to read good plus-sized reviews. Your front seam save was great and looks super. I'll have to remember that one.
8/7/06 10:59 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful top - I LOVE the coverstitching!
8/7/06 11:30 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful top I have been considering this top. Just don't seem to get it done as fast as you.
8/7/06 11:54 AM
AliceB said...
I really like all the vertical detail you used to create an elongated profile.... I need to elongate my profile in any way possible thanks for the ideas. :) AND I am beginning to suffer from coverstitch envy the twin needle just doesn't do what a coverstitch can.
8/7/06 12:19 PM
dvazz said...
Very nice! I like the top/skirt combination overall...makes a very cute outfit!
8/7/06 12:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Another professional-looking top, thanks to your expertise and sense of style.
8/7/06 3:00 PM
KAB said...
I think I like it better in knit than I might have in a woven - softer, drapier - and yes, CF seam is flattering and allows one more coverstitch opportunity. As usual, meticulous and stylish.
8/7/06 3:49 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ooh, I loike what I see!
8/7/06 6:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
A lovely, not so ordinary T. I like the princess seams, v-neckline and tie on this one. Great idea to use a knit fabric too.
8/7/06 7:05 PM
donna wicks said...
A beautiful top...the topstitching detail really adds to the top...great review as usual.
8/7/06 10:52 PM
Lilibet said...
Very nice. This is also on my to do list. Do you think the neck is wide enough to omit the zip even in a woven?
8/7/06 11:43 PM
patsijean said...
I love this pattern. I've look for BWF in a large bookstore but cannot find it. Would JoAnns have it?
8/8/06 0:47 AM
JenniferBee said...
Noice!! I'm waiting for this BWOF to arrive and had already decided this would be a good top to try.
8/8/06 4:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Debbie, this top looks great! I like the center front seam as it does add another vertical line. Nice top and skirt combination.
8/8/06 7:07 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wow! Nice top Debbie. Am lusting over a coverstitch machine now.
8/8/06 9:16 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
I really like this one! Burda Plus can sometimes look boring compare to the "normal" pattern but they are so good, but I think Burda should reach Sweden before USA. I still look for this issue in the stores!..
8/8/06 2:48 PM
Aless said...
This really is an improvement on the basic t's I wear! Thanks again,Debbie,for pointing me in the right direction.(Now I have to find this issue ;-)) )
8/9/06 3:46 AM
cathy45 said...
What a great T. Love the vertical lines & your coverstiching really makes it stand out.
8/9/06 9:06 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lilibet, Yes, I think the neckline is wide/deep enough to eliminate the back zip. But that's theory -- not tested!

patsijean, I have a subscription from GLP News I would hate to chase all over trying to find them. So convenient to have each issue appear monthly in the mailbox.

Thanks again everyone for the nice words!


8/9/06 9:50 AM
artist1lisa said...
Awesome style,color and stitch detail.That center front seam really worked out beautifully.
8/9/06 11:31 AM
twistedangel said...
Debbie, you truly are the master of fit and finish! :-)
8/9/06 4:21 PM
LiZ said...
A lovely not so ordinary top in a beautiful colour.
8/9/06 4:56 PM
vwgrant said...
I think I'm impressed that you have the August WOF issue and have already sewn something, while I'm still waiting for my copy! Now, that's a fast turnaround! Isn't it great to have some tops with a little "something". When I get my mag, I'll definitely look at it.
8/9/06 8:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks for the additional photo Debbie..very nice :))) Putting this one on my TDList.
8/10/06 9:18 AM
jemgirlca said...
Your outfit looks great as usual!! It even looks better on you. :-)
8/10/06 10:12 AM
Linda E. said...
Oh Oh that outfit is so cute on your.. I love it..
8/10/06 10:37 AM
sewbehind said...
Great looking outfit, Debbie. I am beginning to covet one of those Coverstitch sergers too. It looks nice, very professional.
8/10/06 10:59 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Cute top-GOOD JOB!
8/10/06 5:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
The outfit looks nice Debbie. I hope you and DH enjoyed LRB. Gosh that brings back a lot of memories from the 70's!!
8/10/06 7:21 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top is so pretty! Thanks for all of the greatly helpful hints.
8/10/06 8:38 PM
glda said...
Love this top, beautiful! I especially like the binding around the neck. I have been wanting to ask you about the binder attachment. I recently got one but not sure how to use it. How can I get in touch with you to discuss this?
8/19/06 9:44 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What beautiful work Debbie. I can only hope to be able to sew like this someday. Sigh. Thanks for sharing! Carla
8/21/06 11:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
As always, very informative and helpful, Debbie!
2/25/07 4:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice as always Debbie!
2/25/07 4:56 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Love the new top!
2/25/07 5:03 PM
Lori V said...
Great new top, Debbie.
2/25/07 5:31 PM
Ody said...
Cute!!! You make me very glad I just got a new CP1000!
2/25/07 5:45 PM
Em's Summer said...
This looks soo cute. I love the fabric that you picked! It's a great color! And thanks for the steam a seam tip!
2/25/07 6:10 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Oooh - pretty! Love it.
2/25/07 8:14 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I think I have to make this one. I love your neckline treatment.
2/26/07 12:33 PM
PVA said...
Oh what a lovely fabric -- & such a great color for you! Once again, I can't tell you how much I appreciate the photos & details included in your reviews. Mega-Thank-You's, you definitely go that extra 10 miles or so! (8^D)
2/28/07 10:37 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice, this one...I like the cute trim.
2/28/07 11:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love your top! That neckline elastic is such a nice touch.
3/1/07 7:25 AM
trinicity said...
I really loved this when I saw it on your blog
3/1/07 7:49 AM
suzanrossi said...
Sweet top. The pink elastic trim and the coverstitching detail are very nicely sewn! Did you have any tips about how you did that?
3/1/07 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-114

photo
by: sarahark

Review