SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Onion> 2013 ( knit empire dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1757 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/06 3:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Your "Y" or "V" neck tip was most interesting and helpful. Will try that on the next project where applicable. Great looking dress.
8/13/06 3:24 PM
MariaDenmark said...
I love it, Sue! Would love to see it modeled by you though! How do you find the neckline? Is it high enough, that you don't have to wear a cami underneath?
8/13/06 3:42 PM
drsue said...
I raised the bodice; but I do that on everything. I don't need to wear a cami with this. The neckline is just right.
8/13/06 3:45 PM
Seaspur said...
I think the pattern/fabric combination looks great!
8/13/06 3:57 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Great dress! I just finished making up a wearable muslin of this today and my neckline is a bit gapey so I will definitely follow your guidelines for the next one! Thanks a lot!
8/13/06 4:18 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love it, thanks for Y/V tip. Nice fabric and colour too!
8/13/06 5:09 PM
Vivienne said...
Ooh la la! This really reminds me of something Catherine Denueve or some other eternally chic lady would wear. Very feminine without being fussy. What shoes are you going to wear?
8/13/06 5:10 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Sue, I love this dress and your choice of fabric--classy, elegant and subtly SEXY! I have not used an Onion pattern before. Thank you for your thorough review. I often run across your previous reviews when I am looking at patterns that I want. Those reviews have always been so helpful. Thank you, again for those. Carla. PS I bookmarked the V-Y tip also for future reference. Very helpful.
8/13/06 5:16 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great timing: I ordered this pattern this morning. Your results are perfect, and I'm printing out your review because I'm sure it will save me some head-scratching moments when I tackle the fit and the facings. Very good review and results you can be very pleased with. Make another one soon!
8/13/06 5:33 PM
cmarie12 said...
I think your choice of fabric and pattern are wonderful! You ended up with a very stylish and pretty dress.
8/13/06 5:40 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
The line drawing looks frumpy but your dress looks FABULOUS. I really like the leopard skin fabric. Grrrr!
8/13/06 6:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the great tips on the neckline stabilizing, Y seams, and back fitting. Very shapely and classy dress.
8/13/06 6:53 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a gorgeous dress drsue! I love the fabric!
8/13/06 7:48 PM
Vonnevo said...
Stunning and beautiful drsue! The design lines might be lost in the fabric pattern, but oh do they give this little number a beautiful shape. I would love to see a photo of you with acessories. The dress is elegance and style personified. Thank you for an excellent review.
8/13/06 8:12 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a pretty, pretty dress! -Ann
8/13/06 8:31 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Dress is beautiful! Thanks for the tips and hints.
8/13/06 11:29 PM
patsijean said...
What you have here is a beautiful dress with a lot of character.
8/14/06 0:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
As always a very helpful review. Love the Y-V tip, not seen it before but can understand how it works so well.
8/14/06 5:25 AM
dvazz said...
Your dress is a knockout! Thanks for the fitting tips, too (one pear to another!)
8/14/06 9:36 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great dress, and love the print too!
8/14/06 10:53 AM
twistedangel said...
OMG!! I want THAT dress! Print and all!! That print is such a fun one. You can't help but feel "frisky" while wearing it! LOL! Really phemnomenal. Good info about the shoulders and hips. I will have to try Onion soon. I just realized they have a wrap dress...
8/14/06 2:37 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great dress Susan! I love that print.
8/15/06 9:43 AM
KBT Sewer said...
Thanks for the tip about the V & Y seam. I bought this pattern a few weeks back so I'm now quite keen to make this dress after looking at your photo's. Your dresses are lovely--very flattering
1/10/09 9:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now