SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3120 (Raglan Tops)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1229 times 
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo

 
 
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/06 1:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSM--Carla said...
Hi Dvazz, Cute top--thanks for sharing. That does seem like a big neckline and might slide around on anyone. Enjoyed looking at your previous reviews too. Best wishes. Carla
8/18/06 3:15 PM
utz said...
Nice top. What might work for the sliding around top is making a couple of bra strap 'guard'?-gosh I don't know what they're called - little straps on the inside of a garment that you place the strap under the bra and have a snap on the end which snaps to a snap on the shoulder of the garment. If you place it just so vis-a-vis the garment/bra it will hold top in place where you want it. (I make mine out of narrow satin ribbon, sewing tiny snaps on either end, form a loop, sew side of loop to shoulder seam.)
8/18/06 3:55 PM
utz said...
Whoops. Posted twice.
8/18/06 3:58 PM
utz said...

8/18/06 3:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice dvazz. Looks like a very cool, comfy top. I had the same issue with the Santa Monica tee and lowered the armhole after the first one. Instead of understitching the facing (I probably wouldn't do that either) you could coverstitch the facing or the binding either one.
8/18/06 5:23 PM
AliceB said...
Very cute top and I think the neckline looks terrific on you. :)
8/18/06 5:25 PM
dvazz said...
Thanks, Irina....you've made me realize that I used the word "binding" in several places where I meant to say "facing". Coverstitching the facing is what I meant. Although, of course, a binding would be another option!
8/18/06 5:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I just bought this pattern a few weeks ago and really need to make it up. Bummer you have trouble with your regular sewing machine. Could you put the binding on and then just stitch it down with your CS machine (a little decorative stitch around the edge of the binding?). In any event, it looks really cute on you!
8/18/06 7:10 PM
mClones said...
It looks cute and comfy!
8/18/06 11:00 PM
FloraNature said...
Hi dvass, if you make this again, could you subtract the amount of excess stretch from the original pattern. That way when you sewed it up it would stretch out to the right length. By the way, my first machine didn't have an adjustable pressure foot either, and I couldn't work with it in the end. I find that the right amount of pressure on the fabric really helps to achieve a good seam finish.
8/19/06 4:39 AM
KaySews said...
I just finished this top and made it a little too big. I was able to surge in the sides. For the neck, since the scoop was too big, I cut a slit in the center front and made a hand stitched buttonhole. Then ran a ribbon thru the binding (1 1/4 yd for Med. top). I pulled the ribbon to get the neck I wanted and tacked the ribbon before making a small bow. Maybe this would work for you.
8/27/06 6:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8661

photo
by: lamstu

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now