Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Onion: 2013 ( knit empire dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1756 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/06 3:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Your "Y" or "V" neck tip was most interesting and helpful. Will try that on the next project where applicable. Great looking dress.
8/13/06 3:24 PM
MariaDenmark said...
I love it, Sue! Would love to see it modeled by you though! How do you find the neckline? Is it high enough, that you don't have to wear a cami underneath?
8/13/06 3:42 PM
drsue said...
I raised the bodice; but I do that on everything. I don't need to wear a cami with this. The neckline is just right.
8/13/06 3:45 PM
Seaspur said...
I think the pattern/fabric combination looks great!
8/13/06 3:57 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Great dress! I just finished making up a wearable muslin of this today and my neckline is a bit gapey so I will definitely follow your guidelines for the next one! Thanks a lot!
8/13/06 4:18 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love it, thanks for Y/V tip. Nice fabric and colour too!
8/13/06 5:09 PM
Vivienne said...
Ooh la la! This really reminds me of something Catherine Denueve or some other eternally chic lady would wear. Very feminine without being fussy. What shoes are you going to wear?
8/13/06 5:10 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Sue, I love this dress and your choice of fabric--classy, elegant and subtly SEXY! I have not used an Onion pattern before. Thank you for your thorough review. I often run across your previous reviews when I am looking at patterns that I want. Those reviews have always been so helpful. Thank you, again for those. Carla. PS I bookmarked the V-Y tip also for future reference. Very helpful.
8/13/06 5:16 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great timing: I ordered this pattern this morning. Your results are perfect, and I'm printing out your review because I'm sure it will save me some head-scratching moments when I tackle the fit and the facings. Very good review and results you can be very pleased with. Make another one soon!
8/13/06 5:33 PM
cmarie12 said...
I think your choice of fabric and pattern are wonderful! You ended up with a very stylish and pretty dress.
8/13/06 5:40 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
The line drawing looks frumpy but your dress looks FABULOUS. I really like the leopard skin fabric. Grrrr!
8/13/06 6:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the great tips on the neckline stabilizing, Y seams, and back fitting. Very shapely and classy dress.
8/13/06 6:53 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a gorgeous dress drsue! I love the fabric!
8/13/06 7:48 PM
Vonnevo said...
Stunning and beautiful drsue! The design lines might be lost in the fabric pattern, but oh do they give this little number a beautiful shape. I would love to see a photo of you with acessories. The dress is elegance and style personified. Thank you for an excellent review.
8/13/06 8:12 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a pretty, pretty dress! -Ann
8/13/06 8:31 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Dress is beautiful! Thanks for the tips and hints.
8/13/06 11:29 PM
patsijean said...
What you have here is a beautiful dress with a lot of character.
8/14/06 0:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
As always a very helpful review. Love the Y-V tip, not seen it before but can understand how it works so well.
8/14/06 5:25 AM
dvazz said...
Your dress is a knockout! Thanks for the fitting tips, too (one pear to another!)
8/14/06 9:36 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great dress, and love the print too!
8/14/06 10:53 AM
twistedangel said...
OMG!! I want THAT dress! Print and all!! That print is such a fun one. You can't help but feel "frisky" while wearing it! LOL! Really phemnomenal. Good info about the shoulders and hips. I will have to try Onion soon. I just realized they have a wrap dress...
8/14/06 2:37 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great dress Susan! I love that print.
8/15/06 9:43 AM
KBT Sewer said...
Thanks for the tip about the V & Y seam. I bought this pattern a few weeks back so I'm now quite keen to make this dress after looking at your photo's. Your dresses are lovely--very flattering
1/10/09 9:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by chicagoche... on 3/12/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2652
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 1/6/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9793 Pattern
Burda 9793 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us